Le leadership des femmes dans la justice transitionnelle

Le 12 octobre, la Fondation Panzi a participé à une discussion interactive entre ONU Femmes, la Fondation Dr. Denis Mukwege et le Bureau du Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général sur la violence sexuelle dans les conflits.

L'événement a marqué le 20e anniversaire de la résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité(RCSNU 1325), qui a été adoptée à l'unanimité par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies le 31 octobre 2020. Cette résolution historique a été la première à aborder l'impact disproportionné des conflits sur les femmes et a souligné l'importance de l'implication des femmes dans les questions de paix et de sécurité. Bien que trop souvent sous-utilisées, les contributions des femmes à la consolidation de la paix et à la résolution des conflits sont une nécessité pour créer une paix durable et viable.

L'événement consistait en une session générale, modérée par le Dr Clara Sandoval, et comprenait des panélistes de renom tels que Ángela Maria Escobar, Pramila Patten, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka et le Dr Denis Mukwege. Après la session générale, les participants se sont répartis en trois groupes pour discuter des initiatives de justice transitionnelle en cours en Colombie, en Irak et en République démocratique du Congo (RDC).

"Les rêves que nous avions tous au sujet de la résolution 1325 restent à réaliser", a déclaré Mme Mlambo-Ngcuka, Secrétaire générale adjointe de l'ONU et Directrice exécutive d'ONU Femmes. Le 20ème anniversaire de la RCSNU 1325 est un appel à l'action pour les Etats et la communauté internationale afin de mettre en pratique les idéaux de l'agenda "Femmes, Paix et Sécurité" en soutenant les survivants et leurs appels à la justice et à la paix.

"Merci aux survivants qui s'avancent déjà, s'expriment et nous montrent qu'une participation significative des survivants est non seulement possible, mais qu'elle est le moyen le plus efficace pour nous de parvenir à des sociétés pacifiques et inclusives."

Dr. Clara Sandoval

Les panélistes ont souligné que la communauté internationale, les gouvernements et les acteurs de la société civile doivent accorder la priorité aux droits et à la dignité des survivants dans leurs réponses aux conflits. Lorsqu'on a demandé aux panélistes ce que les gouvernements peuvent faire pour garantir l'accès des survivants à la justice, le Dr Mukwege a répondu : "Nous exhortons la communauté internationale et les États à craindre l'impunité. C'est le maillon faible de toutes les stratégies visant à protéger les survivants et les témoins pour obtenir une véritable justice."

"Nous passons de la théorie à la pratique, il est donc nécessaire que les victimes et les survivants participent dès les premières étapes et tout au long du développement des processus judiciaires... le soutien direct de la communauté internationale aux victimes est crucial."

Angela Maria Escobar

La session de la RDC était composée de panélistes tels que Maud Salomé-Ekila, responsable de la communication pour la Fondation Mukwege et la Fondation Panzi RDC, Chantal Yelu Mulop, conseillère spéciale du chef de l'État en charge de la jeunesse et de la violence contre les femmes, et Tatiana Mukanire, fondatrice du Mouvement national des survivants de la violence sexuelle en RDC. Les participants ont discuté de la nécessité de la participation des survivants dans les initiatives de justice transitionnelle, de l'importance de commémorer les victimes et leurs familles, et des réponses de l'administration actuelle de la RDC.

Le 20ème anniversaire de la RCSNU 1325 coïncide également avec le 10ème anniversaire de la publication du Rapport Mapping des Nations Unies, qui a documenté 617 crimes violents commis en RDC entre 1993 et 2003. Ces crimes comprennent des viols collectifs, des crimes contre l'humanité, et même des crimes pouvant constituer un génocide. La Fondation Panzi, ainsi que le Mouvement national des survivants de violences sexuelles en RDC, la Fondation Mukwege et Amnesty International, ont fait circuler une pétition en ligne appelant la RDC à mettre en œuvre des mécanismes de justice transitionnelle et à "assurer la participation effective des victimes, y compris les femmes et toutes les survivantes de violences sexuelles, dans la conception, la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation des mesures de justice holistique qui les concernent" et à "encourager la création [...] d'un fonds d'indemnisation au profit des survivants et des victimes de crimes de droit international et d'autres violations graves des droits de l'homme.”

