Die Panzi Foundation erhält den Holiday Impact Prize 2021 von Nicholas Kristof

WASHINGTON, DC - 24. November 2021- Die Panzi Foundation gab heute bekannt, dass die gemeinnützige Organisation als Empfänger des Holiday Impact Prize 2021 ausgewählt wurde. Der Holiday Impact Prize ist ein jährlicher Geschenkführer des zweifachen Pulitzer-Preisträgers und ehemaligen Kolumnisten der New York Times Nicholas Kristof und wird von Focusing Philanthropy unterstützt.

Panzi wurde 1999 von Dr. Denis Mukwege, einem Gynäkologen und Friedensnobelpreisträger, gegründet, der schwangeren Frauen in seiner Gemeinde einen sicheren Ort für die Entbindung ihrer Babys bieten wollte. Viele seiner ersten Patienten waren jedoch keine werdenden Mütter, sondern Frauen und Mädchen, die von bewaffneten Milizen brutal vergewaltigt worden waren. Seitdem hat Panzi mehr als 85.000 Frauen und Mädchen behandelt, die an Vergewaltigungs- oder Geburtskomplikationen litten, und zwar im Alter von sechs Monaten bis zu über 80 Jahren. Das ganzheitliche Heilungsmodell von Panzi bietet den Frauen medizinische Behandlung, Therapie, Rechtsbeistand und Berufsausbildung, die den Überlebenden die Möglichkeit geben, die Zukunft zu gestalten, die sie verdienen.

Panzi fühlt sich geehrt, im Rahmen des Holiday Impact Prize 2021 zusammen mit Per Scholas 25.000 US-Dollar zu erhalten. Der Preis, der durch Spenden von Lesern unterstützt wurde, wird Panzi dabei helfen, ein neues One Stop Center zu bauen, in dem Überlebende Zugang zu ganzheitlicher Betreuung haben und Gemeindemitglieder hervorragende primäre und pädiatrische Gesundheitsdienste erhalten können. Die One Stop Centers stellen sicher, dass die Überlebenden alle vier Säulen des ganzheitlichen Ansatzes von Panzi an einem Ort erhalten können und das Trauma der Wiederholung ihrer Geschichte reduziert wird, da sie diese nur einmal erzählen müssen. Die Zentren sind mit Solarzellen ausgestattet, um saubere, erneuerbare Energie zu erzeugen, und die Patientengebühren, die für nicht von Überlebenden in Anspruch genommene Wahlleistungen erhoben werden, tragen zur Nachhaltigkeit des laufenden Betriebs des Zentrums bei.

"Wir können das, was wir tun, nicht ohne die Unterstützung unserer Spender tun. Das Geld, das wir erhalten, hilft uns, die Frauen, die in Panzi leben, zu versorgen, damit sie ein neues Leben finden und selbständig werden. Ohne die Spender, die uns helfen, wären wir nicht in der Lage, sie zu unterstützen", sagte Dr. Denis Mukwege, Gründer und medizinischer Leiter des Panzi-Hospitals und der Stiftung.

In diesem Jahr ging der Hauptpreis in Höhe von 100.00 US-Dollar an die Seva Foundation, eine globale gemeinnützige Augenpflegeorganisation, die mit lokalen Gemeinschaften auf der ganzen Welt zusammenarbeitet, um selbsttragende Programme zur Erhaltung und Wiederherstellung des Sehvermögens zu entwickeln. Seva hat weltweit mehr als 36,8 Millionen Menschen mit lebenswichtigen augenmedizinischen Diensten versorgt und arbeitet in mehr als 20 Ländern im Ausland und in indianischen Gemeinden in den Vereinigten Staaten. Die Kolumne würdigt auch zwei Möglichkeiten für Freiwillige - Reading Partners und Big Brothers Big Sisters of America - für diejenigen, die ihre Zeit für wohltätige Zwecke spenden möchten, insbesondere für die Betreuung und Ausbildung junger Menschen in ihren lokalen Gemeinschaften.

Seit 2009 schreibt der zweifache Pulitzer-Preisträger und ehemalige Kolumnist der New York Times, Nicholas Kristof, jedes Jahr eine Kolumne mit dem Titel "Holiday Gift Guide", um eine philanthropische Lücke zu schließen: Leser, die helfen wollten, aber nicht wussten, wie, und heldenhafte Einzelpersonen und Organisationen, die dringend Mittel benötigten, aber nicht auf dem Radar der Spender waren. Im Jahr 2020 wurde CAMFED, die Kampagne für weibliche Bildung, eine preisgekrönte panafrikanische Bewegung, die die am meisten gefährdeten Mädchen und jungen Frauen in die Lage versetzt, die Zukunft zu gestalten, die sie sich vorstellen, zum Gewinner des Großen Preises ernannt.

Focusing Philanthropy - eine501(c)3-Non-Profit-Organisation, die hochwirksame, skalierbare Programme hier und auf der ganzen Welt findet und finanziert - stellt die Plattform für diese Initiative zur Verfügung, indem sie die Beiträge der Leser verarbeitet, die Ergebnisse überwacht und darüber berichtet und die Kreditkarten-Transaktionskosten der auf KristofImpact.org getätigten Spenden auffüllt, so dass 100 Cent pro Dollar die Gewinnerorganisationen unterstützen.

Weitere Informationen über den Holiday Impact Prize von Nicholas Kristof, die diesjährigen Gewinner und Focusing Philanthropy finden Sie unter KristofImpact.org.

