Internationaler Tag zur Beseitigung von sexueller Gewalt in Konflikten 2022

Anlässlich des 8. Internationalen Tages zur Beseitigung sexueller Gewalt in Konflikten möchten wir unsere Solidarität mit allen Opfern von Sexualverbrechen zum Ausdruck bringen, den Mut der Überlebenden würdigen, die für ihre Rechte kämpfen, und einen feierlichen Appell an alle Staaten richten, die Anwendung sexueller Gewalt in Kriegszeiten nicht länger zu tolerieren und diesen schweren Verletzungen der Menschenrechte und des humanitären Völkerrechts, die eine Schande für unsere Menschheit darstellen, ein Ende zu setzen.

Das Datum des 19. Juni erinnert an die Verabschiedung der Resolution 1820 des Sicherheitsrates im Jahr 2008, die den Einsatz von sexueller Gewalt als Kriegswaffe verurteilt und damit einen entscheidenden Wendepunkt in der Agenda für Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit darstellt und sexuelle Gewalt in Konflikten als Bedrohung der kollektiven Sicherheit, als Hindernis für die Friedenskonsolidierung und für die Verwirklichung der Menschenrechte und der Millenniums-Entwicklungsziele anerkennt.

Darüber hinaus wurden Vergewaltigung und andere geschlechtsspezifische Verbrechen im Römischen Statut zur Errichtung des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs zu Recht als Kriegsverbrechen, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und sogar als konstitutiver Akt des Völkermords kodifiziert.

Dank dieser Anerkennung und der Entwicklung des Rechts kann heute kein politischer oder militärischer Führer mehr die Tatsache ignorieren oder vernachlässigen, dass es gegen das Völkerrecht verstößt, Vergewaltigung und sexuelle Gewalt als Kriegsmethode und Strategie der Herrschaft und des Terrors einzusetzen.

Dennoch stellen wir mit Bitterkeit fest, dass der politische Wille oft fehlt, die finanziellen Mittel unzureichend sind und dieser normative Rahmen kaum wirksam ist: Vergewaltigung und sexuelle Gewalt werden in allen aktuellen Konflikten auf der ganzen Welt angewandt - wie auch in der aktuellen Situation in der Ukraine -, die Mittel sind nach wie vor begrenzt, um den Opfern qualitativ hochwertige Dienstleistungen zu bieten, und die Kultur der Straffreiheit, die die Täter und Anstifter dieser abscheulichen Taten genießen, ist nach wie vor eher die Norm als die Ausnahme.

Wir fordern daher die Staaten- und Gebergemeinschaft erneut auf, personelle und finanzielle Ressourcen zu mobilisieren, um die Folgen sexueller Gewalt in Konflikten zu bewältigen und ihre Anstrengungen zu verdoppeln, um die Wiederholung solcher Verbrechen zu verhindern. Dies bedeutet, dass den Opfern eine qualitativ hochwertige, ganzheitliche Hilfe zur Verfügung gestellt und die Verbände der Überlebenden unterstützt werden müssen. Von grundlegender Bedeutung ist auch die Bekämpfung des Patriarchats und die Förderung der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und der aktiven politischen Beteiligung von Frauen, die Durchführung geschlechtersensibler Reformen im Sicherheits- und Justizsektor und die Bekämpfung des Klimas der Straflosigkeit, das immer noch weitgehend herrscht.

Wir setzen uns immer wieder dafür ein, dass die Täter und Hintermänner von Sexualverbrechen stärker zur Rechenschaft gezogen werden, und zwar durch die innerstaatliche Justiz und, wo diese nicht in der Lage und willens ist, durch die internationale Strafjustiz, sowie durch eine verstärkte staatliche Rechenschaftspflicht.

Das Verbot von Vergewaltigung und sexueller Gewalt bringt Verpflichtungen für die Staaten mit sich, insbesondere eine Schutzpflicht, die die Kriminalisierung sexueller Gewalt, die wirksame Bestrafung der Täter und die angemessene Entschädigung der Opfer umfasst. Nur durch die Stärkung der Rechenschaftspflicht, sowohl auf individueller als auch auf staatlicher Ebene, können wir die Wiederholung von Verbrechen verhindern und eine rote Linie gegen die Anwendung von konfliktbezogener sexueller Gewalt ziehen.

In diesem Zusammenhang begrüßen wir die historische Entscheidung des Interamerikanischen Gerichtshofs für Menschenrechte, der im Jahr 2021 den Staat für die Verletzung der Rechte der kolumbianischen Journalistin Jineth Bedoya verantwortlich machte, 20 Jahre nachdem sie Opfer von Entführung und sexuellem Missbrauch geworden war.

Schließlich unterstützen wir uneingeschränkt die Empfehlungen des jüngsten Berichts des Generalsekretärs der Vereinten Nationen und die Arbeit des Büros seines Sonderbeauftragten für sexuelle Gewalt in Konflikten, die darauf abzielen, die Einhaltung der vom Sicherheitsrat festgelegten Normen und Resolutionen durch die Konfliktparteien zu verbessern.

Die Einhaltung des internationalen normativen Rahmens, der seit der Verabschiedung der Resolution 1325 geschaffen wurde, durch die Staaten ist so gering, dass es zwingend notwendig ist, ein starkes und klares politisches Signal zu setzen, indem die Mechanismen zur Einhaltung der Normen gestärkt werden. Die Nichteinhaltung internationaler Normen durch staatliche und nichtstaatliche Akteure muss angeprangert und sanktioniert werden: Es müssen Listen von Staaten und bewaffneten Gruppen erstellt und regelmäßig veröffentlicht werden, und es müssen gezielte Sanktionen gegen Täter sowie politische und militärische Führer verhängt werden, insbesondere auf der Grundlage konfliktbezogener Sexualverbrechen. Diejenigen, die dulden oder anordnen, dass die Körper von Frauen und Mädchen, aber auch von Männern und Jungen zu Schlachtfeldern werden, müssen von der internationalen Gemeinschaft geächtet, mit Reise- und Visumsperren belegt und ihre Vermögenswerte und finanziellen Mittel unverzüglich eingefroren werden.

