La Monusco doit rétablir la protection à Panzi pour le Dr. Denis Mukwege

Washington, DC) Hier, le directeur exécutif de la Fondation Panzi USA, Tony Gambino, a répondu aux déclarations inexactes faites par les responsables de la Monusco sur Twitter. "Dire que le Dr Mukwege n'est pas menacé est une déclaration inexacte terriblement erronée. Son ami proche et collègue, le Dr Gildo Byamungu, a été assassiné à Uvira il y a quelques semaines à peine. Malheureusement, la déclaration de la Monusco est incorrecte dans les faits. La protection a été retirée après le départ de l'ancien RSSG Martin Kobler. Cela doit être rectifié dès que possible".

M. Gambino est disponible pour des interviews. 

La déclaration ci-dessous, de nos collègues de la Fondation Panzi RDC, reflète les faits entourant le retrait de la protection. La Fondation Panzi USA les soutient et se joint à eux pour demander le rétablissement de la protection du Dr Mukwege et de l'hôpital Panzi. 

Déclaration de la Fondation Panzi RDC sur la protection que la MONUSCO assure au Dr. Mukwege et à l'hôpital Panzi

"Le mardi 9 mai, le journal français "La Croix" a publié un article affirmant que la MONUSCO n'assure plus la protection permanente du Dr Dénis Mukwege. Cette affirmation est vraie.

"Le mercredi 10 mai, à Kinshasa, lors d'une conférence de presse, Charles Antoine Bambara, directeur de l'information publique de la MONUSCO, a déclaré que "la MONUSCO a toujours protégé le Dr Denis Mukwege. Nos forces sont toujours là pour sécuriser ceux qui se sentent menacés. Certains de nos soldats sont même actuellement près de l'hôpital de Panzi". Cette déclaration est inexacte, et de manière vérifiable.

"La MONUSCO a protégé l'hôpital Panzi et le docteur Mukwege pendant une certaine période jusqu'au départ du SRSG Martin Kobler.

"Malheureusement, la MONUSCO, sans nous donner aucune explication, ne protège plus l'hôpital comme elle le faisait auparavant.

"Le contingent pakistanais de la MONUSCO, qui était basé au camp de Panzi, a été déplacé l'année dernière. Il n'y a plus de casques bleus de la MONUSCO dans les environs de l'hôpital.

" Par ailleurs, la MONUSCO a déclaré sur Twitter que " la MONUSCO continue de protéger le Dr Mukwege et qu'il n'y a aucune menace à son encontre. " Cette déclaration est également inexacte.

" La menace demeure, s'accroît et est permanente. Il est surprenant que la MONUSCO ne semble pas comprendre cette réalité fondamentale et urgente concernant la sécurité du Dr Mukwege, du personnel médical et administratif, et surtout des filles et des femmes qui viennent à Panzi.

"Le mandat de la MONUSCO est de protéger les civils. Nous demandons à la MONUSCO de fournir une protection permanente et continue au Dr Mukwege et à l'hôpital Panzi. Nous les remercions pour les escortes qui continuent à avoir lieu."

###

Contenu similaire

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Monusco Must Restore Protection At Panzi for Dr. Denis Mukwege

Washington, DC) Yesterday, Panzi Foundation USA’s Executive Director Tony Gambino responded to inaccurate statements made by Monusco officials on Twitter. “To say that Dr. Mukwege is under no threat is a terribly wrong misstatement. His close friend and colleague, Dr. Gildo Byamungu was murdered in Uvira just a few weeks ago. Sadly, the statement made by Monusco is factually incorrect. Protection was withdrawn following the departure of former SRSG Martin Kobler. This needs to be rectified as soon as possible.”

Mr. Gambino is available for interviews. 

The statement below, from our colleagues at Panzi Foundation DRC, reflects the facts surrounding the withdrawal of protection. Panzi Foundation USA endorses and joins them in calling for the restoration of protection to Dr. Mukwege and Panzi Hospital. 

Statement from the Panzi Foundation DRC on the Protection MONUSCO Provides to Dr. Mukwege and Panzi Hospital

“On Tuesday, May 9, the French newspaper “La Croix” published an article stating that MONUSCO no longer provides permanent protection to Dr. Dénis Mukwege. That statement is true.

“On Wednesday, May 10, in Kinshasa, during a press conference, Charles Antoine Bambara, MONUSCO’s Director of Public Information, stated that “MONUSCO always has protected Dr. Denis Mukwege. Our forces are always there to secure those who feel threatened. Some of our soldiers are even now near Panzi Hospital.” That statement is inaccurate, and verifiably so.

“MONUSCO protected Panzi Hospital and Doctor Mukwege for a certain period until the departure of SRSG Martin Kobler.

“Unfortunately, MONUSCO, without giving us any explanation, no longer protects the hospital as it once did.

“The Pakistani contingent of MONUSCO, which had been based at Panzi camp, was moved last year. There are no more MONUSCO blue helmets in the vicinity of the hospital.

“Also, MONUSCO said on Twitter that “MONUSCO continues its protection to Dr. Mukwege and there is no threat to him.” This statement also is inaccurate.

“The threat remains, grows, and is permanent. It is surprising that MONUSCO does not seem to understand this fundamental and urgent reality about the safety of Dr. Mukwege, the medical and administrative staff, and especially the girls and women who come to Panzi.

“MONUSCO’s mandate is to protect civilians. We request that MONUSCO provide permanent, continuous protection to Dr. Mukwege and Panzi Hospital. We thank them for the escorts that continue to take place.”

###

Related Content

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]