Women's Leadership in Transitional Justice

Am 12. Oktober nahm die Panzi Foundation an einer interaktiven Diskussion zwischen UN Women, der Dr. Denis Mukwege Foundation und dem Büro des Sonderbeauftragten des Generalsekretärs für sexuelle Gewalt in Konflikten teil.

Jahrestag der Sicherheitsratsresolution 1325 zu Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit(UNSCR 1325), die am 31. Oktober 2020 einstimmig vom Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen verabschiedet wurde. Diese bahnbrechende Resolution war die erste, die die unverhältnismäßigen Auswirkungen von Konflikten auf Frauen ansprach und die Bedeutung der Beteiligung von Frauen an Friedens- und Sicherheitsfragen betonte. Obwohl zu oft zu wenig genutzt, sind die Beiträge von Frauen zur Friedensschaffung und Konfliktlösung eine Notwendigkeit, um dauerhaften und nachhaltigen Frieden zu schaffen.

Die Veranstaltung bestand aus einer allgemeinen Sitzung, die von Dr. Clara Sandoval moderiert wurde und an der namhafte Diskussionsteilnehmer wie Ángela Maria Escobar, Pramila Patten, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka und Dr. Denis Mukwege teilnahmen. Nach der allgemeinen Sitzung teilten sich die Teilnehmer in drei Gruppen auf, um die laufenden Initiativen zur Übergangsjustiz in Kolumbien, Irak und der Demokratischen Republik Kongo (DRC) zu diskutieren.

"Die Träume, die wir alle von WPS 1325 hatten, müssen noch erfüllt werden", sagte Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN USG & Executive Director von UN Women. Der 20. Jahrestag der UNSCR 1325 dient als Aufruf zum Handeln für Staaten und die internationale Gemeinschaft, die Ideale der Agenda Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit in die Praxis umzusetzen, indem sie Überlebende und ihre Forderungen nach Gerechtigkeit und Frieden unterstützen.

"Danke an die Überlebenden, die bereits aufgestanden sind, sich zu Wort gemeldet haben und uns gezeigt haben, dass eine sinnvolle Beteiligung von Überlebenden nicht nur möglich ist, sondern der wirkungsvollste Weg für uns ist, um friedliche und inklusive Gesellschaften zu erreichen."

-Dr. Clara Sandoval

Die Podiumsteilnehmer betonten, dass die internationale Gemeinschaft, Regierungen und zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure die Rechte und die Würde der Überlebenden bei ihren Reaktionen auf Konflikte an erste Stelle setzen müssen. Als die Podiumsteilnehmer gefragt wurden, was Regierungen tun können, um Überlebenden den Zugang zur Justiz zu sichern, antwortete Dr. Mukwege: "Wir fordern die internationale Gemeinschaft und die Staaten auf, sich vor Straflosigkeit zu fürchten. Sie ist das schwache Glied aller Strategien zum Schutz von Überlebenden und Zeugen, um wahre Gerechtigkeit zu erreichen."

"Wir gehen von der Theorie zur Praxis über, deshalb ist es notwendig, dass die Opfer und Überlebenden von Anfang an und während der gesamten Entwicklung der Gerichtsverfahren beteiligt sind... die direkte Unterstützung der internationalen Gemeinschaft für die Opfer ist entscheidend."

-Ángela Maria Escobar

Die Breakout-Session in der DRC bestand aus Diskussionsteilnehmern wie Maud Salomé-Ekila, Kommunikationsbeauftragte der Mukwege Foundation und der Panzi Foundation DRC, Chantal Yelu Mulop, Sonderberaterin des Staatschefs für Jugend und Gewalt gegen Frauen, und Tatiana Mukanire, Gründerin der Nationalen Bewegung der Überlebenden sexueller Gewalt in der DRC. Die Teilnehmer diskutierten die Notwendigkeit der Beteiligung von Überlebenden an Initiativen zur Übergangsjustiz, die Bedeutung des Gedenkens an die Opfer und ihre Familien sowie die Reaktionen der aktuellen Regierung der DRK.

