Statement von Dr. Mukwege zum 20. Jahrestag des "Sechs-Tage-Krieges" in Kisangani / DR Kongo zwischen der Rwandan Patriotic Army und der Uganda People's Defense Force

Bukavu, 5. Juni 2020. Erklärung von Dr. Mukwege zum 20. Jahrestag des "Sechstagekriegs" in Kisangani / DR Kongo zwischen der Ruandischen Patriotischen Armee und der Uganda People's Defense Force

"Vom 5. bis 10. Juni 2000 kam es in Kisangani zu Zusammenstößen zwischen der Ruandischen Patriotischen Armee (APR) und den Ugandischen Volksverteidigungskräften (UPDF). Beide Seiten führten wahllose Angriffe mit schweren Waffen durch, bei denen nach Angaben von Quellen zwischen 244 und 760 Zivilisten getötet, mehr als 1.000 verletzt und Tausende vertrieben wurden. Die beiden Armeen zerstörten außerdem mehr als 400 Privathäuser und beschädigten schweres öffentliches und kommerzielles Eigentum, Gotteshäuser, einschließlich der katholischen Kathedrale Notre Dame, Bildungseinrichtungen und Gesundheitseinrichtungen, einschließlich Krankenhäuser."

Dieser Auszug aus dem Mapping-Bericht der Vereinten Nationen von 2010 über die schwersten Verletzungen der Menschenrechte und des humanitären Völkerrechts beschreibt den sogenannten "6-Tage-Krieg". Wir laden unsere kongolesischen Mitbürgerinnen und Mitbürger ein, sich den Inhalt dieses Berichts anzueignen, der einen der dunkelsten Abschnitte in der Geschichte unseres Landes dokumentiert.

Diesen Freitag, den 5. Juni 2020, jähren sich diese Kriegsverbrechen und Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit, die von ausländischen Streitkräften auf kongolesischem Boden begangen wurden, zum 20.

 Schwere Waffengewalt zwischen ruandischen und ugandischen Streitkräften hielt die Zivilbevölkerung als Geisel gefangen und führte zu groß angelegten Massakern in Kisangani sowie zu umfangreichen Sach- und Umweltschäden. Diese beispiellose Gewalt hat die Träume, Hoffnungen und den Einfallsreichtum Hunderter unserer Landsleute in einem Fluss aus Blut und Tränen weggespült.

Diese schwersten Verbrechen und ihre verheerenden Folgen dürfen nicht vergessen werden. Sie sind unauslöschlich. Es kann keine Immunität, kein Kompromiss und keine "Realpolitik" geltend gemacht werden, um sich der Verantwortung der Täter zu entziehen. Die Opfer und ihre Familien haben ein Recht auf Wahrheit, Gerechtigkeit, Wiedergutmachung und die Zusicherung, dass sich so etwas nicht wiederholen wird.

Unsere Nation muss sich der Resignation verweigern, damit die Flamme des Gedenkens niemals erlischt und an künftige Generationen weitergegeben wird. Für unsere Toten und Überlebenden ist es wichtig, dass die Erinnerung an sie lebendig bleibt. Vergessen wäre eine Kapitulation vor dem Grauen, ein zweiter Tod für die Opfer und eine Schande für uns alle.

Wir fordern die Behörden der Demokratischen Republik Kongo (DRK) auf, die Errichtung von Gedenkstätten an den Massengräbern unserer Schwestern und Brüder zu unterstützen, die von menschlicher Barbarei betroffen sind. Nach Jahrzehnten der Verleugnung ist es an der Zeit, Mechanismen zur Wahrheitsfindung und Gerechtigkeit einzuführen, um Versöhnung und einen echten und dauerhaften Frieden zu erreichen. Damit unsere Kinder nicht der Erinnerung an ihre Eltern und damit ihrer Identität beraubt werden und gemeinsam eine bessere Zukunft aufbauen können.

Die Erinnerung ist für das Leben unserer Nation und für die Geschichte von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Alle wichtigen Kräfte unseres Landes - die Zivilgesellschaft, die Schulen und die Universitäten - sollten ihre Rolle bei der Weitergabe der Erinnerung mit Nachdruck wahrnehmen. Eine friedliche Zukunft kann nicht auf dem Vergessen oder dem Gefühl der Demütigung und des Grolls angesichts von so viel Grausamkeit aufgebaut werden.

Wir fordern erneut die Einrichtung eines Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs für die Demokratische Republik Kongo und/oder gemischter Fachgerichte sowie die Durchführung weitreichender Reformen im Sicherheits- und Justizsektor. Wir fordern die kongolesischen Behörden nachdrücklich auf, die Verhandlungen mit Uganda fortzusetzen, um Wege zur Umsetzung des Urteils des Internationalen Gerichtshofs aus dem Jahr 2005 zu finden, mit dem der ugandische Staat zur Behebung der auf kongolesischem Gebiet verursachten Schäden verurteilt wurde. Wir fordern die kongolesischen Behörden außerdem auf, einen aufrichtigen Dialog mit Ruanda aufzunehmen, um die justizielle Zusammenarbeit zu stärken und die Rechtsprechung bei Verbrechen in der Region zu erleichtern.