ÜBER PANZI:

Das Panzi Hospital and Foundation wurde von Dr. Denis Mukwege gegründet, einem weltbekannten gynäkologischen Chirurgen und Friedensnobelpreisträger. Dr. Mukwege eröffnete das Krankenhaus 1999, um den Frauen in seiner Gemeinde Zugang zu einer hochwertigen Gesundheitsversorgung für Mütter zu verschaffen. Viele seiner ersten Patientinnen waren jedoch keine werdenden Mütter, sondern Frauen, die aufgrund des anhaltenden Konflikts im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo mit äußerster Brutalität und als Kriegstaktik vergewaltigt worden waren.

In den letzten 20 Jahren haben Dr. Mukwege und seine Mitarbeiter mehr als 85.000 Frauen mit schweren gynäkologischen Traumata betreut, darunter 70.000 Überlebende sexueller Gewalt. Panzi wendet ein ganzheitliches Vier-Säulen-Heilungsmodell an, das medizinische Behandlung mit psychosozialer Unterstützung, Zugang zu rechtlichen Dienstleistungen und sozioökonomischen Wiedereingliederungsmöglichkeiten kombiniert, um den Opfern zu helfen, sich in Überlebende zu verwandeln.

und Medienkontakt].

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Panzi Foundation Named Recipient of Nicholas Kristof’s 2021 Holiday Impact Prize

WASHINGTON, DC —November 24, 2021— Panzi Foundation today announced that the non-profit has been selected as a recipient of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, an annual gift guide by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof and supported by Focusing Philanthropy.

Panzi was founded in 1999 by Dr. Denis Mukwege, an OBGYN and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, who wanted to provide pregnant women in his community with a safe place to deliver their babies. Many of his first patients, however, were not soon-to-be mothers, but instead women and girls who had been brutally raped by armed militias. Since then, Panzi has served more than 85,000 women and girls suffering from rape- or birth- related complications, spanning in age from as young as six months old to over 80 years old. Panzi’s holistic healing model provides women  with medical treatment, therapy, legal services, and job-skills training that empower survivors to create the bright futures they deserve.

Panzi is honored to receive $25,000 as part of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, alongside fellow recipient Per Scholas. The prize, bolstered by donations from readers, will help Panzi build a new One Stop Center where survivors can access holistic care and community members can receive excellent primary and pediatric health services. One Stop Centers ensure survivors can receive all four pillars of Panzi’s holistic approach in one place and reduces the trauma of repeating their stories by only having to tell it once. The centers are equipped with solar panels to generate clean, renewable energy, and patient fees collected for non-survivor, elective services contribute toward the sustainability of the center’s ongoing operations.

“We can’t do what we are doing without the support of our donors. The money we receive helps us take care of the women who are living at Panzi to find a new life and become autonomous. We wouldn’t be a be able to support them without the donors who are helping us,” said Dr. Denis Mukwege, founder and medical director of Panzi Hospital and Foundation.

This year, the $100,00 grand prize was awarded to Seva Foundation, a global nonprofit eye care organization that works with local communities around the world to develop self-sustaining programs that preserve and restore sight. Seva has provided vital eye care services to more than 36.8 million people in the world, working in more than 20 countries abroad and in Native American communities in the United States. The column also recognizes two volunteer opportunities – Reading Partners and Big Brothers Big Sisters of America – for those who wish to donate their time to worthy causes, particularly the mentorship and education of young people in their local communities.

Since 2009, two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof has written an annual “holiday gift guide” column to bridge a philanthropic gap: readers who wanted to help but didn’t know how, and heroic individuals and organizations who desperately needed resources but were off donors’ radar. In 2020, CAMFED, the Campaign for Female Education, an award-winning pan-African movement that catalyzes the power of the most vulnerable girls and young women to create the future they imagine, was named the Grand Prize Winner.

Focusing Philanthropy—a 501(c)3 nonprofit that finds and funds high-impact, scalable programs here and around the world—is providing the platform for this initiative by processing readers’ contributions, monitoring and reporting on results, and replenishing credit card transaction costs of donations made on KristofImpact.org so that 100 cents on the dollar will support the winning organizations.

More information about Nicholas Kristof’s Holiday Impact Prize, this year’s winners, and Focusing Philanthropy can be found at KristofImpact.org.

ABOUT PANZI:

Panzi Hospital and Foundation was founded by Dr. Denis Mukwege, a world-renowned gynecological surgeon and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate. Dr. Mukwege opened the hospital in 1999 to provide the women in his community with access to high-quality maternal health care. Many of his first patients, however, were not delivering mothers, but instead women who had been raped with extreme brutality and as a tactic of war, due to the ongoing conflict in the eastern region of the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Over the past 20 years, Dr. Mukwege and his staff have helped to care for more than 85,000 women suffering from severe gynecological trauma, including 70,000 survivors of sexual violence. Panzi utilizes a four-pillar holistic healing model that combines medical treatment with psychosocial support, access to legal services, and socio-economic reintegration opportunities to help victims transform into survivors.

and media contact].

Related Content

Message from Dr. Mukwege To the Congolese Population

June 20, 2022 My dear compatriots, The hour is serious. This Sunday, June 19, we met with several religious leaders of the Church of Christ in Congo to share our concerns about the security situation that currently prevails in our country since the umpteenth aggression of Rwanda through the M23 group. This situation anguishes our […]

International Day to Eliminate Sexual Violence in Conflict 2022

On the occasion of the 8th celebration of the International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict, we wish to express our solidarity with all victims of sexual crimes, we salute the courage of the survivors who fight for their rights, and we launch a solemn appeal to all States to no longer […]