In Bukavu verurteilen Tausende von Demonstranten die Drohungen gegen Dr. Mukwege

Tausende von Menschen haben am Donnerstag, den 3. September 2020, in den Straßen von Bukavu mobilisiert, um die Drohungen gegen Dr. Denis Mukwege zu verurteilen und seinen Kampf gegen die Straflosigkeit angesichts der schweren Menschenrechtsverletzungen, die in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten begangen werden, zu unterstützen.

Bewohner aus der ganzen Stadt Bukavu und ihrer Umgebung wachten am Donnerstag, den 3. September, früh auf, um dem Aufruf zum friedlichen Marsch zu folgen, einer Initiative, die von der Bürgerbewegung "Réveil des Indignés" gestartet wurde. Seit seinem Tweet, in dem er das Massaker in Kipupu am 16. Juli in Süd-Kivu anprangerte, ist der Friedensnobelpreisträger und Direktor des Panzi-Hospitals Ziel ernsthafter Drohungen geworden.

Mehr als 500 Mitglieder der Nationalen Bewegung der Überlebenden sexueller Gewalt in der DRK begannen ihre Reise am Panzi-Krankenhaus, wo sie Geschenke für Dr. Mukwege hinterließen; andere Demonstranten starteten vom ISP-Kreisverkehr in Bukavu über Nyawera zum Kabinett des Gouverneurs von Süd-Kivu in Nyamoma. In der Menge befanden sich viele Bürgerbewegungen, zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure, Aktivisten, politische Akteure, Überlebende sexueller Gewalt sowie andere Bürger, die gekommen waren, um den Kampf von Dr. Mukwege zu unterstützen, um Nein zur Straflosigkeit zu sagen und zu fordern, dass den schweren Menschenrechtsverletzungen, die in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo begangen wurden und von denen viele im UN Mapping Report aufgeführt sind, Gerechtigkeit widerfahren soll.

Bewaffnet mit Transparenten, die Botschaften der Unterstützung und Forderungen nach Schutz trugen, weigerten sich die Demonstranten, tatenlos zuzusehen, wie Dr. Mukwege mit Drohungen und einer Kampagne der Dämonisierung im In- und Ausland als Reaktion auf den Kampf für Gerechtigkeit, den er geführt hat, angegriffen wird. 

Für die Gruppe Réveil des Indignés und Tausende von Demonstranten ist die Bedrohung von Dr. Mukwege nur eine Hetzjagd derjenigen, die an den Gräueltaten beteiligt sind. "Dr. Mukwege hat sich entschieden, die Grundrechte der Schwachen zu verteidigen. Um dies zu tun, ist er die Stimme aller Opfer von Gewalt geworden. Sein Kampf für Wahrheit, Gerechtigkeit und Menschenrechte hat ihm große Anerkennung und Respekt auf globaler Ebene eingebracht, so dass ihm verschiedene Preise, darunter der Friedensnobelpreis, verliehen wurden. Drohungen gegen ihn auszusprechen mit dem Ziel, ihn zum Schweigen zu bringen, ist gleichbedeutend mit einem Angriff auf unsere Nation und sogar auf die gesamte Menschheit", erklärt ein Demonstrant, Mitglied der Bewegung Réveil des Indignés.

Reagieren Sie auf Hassbotschaften mit Liebe 

Die Frauen des National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in der DRC brachten ihre Unterstützung für Dr. Mukwege mit einer besonderen Geste zum Ausdruck. Mehr als 80 Busse aus Kavumu, Bagira und Bukavu, gefüllt mit Überlebenden, von denen einige von Dr. Mukwege selbst behandelt wurden, stiegen mit Ziegen, Gemüse und anderen Geschenken aus. "Wir sind bereit, unser Leben für den Doktor zu geben", sagten sie vor der Menge und Dr. Mukwege, bevor sie hinzufügten: "Wir sind gekommen, um ihm zu sagen, dass wir, egal was passieren wird, zu ihm stehen, weil er uns geholfen hat, wieder auf die Beine zu kommen", sagt Tatiana Mukanire, die nationale Koordinatorin der Bewegung der Überlebenden.

In seiner Dankesrede an diejenigen, die er als mutige Heldinnen betrachtet, predigte Dr. Mukwege erneut von Liebe und Frieden. Der Mann, der Frauen heilt, rief dazu auf, zu vergeben und nie jemanden zu beleidigen, sondern für die Wahrheit einzustehen: "Wenn ihr für Gerechtigkeit und Frieden kämpft, lernt, die Wahrheit zu sagen. Man kann keine Gerechtigkeit und keinen Frieden haben, ohne die Wahrheit zu sprechen. Selbst wenn wir wie Vögel gejagt werden, wenn wir in der Wahrheit sind, werden wir dort bleiben. Reagieren Sie auf Hass mit Liebe, auf Verleumdung mit Wahrheit, und vergeben Sie denen, die Sie beleidigen. Reagiert auf Hass nicht mit Hass, sondern mit Liebe", forderte er.

bild3.png


Wir sehen uns am 1. Oktober, dem Jahrestag des UN Mapping Report

Mit unerschütterlicher Entschlossenheit rief Dr. Mukwege die fünfhundert Frauen der Überlebenden-Bewegung auf, sich am 1. Oktober 2020, dem zehnten Jahrestag der Veröffentlichung des UN-Mapping-Berichts, erneut zu versammeln. Dr. Mukwege hat wiederholt die Umsetzung der Empfehlungen aus dem Bericht gefordert. Er prangerte das Schweigen um den Bericht sowie die Nichtveröffentlichung der Anhänge an, in denen die Täter schwerer Verbrechen in der DR Kongo genannt werden. "Kommen Sie am 1. Oktober und fordern Sie Gerechtigkeit für alle Kongolesen, die auf die eine oder andere Weise getötet oder betroffen wurden. Lassen Sie die Welt wissen, dass die Frauen der DRC keine repressive, sondern eine reparative Gerechtigkeit fordern." 