Es ist an der Zeit, dem organisierten Chaos in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo ein Ende zu setzen: Die kongolesischen Behörden und die internationale Gemeinschaft können die wiederholten Verletzungen unserer Souveränität und die Angriffe auf die territoriale Integrität unseres Landes durch ausländische Streitkräfte oder durch Streitkräfte, die von Nachbarstaaten unterstützt werden, nicht länger hinnehmen - schwerwiegende Verstöße gegen das Völkerrecht, die leider bis zum heutigen Tag andauern.

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the 20th Anniversary of the “Six Day War” in Kisangani / DR Congo between the Rwandan Patriotic Army and the Uganda People’s Defense Force

Bukavu June 5, 2020 — Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the 20th Anniversary of the “Six Day War” in Kisangani / DR Congo between the Rwandan Patriotic Army and the Uganda People’s Defense Force

“From June 5 through 10, 2000, the Rwandan Patriotic Army (APR) and the Uganda People’s Defense Force (UPDF) clashed in Kisangani. The two sides carried out indiscriminate heavy weapon attacks, killing between 244 and 760 civilians, sources said, injuring more than 1,000 and displacing thousands. The two armies also destroyed over 400 private residences and severely damaged public and commercial property, places of worship, including Notre Dame Catholic Cathedral, educational facilities, and health facilities, including hospitals.”

This extract from the 2010 United Nations Mapping report on the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law describes the so-called “6-day War.” We invite our fellow Congolese to appropriate the content of this report which documents one of the darkest parts of our country’s history.

This Friday, June 5, 2020 marks the 20th anniversary of these war crimes and crimes against humanity committed by foreign armed forces on Congolese soil.

 Heavy weapon clashes between Rwandan and Ugandan forces held civilian populations hostage and resulted in large-scale massacres in Kisangani, as well as extensive property and environmental damage. This unprecedented violence washed away the dreams, hopes, and ingenuity of hundreds of our compatriots in a river of blood and tears.

These most serious crimes and their devastating consequences cannot be forgotten. They are imprescriptible. No immunity, compromise or “realpolitik” can be invoked to evade the responsibilities of the perpetrators. Victims and their families have the right to truth, justice, reparations and assurances that it will not happen again.

Our Nation must refuse resignation so that the flame of remembrance never goes out and is transferred to future generations. It is essential for our dead and survivors to keep their memories alive. Forgetting would be a capitulation to the horror, a second death for the victims, and a dishonor for all of us.

We invite the authorities of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) to support the construction of memorials on the mass graves of our sisters and brothers struck by human barbarity. After decades of denial, the time has come to put in place mechanisms for establishing truth and justice for reconciliation, and real and lasting peace. This is so that our children are not deprived of the memory of their parents and therefore of their identity, and can build a better tomorrow together.

Memory is essential to the life of our Nation and to history. All of the vital forces of our country – civil society, schools, and universities, should vigorously embrace their role in passing it on. A peaceful future cannot be built on forgetfulness, or the feeling of humiliation and resentment in the face of so much cruelty.

We once again call for the establishment of an International Criminal Court for the DRC and / or mixed specialized courts and the implementation of far-reaching reforms in the security and justice sectors. We urge the Congolese authorities to continue negotiations with Uganda to find ways to implement the 2005 judgment of the International Court of Justice ordering the Ugandan state to repair the damage caused on Congolese territory. We also call on the Congolese authorities to initiate a sincere dialogue with Rwanda with a view to strengthening judicial cooperation to facilitate the administration of justice for crimes within the region.

It is time to put an end to the organized chaos in the DRC: the Congolese authorities and the international community can no longer accept the repeated violations of our sovereignty and the attacks on the territorial integrity of our country by foreign armed forces or by armed forces supported by neighboring states—serious violations of international law which unfortunately continue to this day.

Related Content

DR Congo: Blinken Visit Tests US Support for Democracy, Rights

Focus on Elections, Repression, Corruption, Rampant Violence in East (Washington, DC) – United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken should publicly promote free and fair elections, respect for human rights, and anti-corruption efforts during his visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo on August 9 and 10, 2022, 17 US and Congolese organizations and experts said today. […]

Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the violent incidents at the MONUSCO offices in Goma

It is with great desolation that I discovered the images of the unfortunate incidents that occurred at various MONUSCO bases in Goma yesterday, Monday, July 25, 2022. Some offices were ransacked and equipment looted. Protesters were violently repressed. This is deplorable. I sympathize with the plight of MONUSCO and the trauma of its staff. I […]