潘子基金会被提名为尼古拉斯-克里斯托夫2021年假日影响力奖的获奖者

华盛顿特区-2021年11月24日-潘子基金会今天宣布,该非营利组织被选为2021年假日影响力奖的获奖者,该奖项是由两届普利策奖得主、前《纽约时报》专栏作家尼古拉斯-克里斯托夫(Nicholas Kristof)提出的年度礼物指南,由Focusing Philanthropy支持。

Panzi是由诺贝尔和平奖得主丹尼斯.穆克维格(Denis Mukwege)医生于1999年创立的,他希望为其社区的孕妇提供一个安全的分娩场所。然而,他的第一批病人中,有许多不是即将成为母亲的人,而是被武装民兵残酷强奸的妇女和女孩。从那时起,Panzi已经为超过85,000名患有强奸或分娩相关并发症的妇女和女孩提供服务,她们的年龄从6个月大到80多岁不等。Panzi的整体治疗模式为妇女提供医疗、治疗、法律服务和工作技能培训,使幸存者能够创造她们应得的美好未来。

Panzi很荣幸能与其他获奖者Per Scholas一起获得25,000美元,作为2021年假日影响奖的一部分。该奖项由读者的捐款支持,将帮助Panzi建立一个新的一站式中心,幸存者可以在这里获得整体护理,社区成员可以获得优秀的初级和儿科保健服务。一站式中心确保幸存者可以在一个地方接受Panzi整体方法的所有四个支柱,并通过只需讲述一次来减少重复其故事的创伤。这些中心配备了太阳能电池板,以产生清洁的可再生能源,而为非幸存者提供的选择性服务所收取的病人费用有助于中心持续运营的可持续性。

"没有捐助者的支持,我们无法做到现在的工作。我们收到的钱帮助我们照顾住在Panzi的妇女,让她们找到新的生活,并变得自主。如果没有帮助我们的捐助者,我们就没有能力支持她们。"潘子医院和基金会的创始人兼医疗主任丹尼斯-穆克维格博士说。

今年,100,00美元的大奖授予了Seva基金会,这是一个全球性的非营利性眼科护理组织,它与世界各地的当地社区合作,开发自我维持的项目,保护和恢复视力。Seva已经为世界上3680多万人提供了重要的眼保健服务,在国外20多个国家和美国的美国本土社区开展工作。该专栏还表彰了两个志愿者机会--阅读伙伴和美国大哥哥大姐姐--为那些希望为有价值的事业,特别是为当地社区的年轻人的指导和教育捐赠时间的人。

自2009年以来,两届普利策奖得主、前《纽约时报》专栏作家尼古拉斯-克里斯托夫每年都会撰写一个 "节日礼物指南 "专栏,以弥合慈善事业的差距:那些想要帮助但不知道如何帮助的读者,以及那些迫切需要资源但不被捐助者关注的英雄个人和组织。2020年,CAMFED,女性教育运动,一个获奖的泛非洲运动,催化最脆弱的女孩和年轻女性的力量,创造她们想象的未来,被评为大奖得主。

Focusing Philanthropy--一个501(c)3的非营利组织,致力于寻找和资助本地和世界各地的高影响力、可扩展的项目--正在为这项活动提供平台,处理读者的捐款,监测和报告结果,并为KristofImpact.org上的捐款补充信用卡交易费用,从而使一美元中的100美分能够支持获奖组织。

关于尼古拉斯-克里斯托夫假日影响力奖、今年的获奖者以及Focusing Philanthropy的更多信息可以在KristofImpact.org上找到。

关于PANZI。

Panzi医院和基金会是由世界著名的妇科外科医生和诺贝尔和平奖获得者丹尼斯-穆克维格博士创立的。穆克维格医生于1999年开设了这家医院,为其社区的妇女提供高质量的孕产妇保健服务。然而,他的许多第一批病人并不是分娩的母亲,而是由于刚果民主共和国东部地区持续不断的冲突而被极端残忍地作为战争手段强奸的妇女。

在过去的20年里,穆克维格医生和他的工作人员帮助照顾了超过85,000名遭受严重妇科创伤的妇女,包括70,000名性暴力幸存者。Panzi利用一个四支柱的整体治疗模式,将医疗与社会心理支持、获得法律服务和重新融入社会经济生活的机会相结合,帮助受害者转变为幸存者。

和媒体联系]。

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Panzi Foundation Named Recipient of Nicholas Kristof’s 2021 Holiday Impact Prize

WASHINGTON, DC —November 24, 2021— Panzi Foundation today announced that the non-profit has been selected as a recipient of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, an annual gift guide by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof and supported by Focusing Philanthropy.