Schließlich haben wir in den letzten Monaten eine beispiellose Welle der Solidarität und Mobilisierung erlebt, um die Invasion in der Ukraine zu sanktionieren und auf humanitäre Bedürfnisse zu reagieren. Darüber hinaus geben die Forderungen nach einer Dokumentation der Verbrechen und nach Ermittlungen Anlass zur Hoffnung auf ein neues Interesse an der internationalen Justiz. In diesem Zusammenhang fordern wir die Staatengemeinschaft auf, nicht länger mit zweierlei Maß zu messen und zu einem Humanismus der verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten und der variablen Geometrie überzugehen.

Das Leid ist universell, ebenso wie der Bedarf an hochwertiger Pflege und Gerechtigkeit. Es ist an der Zeit, einen echten politischen Willen zu mobilisieren, wenn unsere Menschlichkeit durch Barbarei angegriffen wird, und mit der gleichen Entschlossenheit gegen konfliktbedingte sexuelle Gewalt vorzugehen, wo immer sie auftritt. 

Denis Mukwege

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

International Day to Eliminate Sexual Violence in Conflict 2022

On the occasion of the 8th celebration of the International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict, we wish to express our solidarity with all victims of sexual crimes, we salute the courage of the survivors who fight for their rights, and we launch a solemn appeal to all States to no longer tolerate the use of sexual violence in times of war and to put an end to these serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law that are a disgrace to our humanity.

This date of June 19 commemorates the adoption in 2008 of Security Council Resolution 1820, which, by condemning the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war, constitutes a decisive turning point in the Women, Peace and Security Agenda and in the recognition of conflict-related sexual violence as a threat to collective security, an obstacle to peace-building, and a barrier to the achievement of human rights and the Millennium Development Goals.

Furthermore, rape and other gender-based crimes were rightly codified in the Rome Statute establishing the International Criminal Court as a war crime, a crime against humanity, and even as a constitutive act of genocide.

Today, thanks to this recognition and evolution of the law, no political or military leader can ignore or neglect the fact that it is contrary to international law to use rape and sexual violence as a method of war and a strategy of domination and terror.

Yet, we note with bitterness that political will is often lacking, financial resources are insufficient, and this normative framework struggles to be effective: rape and sexual violence are used in all contemporary conflicts around the world – as in the current situation in Ukraine – resources remain limited to provide quality services to victims, and the culture of impunity enjoyed by the perpetrators and instigators of these despicable acts remains more the norm than the exception.

We therefore once again urge the community of states and donors to mobilize human and financial resources to deal with the consequences of sexual violence committed in times of conflict and to redouble their efforts to prevent the recurrence of these crimes. This means supporting victims with quality, holistic assistance, as well as supporting survivors’ associations. It is also fundamental to fight patriarchy and ensure the promotion of gender equality and women’s active political participation, to carry out gender-sensitive security and justice sector reforms, and to combat the climate of impunity that still largely prevails.

Indeed, we continually advocate for strengthening accountability efforts against perpetrators and sponsors of sexual crimes, through domestic justice and, where there is no capacity and willingness, international criminal justice, as well as for increased state accountability.

The prohibition of rape and sexual violence entails obligations on the part of States, in particular an obligation to protect, which includes criminalizing sexual violence, effectively punishing the perpetrators, and providing adequate reparation to the victims. Only by strengthening accountability, both at the individual and state level, can we prevent the recurrence of crimes and draw a red line against the use of conflict-related sexual violence.

It is in this context that we welcome the historic decision of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, which in 2021 declared the State responsible for violations of the rights of the Colombian journalist Jineth Bedoya, 20 years after she was the victim of kidnapping and sexual abuse.

Finally, we fully support the recommendations of the latest report of the Secretary General of the United Nations and the work of the office of his Special Representative on Sexual Violence in Conflict, which aim to improve the level of compliance of parties to conflict with the norms and resolutions established by the Security Council.

State compliance with the international normative framework put in place since the adoption of Resolution 1325 is so low that it is imperative to send a strong and clear political message by strengthening compliance mechanisms. Non-compliance with international norms by state and non-state actors must be denounced and sanctioned: lists of states and armed groups must be drawn up and published at regular intervals, and targeted sanctions must be applied to perpetrators and political and military leaders, particularly on the basis of conflict-related sexual crimes. Those who tolerate or order the transformation of the bodies of women and girls, as well as men and boys, into battlefields must be ostracized by the international community, have travel and visa bans imposed on them, and their assets and financial resources frozen without further delay.

Finally, in recent months we have seen an unprecedented outpouring of solidarity and mobilization to sanction the invasion of Ukraine and to respond to humanitarian needs. In addition, the calls for documentation of crimes and investigations give hope for a renewed interest in international justice. It is in this context that we call on the community of states to put an end to double standards and to a multi-speed and variable geometry humanism.

Suffering is universal and so are the needs in terms of quality care and justice. It is time to mobilize real political will whenever our humanity is attacked by barbarism and to act with the same firmness against conflict-related sexual violence wherever it occurs. 

Denis Mukwege

Related Content

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]