Dies ist das erste Mal, dass Dr. Denis Mukwege seit Beginn der Drohungen und der Dämonisierungskampagne gegen ihn öffentlich gesprochen hat. Zu Hause und auf der ganzen Welt sind Botschaften der Unterstützung eingeströmt. Soziale Akteure, Diplomaten, Staatsoberhäupter und sogar Politiker haben dazu aufgerufen, die Sicherheit um denjenigen zu verstärken, der zum Symbol des Kampfes gegen sexuelle Gewalt auf der ganzen Welt geworden ist. 

bild4.png

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

In Bukavu, thousands of demonstrators are denouncing the threats against Dr. Mukwege

Thousands of people mobilized in the streets of Bukavu on Thursday, September 3, 2020 to denounce the threats made against Dr. Denis Mukwege and to support his fight against impunity in the face of grave human rights violations that have been committed in the Democratic Republic of Congo for more than two decades.

Residents from all over the city of Bukavu and its surroundings woke up early Thursday, September 3 to respond to the call to march peacefully, an initiative launched by the citizen movement ‘Réveil des Indignés’. Since his tweet denouncing the massacre that took place in Kipupu on July 16 in South Kivu, the Nobel Peace Prize winner and Director of the Panzi Hospital has been the target of serious threats.

More than 500 members of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC began their journey at the Panzi Hospital where they left gifts for Dr. Mukwege; other demonstrators started from the ISP roundabout in Bukavu through Nyawera to the Cabinet of the Governor of South Kivu in Nyamoma. In the crowd were many citizen movements, civil society actors, activists, political actors, survivors of sexual violence as well as other citizens came to support the fight of Dr. Mukwege to say no to impunity and to demand that justice be made against the serious human rights violations committed in the Democratic Republic of Congo, many of which are listed in the UN Mapping Report.

Armed with banners carrying messages of support and demands for protection, demonstrators refused to stand idly by as Dr. Mukwege is targeted with threats and a campaign of demonization domestically and abroad in response to the fight for justice he has been leading. 

For the group Réveil des Indignés and thousands of demonstrators, threatening Dr. Mukwege is only a headlong rush from those who are involved in the atrocities. “Dr. Mukwege has chosen to defend the fundamental rights of the weak. To do this, he has become the voice of all victims of violence. His fight for truth, justice, and human rights has earned him great recognition and respect at the global level to award him various prizes, including the Nobel Peace Prize. To utter threats against him with the aim of silencing him is tantamount to attacking our nation and even all of humanity,” explains a protester, member of the movement Réveil des Indignés.

Respond to hate messages with love 

The women of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC expressed their support for Dr. Mukwege with a special gesture. More than 80 buses from Kavumu, Bagira, and Bukavu filled with survivors, some of whom were treated by Dr. Mukwege himself, disembarked with goats, vegetables, and other gifts. “We are ready to give our lives for the Doctor,” they said in front of the crowd and Dr. Mukwege before adding: “We came to tell him that no matter what will happen, we are standing with him because he helped us get back on our feet,” says Tatiana Mukanire, the National Coordinator of the Survivors’ Movement.

Speaking to thank those he considers courageous heroines, Dr. Mukwege once again preached of love and peace. The man who mends women called to forgive and to never insult anyone, but to stand up for the truth: “When you fight for justice and peace, learn to speak the truth. You cannot have justice and peace without speaking the truth. Even if we are chased like birds, if we are in the truth, we will stay there. Respond to hatred with love, slander with truth, and forgive those who offend you. Do not respond to hatred with hatred but rather with love,” he urged.

image3.png


See you on October 1, the anniversary of the UN Mapping Report

Dr. Mukwege, with unshaken determination, called for the five hundred women of the Survivors’ Movement to gather again on October 1, 2020, marking the 10th anniversary of the publication of the UN Mapping Report. Dr. Mukwege has repeatedly called for the implementation of the recommendations made in the report. He denounced the silence around the report as well as the non-publication of appendices that cite perpetrators of serious crimes that occurred in the DRC. “On October 1, come and demand justice for all the Congolese who have been killed or affected in one way or another. Let the world know that the women of the DRC are not asking for repressive justice, but for reparative justice.” 

This is the first time that Dr. Denis Mukwege has spoken publicly since the beginning of threats and campaign of demonization against him. At home and around the world, messages of support have poured in. Social actors, diplomats, heads of state and even politicians have called for strengthening security around the one who has become the symbol of the fight against sexual violence throughout the world. 

image4.png

Related Content

Staff Highlight: Dr. Becas Nfundiko

This month, we are featuring Dr. Becas Nfundiko, Panzi Hospital’s Medical Director of Staff. Dr. Nfundiko, who now supervises all of hospital’s medical staff, has been with Panzi Hospital since it’s opening in 1999. We are very excited to be able to interview Dr. Nfundiko to ask him about his work, his inspirations, and what […]

Panzi Foundation Named Recipient of Nicholas Kristof’s 2021 Holiday Impact Prize

WASHINGTON, DC —November 24, 2021— Panzi Foundation today announced that the non-profit has been selected as a recipient of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, an annual gift guide by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof and supported by Focusing Philanthropy. Panzi was founded in 1999 by Dr. Denis Mukwege, […]