Der 20. Jahrestag der UNSCR 1325 fällt auch mit dem 10. Jahrestag der Veröffentlichung des UN Mapping Report zusammen, der 617 Gewaltverbrechen dokumentiert, die zwischen 1993 und 2003 in der DR Kongo begangen wurden. Zu diesen Verbrechen gehörten Massenvergewaltigungen, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und sogar Verbrechen, die einen Völkermord darstellen könnten. Die Panzi Foundation hat zusammen mit dem National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC, der Mukwege Foundation und Amnesty International eine Online-Petition in Umlauf gebracht, in der die DRC aufgefordert wird, Mechanismen der Übergangsjustiz zu implementieren und "die effektive Beteiligung von Opfern, einschließlich Frauen und allen Überlebenden sexueller Gewalt, an der Gestaltung, Umsetzung und Evaluierung ganzheitlicher Justizmaßnahmen, die sie betreffen, zu gewährleisten" und "die Schaffung [...] eines Entschädigungsfonds zugunsten von Überlebenden und Opfern von Verbrechen nach internationalem Recht und anderen schweren Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu fördern."

Das Webinar endete damit, dass einige der über 180 Zuschauer ihre Kameras einschalteten, um den Diskussionsteilnehmern und -teilnehmern Applaus zu spenden.

Zoom UN Women.jpg

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Women’s Leadership in Transitional Justice

On October 12, Panzi Foundation participated in an interactive discussion between UN Women, the Dr. Denis Mukwege Foundation, and the Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Sexual Violence in Conflict.

The event marked the 20th anniversary of the Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security (UNSCR 1325), which was unanimously adopted by the United Nations Security Council on October 31, 2020. This landmark resolution was the first to address the disproportionate impact of conflict on women and emphasized the importance of women’s involvement in peace and security issues. Although too often under-utilized, women’s contributions to peace building and conflict resolution are a necessity to creating lasting and sustainable peace.

The event consisted of a general session, moderated by Dr. Clara Sandoval, and included notable panelists such as Ángela Maria Escobar, Pramila Patten, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, and Dr. Denis Mukwege. Following the general session, participants broke out into three groups to discuss on-going transitional justice initiatives in Colombia, Iraq, and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

“The dreams that we all had about WPS 1325 are still to be fulfilled,” stated Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN USG & Executive Director of UN Women. The 20th anniversary of the UNSCR 1325 serves as a call to action for states and the international community to put into practice the ideals of Women, Peace and Security agenda by supporting survivors and their calls for justice and peace.

“Thank you to the survivors that are already stepping up, speaking out and showing us that meaningful survivor participation is not only possible, but it is the most impactful way for us to achieve peaceful and inclusive societies.”

-Dr. Clara Sandoval

Panelists stressed that the international community, governments, and civil society actors must put the rights and dignities of survivors first in their responses to conflict. When the panelists were asked what governments can do to ensure access to justice for survivors, Dr. Mukwege responded: “We urge the international community and states to fear impunity. It is the weak link of all strategies to protect survivors and witnesses in achieving true justice.”

“We are going from theory to practice, so it is necessary that victims and survivors participate from the early stages and all through the development of judicial processes… the direct support of the international community to victims is crucial.”

-Ángela Maria Escobar

The DRC breakout session consisted of panelists such as Maud Salomé-Ekila, Communications Officer for both the Mukwege Foundation and Panzi Foundation DRC, Chantal Yelu Mulop, Special Advisor to the Head of State in Charge of Youth & Violence against Women, and Tatiana Mukanire, founder of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC. Participants discussed the necessity of survivor participation in transitional justice initiatives, the importance of commemorating victims and their families, and the responses of the current administration of the DRC.

The 20th anniversary of UNSCR 1325 also coincides with the 10th anniversary of the publication of the UN Mapping Report, which documented 617 violent crimes committed in the DRC between 1993 and 2003. These crimes included mass rapes, crimes against humanity, and even crimes that may constitute genocide. Panzi Foundation, along with the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC, the Mukwege Foundation and Amnesty International, have circulated an online petition calling for the DRC to implement transitional justice mechanisms and to “ensure the effective participation of victims, including women and all survivors of sexual violence, in the design, implementation and evaluation of holistic justice measures that affect them” and to “encourage the creation […] of a compensation fund for the benefit of survivors and victims of crimes under international law and other serious human rights violations.”

The webinar finished with some of the 180+ viewers turning on their cameras to give a round of applause to the panelists and participants.

Zoom UN Women.jpg

Related Content

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]