Message du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur la pandémie de coronavirus

25 mars 2020

Bukavu, RDC - Message du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur la pandémie de coronavirus

Le monde entier est confronté à la pandémie de coronavirus qui se propage actuellement en Afrique, après avoir frappé l'Asie et l'Europe. Les derniers chiffres en provenance d'Europe sont effrayants. Plusieurs autres pays du monde, comme les Etats-Unis et le Canada, sont également touchés.https://www.youtube.com/embed/GVPLU6Usofg?feature=youtu.be&wmode=opaque&enablejsapi=1

La République démocratique du Congo (RDC), notre pays, n'est pas épargnée. Déjà 32 cas positifs ont été signalés. Nous devons nous préparer au pire afin d'éviter une propagation massive du virus et une multiplication des cas.

En l'absence de centres de dépistage répartis sur l'ensemble de notre pays et de moyens pour effectuer un dépistage à grande échelle de la population, comme l'encourage l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, nous n'avons aucune idée de l'étendue réelle des personnes infectées. A ce jour, il est donc très difficile de détecter qui, parmi nous ou dans notre entourage, est déjà infecté.

Il est important de noter que ce virus est très contagieux même si les symptômes de la maladie - fièvre, toux sèche, difficultés respiratoires - ne sont pas encore apparus.

Notre meilleur moyen d'arrêter la propagation du virus sera donc la prévention, la vigilance des citoyens et la mobilisation collective. Ce qui compte le plus, c'est le comportement de chaque individu et de nous tous.

Nous appelons l'ensemble de la communauté nationale à s'impliquer pleinement pour assurer une réponse efficace à la pandémie.

Nous saluons les mécanismes préventifs décrétés par le chef de l'Etat le 19 mars dernier, interdisant les rassemblements, notamment dans les écoles, les églises, les salles de réunion, les manifestations sportives collectives, et restreignant l'accès au territoire national.

Nous saluons également la nomination de notre compatriote et mon collègue, l'éminent virologue Jean-Jacques Muyembe, codécouvreur du virus Ebola en 1976, comme coordinateur de la réponse au Coronavirus en RDC.

Chacun d'entre nous doit accepter, pendant la durée de cette crise, d'adapter ses habitudes : éviter autant que possible de sortir et rester chez soi ; adopter des mesures de distanciation sociale, comme maintenir une distance minimale d'un mètre entre les individus ; éviter les poignées de main et les embrassades.

Les mesures d'hygiène préventives habituelles, comme se laver régulièrement les mains avec du savon et éternuer dans son coude, sont également fortement recommandées.

Pour toute urgence ou cas potentiel, contactez l'hôpital le plus proche et suivez les instructions des autorités sanitaires de notre pays.

À l'hôpital général de Panzi, tout notre personnel est préparé et mobilisé pour l'intervention. Nous prendrons soin des malades avec efficacité et humanité.

Chers concitoyens, femmes et hommes, décideurs politiques, chefs religieux, chefs traditionnels, leaders de la société civile et des mouvements sociaux, professionnels de la santé, nous vous appelons à relayer les messages de prévention. Unissons nos forces pour endiguer cette pandémie dans un esprit de responsabilité et de solidarité avec la communauté internationale.

Aujourd'hui et demain, à l'hôpital de Panzi, nous serons à la disposition de notre population pour apporter notre contribution à ce combat.

Merci.

Contenu similaire

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Message from Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Coronavirus Pandemic

March 25, 2020

Bukavu, DRC — Message from Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Coronavirus Pandemic

The whole world is facing the Coronavirus pandemic that is now spreading in Africa, after having struck Asia and Europe. The latest figures from Europe are appalling. Several other countries in the world, such as the United States and Canada, are also affected.https://www.youtube.com/embed/GVPLU6Usofg?feature=youtu.be&wmode=opaque&enablejsapi=1

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), our country, is not spared. Already, 32 positive cases have been reported. We must prepare for the worst in order to avoid a massive spread of the virus and a multiplication of cases.

In the absence of test centers throughout our country and of means to conduct large-scale screening of the population, as encouraged by the World Health Organization, we have no idea of the actual extent of people infected. To date, it is therefore very difficult to detect who among us or among those around us is already infected.

It is important to note that this virus is very contagious even if the symptoms of the disease – fever, dry cough, difficulty breathing – have not yet appeared.

Our best way to stop the spread of the virus will therefore be prevention, citizen vigilance and collective mobilization. What matters most is the behavior of each individual and of us all.

We call on the entire national community to become fully involved in ensuring an effective response to the pandemic.

We welcome the preventive mechanisms decreed by the Head of State on March 19, banning gatherings, in particular in schools, churches, meeting halls, collective sporting events, and restricting access to the national territory.

We also welcome the appointment of our compatriot and my colleague, the eminent virologist Jean-Jacques Muyembe, co-discoverer of the Ebola virus in 1976, as coordinator of the Coronavirus response in the DRC.

Each of us must accept, for the duration of this crisis, to adapt our habits: avoid going out as much as possible and stay at home; adopt social distancing measures, such as keeping a minimum of one meter distance between individuals; avoid handshakes and hugs.

Familiar preventive hygiene measures, such as washing your hands regularly with soap and sneezing into your elbow, are also highly recommended.

For any emergency or potential case, contact the nearest hospital and follow the instructions of the health authorities of our country.

At Panzi General Hospital, all our staff are prepared and mobilized for the response. We will take care of the sick with efficiency and humanity.

Dear fellow citizens, women and men, political decision-makers, religious leaders, traditional leaders, leaders of civil society and social movements, health professionals, we call on you to relay prevention messages. Let us join forces to stem this pandemic in a spirit of responsibility and solidarity with the international community.

Today and tomorrow, at Panzi hospital, we will be at the disposal of our population to make our contribution to this fight.

Thank you.

Related Content

DR Congo: Blinken Visit Tests US Support for Democracy, Rights

Focus on Elections, Repression, Corruption, Rampant Violence in East (Washington, DC) – United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken should publicly promote free and fair elections, respect for human rights, and anti-corruption efforts during his visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo on August 9 and 10, 2022, 17 US and Congolese organizations and experts said today. […]

Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the violent incidents at the MONUSCO offices in Goma

It is with great desolation that I discovered the images of the unfortunate incidents that occurred at various MONUSCO bases in Goma yesterday, Monday, July 25, 2022. Some offices were ransacked and equipment looted. Protesters were violently repressed. This is deplorable. I sympathize with the plight of MONUSCO and the trauma of its staff. I […]