关于各省在戒严状态下一再发生的屠杀事件和内罗毕磋商的声明

在围困状态下的刚果冲突省份安全局势的恶化及其巨大的人道主义后果极其令人担忧,不能继续下去。 

2022年5月8日星期日在蒙瓦卢和5月9日星期一在伊图里朱古地区法塔基附近的洛达流离失所者营地发生的最新屠杀事件夺去了几十人的生命,令人无法忍受,再次表明刚果政府过去一年支持的军事战略没有能力保护平民和防止战争罪和反人类罪重演。

事实上,我们饶有兴趣地关注了国民议会国防和安全委员会关于2021年9月戒严状态的重要报告,并惊恐地获悉基伍安全晴雨表最近收集的数据,其中确定2021年4月至2022年4月期间,伊图里和北基伍省有超过2500名平民被杀。这几乎是2021年5月6日决定宣布戒严之前,前一年记录的杀戮数量的两倍。 

侵犯人权行为的增加,平民人口中受害者人数的增加,不稳定地区的扩大,以及自戒严状态生效以来某些武装团体如M23的重新活跃--戒严状态本应加强对平民的保护,消除武装团体的威胁,并安抚受打击的省份--必须促使刚果当局紧急审查其安全治理和区域外交。

正是在这种情况下,我们欢迎费利克斯-齐塞克迪总统打算制定一项结束围困状态的计划。事实上,这种限制基本权利和自由的特殊措施已经被议会多次延长,在两个相关省份的不安全状况日益严重、对保护平民产生负面影响的情况下,不应允许其继续存在。必须毫不拖延地承认这一失败。

此外,我们还要对刚果当局、该区域各国和一系列武装团体在内罗毕启动的政治协商进程表示关切。事实上,所宣布的组建一支新的区域部队的计划是由该区域的国家组成的,这些国家对刚果民主共和国的破坏性活动、反复出现的暴力循环以及25年多来对我国自然资源的非法开采和贸易负有主要责任,这可能会加剧和延长不稳定和不安全。

刚果当局和国际社会不能再支持旨在维持有组织混乱的消防员-火灾狂战略,不能再支持外国武装部队或邻国支持的武装团体一再侵犯我们的主权和几乎长期攻击我国的领土完整,这些严重违反国际法的行为是任何独立国家都不能容忍的。

因此,我们再次呼吁对安全部门进行深入改革,并对我们的安全和国防部队进行认真重组,这是确保我国及其人民安全的任何努力所不可或缺的先决条件。这一改革体现在联合国安全理事会第2612号决议中,该决议规定了联刚稳定团及其干预旅的当前任务。这也是充分利用第2612号决议的潜力的问题,该决议根据《宪章》第七章规定,加强蓝盔部队与刚果安全和国防部队之间的规划与合作,以便开展更有效的联合行动,并采取一切必要措施,消除刚果和外国武装团体构成的威胁,阻止刚果民主共和国东部地区仍然普遍存在的不安全气氛。

调动真正的政治意愿来实施安全部门的体制改革的重要性,不仅对巩固建立一个保护基本自由的强大的法治,而且对开展旨在完成从长期战争到和平、从掠夺性和独裁统治到民主的过渡性司法进程都是至关重要的。

事实上,虽然近几十年来寻求政治和军事解决方案的各种尝试都未能稳定该国局势和保护平民,但现在是时候了,应该说出真相和法律,并在联合国巩固和平、预防冲突和解决大湖区冲突的战略中优先考虑为被指控在刚果民主共和国犯下四分之一世纪以来最严重罪行的罪犯伸张正义和追究责任,并将使用所有过渡时期司法机制,包括司法和非司法机制,作为联刚稳定团任务和撤出战略的核心。

-丹尼斯-穆克维格博士

2018年诺贝尔和平奖

相关内容

穆克维格博士致刚果人民的信

2022年6月20日 我亲爱的同胞们,现在是严肃的时刻。本周日(6月19日),我们与刚果基督教会的几位宗教领袖会面,分享我们对卢旺达通过M23组织进行的第13次侵略以来我国目前普遍存在的安全局势的担忧。这种情况使我们感到痛苦[...] 。

2022年消除冲突中性暴力国际日

在第八次庆祝消除冲突中性暴力国际日之际,我们希望对所有性犯罪的受害者表示声援,我们向为自己权利而斗争的幸存者的勇气致敬,我们向所有国家发出庄严的呼吁,不再[...]。

Statement on the recurring massacres in the Provinces under the state of siege and the Nairobi consultations

The deterioration of the security situation and its dramatic humanitarian consequences in Congo’s Provinces in conflict under the state of siege are extremely worrying and cannot continue. 