À la fin du webinaire, certains des plus de 180 spectateurs ont allumé leur caméra pour applaudir les panélistes et les participants.

Zoom ONU Femmes.jpg

Contenu similaire

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Women’s Leadership in Transitional Justice

On October 12, Panzi Foundation participated in an interactive discussion between UN Women, the Dr. Denis Mukwege Foundation, and the Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Sexual Violence in Conflict.

The event marked the 20th anniversary of the Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security (UNSCR 1325), which was unanimously adopted by the United Nations Security Council on October 31, 2020. This landmark resolution was the first to address the disproportionate impact of conflict on women and emphasized the importance of women’s involvement in peace and security issues. Although too often under-utilized, women’s contributions to peace building and conflict resolution are a necessity to creating lasting and sustainable peace.

The event consisted of a general session, moderated by Dr. Clara Sandoval, and included notable panelists such as Ángela Maria Escobar, Pramila Patten, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, and Dr. Denis Mukwege. Following the general session, participants broke out into three groups to discuss on-going transitional justice initiatives in Colombia, Iraq, and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

“The dreams that we all had about WPS 1325 are still to be fulfilled,” stated Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN USG & Executive Director of UN Women. The 20th anniversary of the UNSCR 1325 serves as a call to action for states and the international community to put into practice the ideals of Women, Peace and Security agenda by supporting survivors and their calls for justice and peace.

“Thank you to the survivors that are already stepping up, speaking out and showing us that meaningful survivor participation is not only possible, but it is the most impactful way for us to achieve peaceful and inclusive societies.”

-Dr. Clara Sandoval

Panelists stressed that the international community, governments, and civil society actors must put the rights and dignities of survivors first in their responses to conflict. When the panelists were asked what governments can do to ensure access to justice for survivors, Dr. Mukwege responded: “We urge the international community and states to fear impunity. It is the weak link of all strategies to protect survivors and witnesses in achieving true justice.”

“We are going from theory to practice, so it is necessary that victims and survivors participate from the early stages and all through the development of judicial processes… the direct support of the international community to victims is crucial.”

-Ángela Maria Escobar

The DRC breakout session consisted of panelists such as Maud Salomé-Ekila, Communications Officer for both the Mukwege Foundation and Panzi Foundation DRC, Chantal Yelu Mulop, Special Advisor to the Head of State in Charge of Youth & Violence against Women, and Tatiana Mukanire, founder of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC. Participants discussed the necessity of survivor participation in transitional justice initiatives, the importance of commemorating victims and their families, and the responses of the current administration of the DRC.

The 20th anniversary of UNSCR 1325 also coincides with the 10th anniversary of the publication of the UN Mapping Report, which documented 617 violent crimes committed in the DRC between 1993 and 2003. These crimes included mass rapes, crimes against humanity, and even crimes that may constitute genocide. Panzi Foundation, along with the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC, the Mukwege Foundation and Amnesty International, have circulated an online petition calling for the DRC to implement transitional justice mechanisms and to “ensure the effective participation of victims, including women and all survivors of sexual violence, in the design, implementation and evaluation of holistic justice measures that affect them” and to “encourage the creation […] of a compensation fund for the benefit of survivors and victims of crimes under international law and other serious human rights violations.”

The webinar finished with some of the 180+ viewers turning on their cameras to give a round of applause to the panelists and participants.

Zoom UN Women.jpg

Related Content

DRC: PRIORITIZE JUSTICE FOR SERIOUS CRIMES

29 April 2021 New Lukonde Government Should Set Transitional Justice Roadmap (Kinshasa) – The Democratic Republic of Congo’s newly appointed government should adopt a clear strategy for holding those suspected of criminal responsibility for grave human rights violations accountable, a coalition of 50 Congolese and international nongovernmental groups said today. President Felix Tshisekedi’s new government, led […]

Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala

Bukavu, January 5, 2021 — Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala Cliquez ici pour lire en français We salute the commitment of the National Anti-Terrorist Prosecutor’s Office in Paris for having initiated this first indictment pronounced in the framework of a judicial procedure opened on the basis of the UN Mapping […]