Panzi was founded in 1999 by Dr. Denis Mukwege, an OBGYN and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, who wanted to provide pregnant women in his community with a safe place to deliver their babies. Many of his first patients, however, were not soon-to-be mothers, but instead women and girls who had been brutally raped by armed militias. Since then, Panzi has served more than 85,000 women and girls suffering from rape- or birth- related complications, spanning in age from as young as six months old to over 80 years old. Panzi’s holistic healing model provides women  with medical treatment, therapy, legal services, and job-skills training that empower survivors to create the bright futures they deserve.

Panzi is honored to receive $25,000 as part of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, alongside fellow recipient Per Scholas. The prize, bolstered by donations from readers, will help Panzi build a new One Stop Center where survivors can access holistic care and community members can receive excellent primary and pediatric health services. One Stop Centers ensure survivors can receive all four pillars of Panzi’s holistic approach in one place and reduces the trauma of repeating their stories by only having to tell it once. The centers are equipped with solar panels to generate clean, renewable energy, and patient fees collected for non-survivor, elective services contribute toward the sustainability of the center’s ongoing operations.

“We can’t do what we are doing without the support of our donors. The money we receive helps us take care of the women who are living at Panzi to find a new life and become autonomous. We wouldn’t be a be able to support them without the donors who are helping us,” said Dr. Denis Mukwege, founder and medical director of Panzi Hospital and Foundation.

This year, the $100,00 grand prize was awarded to Seva Foundation, a global nonprofit eye care organization that works with local communities around the world to develop self-sustaining programs that preserve and restore sight. Seva has provided vital eye care services to more than 36.8 million people in the world, working in more than 20 countries abroad and in Native American communities in the United States. The column also recognizes two volunteer opportunities – Reading Partners and Big Brothers Big Sisters of America – for those who wish to donate their time to worthy causes, particularly the mentorship and education of young people in their local communities.

Since 2009, two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof has written an annual “holiday gift guide” column to bridge a philanthropic gap: readers who wanted to help but didn’t know how, and heroic individuals and organizations who desperately needed resources but were off donors’ radar. In 2020, CAMFED, the Campaign for Female Education, an award-winning pan-African movement that catalyzes the power of the most vulnerable girls and young women to create the future they imagine, was named the Grand Prize Winner.

Focusing Philanthropy—a 501(c)3 nonprofit that finds and funds high-impact, scalable programs here and around the world—is providing the platform for this initiative by processing readers’ contributions, monitoring and reporting on results, and replenishing credit card transaction costs of donations made on KristofImpact.org so that 100 cents on the dollar will support the winning organizations.

More information about Nicholas Kristof’s Holiday Impact Prize, this year’s winners, and Focusing Philanthropy can be found at KristofImpact.org.

ABOUT PANZI:

Panzi Hospital and Foundation was founded by Dr. Denis Mukwege, a world-renowned gynecological surgeon and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate. Dr. Mukwege opened the hospital in 1999 to provide the women in his community with access to high-quality maternal health care. Many of his first patients, however, were not delivering mothers, but instead women who had been raped with extreme brutality and as a tactic of war, due to the ongoing conflict in the eastern region of the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Over the past 20 years, Dr. Mukwege and his staff have helped to care for more than 85,000 women suffering from severe gynecological trauma, including 70,000 survivors of sexual violence. Panzi utilizes a four-pillar holistic healing model that combines medical treatment with psychosocial support, access to legal services, and socio-economic reintegration opportunities to help victims transform into survivors.

and media contact].

Related Content

Message from Dr. Mukwege To the Congolese Population

June 20, 2022 My dear compatriots, The hour is serious. This Sunday, June 19, we met with several religious leaders of the Church of Christ in Congo to share our concerns about the security situation that currently prevails in our country since the umpteenth aggression of Rwanda through the M23 group. This situation anguishes our […]

International Day to Eliminate Sexual Violence in Conflict 2022

On the occasion of the 8th celebration of the International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict, we wish to express our solidarity with all victims of sexual crimes, we salute the courage of the survivors who fight for their rights, and we launch a solemn appeal to all States to no longer […]