The latest massacres that took the lives of several dozen people in Mongwalu on Sunday, May 8, and in the Lodda camp for displaced persons near Fataki on Monday, May 9, 2022, in the Djugu Territory of Ituri are unbearable and demonstrate once again that the military strategy supported by the Congolese government for the past year is incapable of protecting civilians and preventing the repetition of war crimes and crimes against humanity.

Indeed, it was with interest that we followed the critical report of the Defense and Security Commission of the National Assembly on the state of siege in September 2021, and it was with horror that we learned of the recent data collected by the Kivu Security Barometer, which established that more than 2,500 civilians were killed in the provinces of Ituri and North Kivu between April 2021 and April 2022. This is nearly double the number of killings documented the previous year, prior to the May 6, 2021 decision to declare a state of siege. 

The increase in human rights violations, the growing number of victims among the civilian population, the expansion of areas of instability, and the renewed dynamism of certain armed groups such as the M23 since the state of siege came into effect — which was supposed to strengthen the protection of civilians, neutralize armed groups, and pacify the battered provinces — must lead the Congolese authorities to urgently review their security governance and regional diplomacy.

It is in this context that we welcome President Félix Tshisekedi’s intention to establish a plan to end the state of siege. Indeed, this exceptional measure, which restricts fundamental rights and freedoms, has already been extended many times by Parliament, and should not be allowed to continue while insecurity is growing in the two provinces concerned and its impact on the protection of civilians is negative. This failure must be acknowledged without further delay.

In addition, we would also like to express our concern about the political consultation process initiated in Nairobi between the Congolese authorities, the States of the region and a series of armed groups. Indeed, the announced plan to form a new regional force made up of States in the region that are largely responsible for destabilizing activities in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), recurring cycles of violence, and the illegal exploitation and trade of our country’s natural resources for more than 25 years, is likely to aggravate and prolong instability and insecurity.

The Congolese authorities and the international community can no longer support firefighter-pyromania strategies aimed at maintaining organized chaos, repeated violations of our sovereignty and almost permanent attacks on the territorial integrity of our country by foreign armed forces or by armed groups supported by neighboring states, serious violations of international law that no independent nation can tolerate.

Thus, we renew our plea for a profound reform of the security sector and a serious reorganization of our security and defense forces, which is an indispensable prerequisite for any effort to secure our country and its population. This reform is enshrined in United Nations Security Council Resolution 2612 establishing the current mandate of MONUSCO and its Intervention Brigade. It is also a matter of making full use of the potential of Resolution 2612, which provides under Chapter VII of the Charter for enhanced planning and cooperation between the Blue Helmets and the Congolese security and defense forces, in order to carry out more effective joint operations and to take all necessary measures to eliminate the threat posed by Congolese and foreign armed groups and to stem the climate of insecurity that still prevails in the eastern DRC.

The importance of mobilizing real political will to implement institutional reforms in the security sector will not only be essential to consolidate the building of a strong rule of law that protects fundamental freedoms, but also to carry out a transitional justice process aimed at completing the transition from a long period of war to peace, and from predatory and authoritarian rule to democracy.

Indeed, while the various attempts to find a political and military solution in recent decades have all failed to stabilize the country and protect civilians, the time has come to speak the truth and the law, and to prioritize justice and accountability for the alleged perpetrators of the most serious crimes committed in the DRC for more than a quarter century in UN strategy for peace consolidation, conflict prevention and conflict resolution in the Great Lakes , and to place the use of all transitional justice mechanisms, both judicial and non-judicial, at the heart of MONUSCO’s mandate and exit strategy.

-Dr. Denis Mukwege

2018 Nobel Peace Prize

Related Content

Déclarationdu Dr Mukwege sur l’impératif de la mise en œuvre du régime de sanctions

Alors que le groupe armé terroriste M23 soutenu directement et indirectement par les Forces rwandaises de défense (RDF) est aux portes de Goma, la 3e ville de la République Démocratique du Congo (RDC), la situation humanitaire déjà catastrophique se dégrade encore davantage, faisant augmenter le nombre de déplacés internes à presque 6 millions de personnes. Suite […]

Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the Imperative of Implementing the Sanctions Regime

As the armed terrorist group M23, supported directly and indirectly by the Rwandan Defense Forces (RDF), is at the gates of Goma — the third largest city in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) — the already catastrophic humanitarian situation is deteriorating further, increasing the number of internally displaced persons to almost 6 million. Following […]