过渡时期司法中的妇女领导力

10月12日,磐石基金会参加了联合国妇女署、Denis Mukwege博士基金会和负责冲突中性暴力问题的秘书长特别代表办公室的互动讨论。

这次活动标志着联合国安全理事会于2020年10月31日一致通过的关于妇女、和平与安全的第1325号决议(UNSCR 1325)20周年。这项具有里程碑意义的决议首次解决了冲突对妇女的不成比例的影响,并强调了妇女参与和平与安全问题的重要性。尽管常常没有得到充分利用,但妇女对和平建设和冲突解决的贡献是创造持久和可持续和平的必要条件。

此次活动包括一个一般性会议,由克拉拉-桑多瓦尔博士主持,包括安吉拉-玛丽亚-埃斯科瓦尔、普拉米拉-帕滕、普姆齐莱-姆兰博-恩古卡和丹尼斯-穆克韦格博士等著名的小组成员。一般性会议结束后,与会者分成三个小组,讨论在哥伦比亚、伊拉克和刚果民主共和国(DRC)正在进行的过渡时期司法倡议。

"联合国副秘书长兼联合国妇女署执行主任姆兰博-努卡说:"我们所有人对WPS 1325的梦想仍有待实现。联合国安理会第1325号决议20周年是对各国和国际社会的行动呼吁,通过支持幸存者和他们对正义与和平的呼吁,将妇女、和平与安全议程的理想付诸实践。

"感谢已经站出来的幸存者,他们大声疾呼,向我们表明,有意义的幸存者参与不仅是可能的,而且是我们实现和平和包容性社会的最有影响力的方式。"

-克拉拉-桑多瓦尔博士

小组成员强调,国际社会、各国政府和民间社会行动者在应对冲突时必须将幸存者的权利和尊严放在首位。当小组成员被问及政府可以做些什么来确保幸存者获得司法救助时,穆克维格博士回答说。"我们敦促国际社会和各国害怕有罪不罚现象。它是保护幸存者和证人实现真正正义的所有战略中的薄弱环节"。

"我们正在从理论走向实践,因此有必要让受害者和幸存者从早期阶段就参与进来,并贯穿司法程序的发展......国际社会对受害者的直接支持至关重要"。

-Ángela Maria Escobar

刚果(金)的分组会议由以下小组成员组成:穆克维格基金会 刚果(金)Panzi基金会的通讯官Maud Salomé-Ekila、负责青年和暴力侵害妇女问题的国家元首特别顾问Chantal Yelu Mulop,以及刚果(金)性暴力幸存者全国运动的创始人Tatiana Mukanire。与会者讨论了幸存者参与过渡时期司法举措的必要性,纪念受害者及其家人的重要性,以及刚果民主共和国现任政府的反应。

联合国安理会第1325号决议的20周年纪念日也恰好是联合国摸底报告发表10周年,该报告记录了1993年至2003年期间在刚果民主共和国发生的617起暴力犯罪。这些罪行包括大规模强奸、反人类罪,甚至是可能构成种族灭绝的罪行。Panzi基金会与刚果民主共和国性暴力幸存者全国运动、穆克维格基金会和大赦国际一起散发了一份在线请愿书,呼吁刚果民主共和国实施过渡时期司法机制,并 "确保受害者,包括妇女和所有性暴力幸存者有效参与设计、实施和评估影响他们的整体司法措施",并 "鼓励为国际法规定的罪行和其他严重侵犯人权行为的幸存者和受害者建立[...]赔偿基金。"

网络研讨会结束时,180多名观众中的一些人打开了他们的相机,为小组成员和与会者献上了热烈的掌声。

放大联合国妇女署.jpg

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Women’s Leadership in Transitional Justice

On October 12, Panzi Foundation participated in an interactive discussion between UN Women, the Dr. Denis Mukwege Foundation, and the Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Sexual Violence in Conflict.

The event marked the 20th anniversary of the Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security (UNSCR 1325), which was unanimously adopted by the United Nations Security Council on October 31, 2020. This landmark resolution was the first to address the disproportionate impact of conflict on women and emphasized the importance of women’s involvement in peace and security issues. Although too often under-utilized, women’s contributions to peace building and conflict resolution are a necessity to creating lasting and sustainable peace.

The event consisted of a general session, moderated by Dr. Clara Sandoval, and included notable panelists such as Ángela Maria Escobar, Pramila Patten, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, and Dr. Denis Mukwege. Following the general session, participants broke out into three groups to discuss on-going transitional justice initiatives in Colombia, Iraq, and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

“The dreams that we all had about WPS 1325 are still to be fulfilled,” stated Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN USG & Executive Director of UN Women. The 20th anniversary of the UNSCR 1325 serves as a call to action for states and the international community to put into practice the ideals of Women, Peace and Security agenda by supporting survivors and their calls for justice and peace.

“Thank you to the survivors that are already stepping up, speaking out and showing us that meaningful survivor participation is not only possible, but it is the most impactful way for us to achieve peaceful and inclusive societies.”

-Dr. Clara Sandoval

Panelists stressed that the international community, governments, and civil society actors must put the rights and dignities of survivors first in their responses to conflict. When the panelists were asked what governments can do to ensure access to justice for survivors, Dr. Mukwege responded: “We urge the international community and states to fear impunity. It is the weak link of all strategies to protect survivors and witnesses in achieving true justice.”

“We are going from theory to practice, so it is necessary that victims and survivors participate from the early stages and all through the development of judicial processes… the direct support of the international community to victims is crucial.”

-Ángela Maria Escobar

The DRC breakout session consisted of panelists such as Maud Salomé-Ekila, Communications Officer for both the Mukwege Foundation and Panzi Foundation DRC, Chantal Yelu Mulop, Special Advisor to the Head of State in Charge of Youth & Violence against Women, and Tatiana Mukanire, founder of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC. Participants discussed the necessity of survivor participation in transitional justice initiatives, the importance of commemorating victims and their families, and the responses of the current administration of the DRC.

The 20th anniversary of UNSCR 1325 also coincides with the 10th anniversary of the publication of the UN Mapping Report, which documented 617 violent crimes committed in the DRC between 1993 and 2003. These crimes included mass rapes, crimes against humanity, and even crimes that may constitute genocide. Panzi Foundation, along with the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC, the Mukwege Foundation and Amnesty International, have circulated an online petition calling for the DRC to implement transitional justice mechanisms and to “ensure the effective participation of victims, including women and all survivors of sexual violence, in the design, implementation and evaluation of holistic justice measures that affect them” and to “encourage the creation […] of a compensation fund for the benefit of survivors and victims of crimes under international law and other serious human rights violations.”

The webinar finished with some of the 180+ viewers turning on their cameras to give a round of applause to the panelists and participants.

Zoom UN Women.jpg

Related Content

DRC: PRIORITIZE JUSTICE FOR SERIOUS CRIMES

29 April 2021 New Lukonde Government Should Set Transitional Justice Roadmap (Kinshasa) – The Democratic Republic of Congo’s newly appointed government should adopt a clear strategy for holding those suspected of criminal responsibility for grave human rights violations accountable, a coalition of 50 Congolese and international nongovernmental groups said today. President Felix Tshisekedi’s new government, led […]

Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala

Bukavu, January 5, 2021 — Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala Cliquez ici pour lire en français We salute the commitment of the National Anti-Terrorist Prosecutor’s Office in Paris for having initiated this first indictment pronounced in the framework of a judicial procedure opened on the basis of the UN Mapping […]