在布卡武,数以千计的示威者谴责对穆克韦格医生的威胁。

2020年9月3日星期四,数千人在布卡武街头动员起来,谴责对丹尼斯-穆克维格博士的威胁,并支持他与刚果民主共和国二十多年来发生的严重侵犯人权事件中的有罪不罚现象作斗争。

9月3日星期四,布卡武市及其周边地区的居民早早起床,响应和平游行的号召,这是公民运动 "Réveil des Indignés "发起的一项倡议。自从他在推特上谴责7月16日在南基伍省基普普发生的大屠杀以来,这位诺贝尔和平奖获得者和潘奇医院院长就成为严重威胁的目标。

刚果(金)性暴力幸存者全国运动的500多名成员在潘奇医院开始了他们的旅程,他们在那里给穆克维格博士留下了礼物;其他示威者从布卡武的ISP环形路出发,经过尼亚维拉,前往尼亚莫马的南基伍省长办公室。在人群中,有许多公民运动、民间社会行为者、活动家、政治行为者、性暴力幸存者以及其他公民前来支持穆克维格博士的斗争,对有罪不罚现象说不,并要求对在刚果民主共和国犯下的严重侵犯人权行为伸张正义,其中许多行为已列入联合国的摸底报告。

示威者手持写有支持信息和要求保护的横幅,拒绝对穆克维格博士在国内外受到威胁和妖魔化运动的影响而袖手旁观,因为他一直在领导正义的斗争。 

对于 "愤怒者联盟"(Réveil des Indignés)组织和数千名示威者来说,威胁穆克维格博士只是那些参与暴行的人的当头一棒。"穆克维格博士选择捍卫弱者的基本权利。为了做到这一点,他已经成为所有暴力受害者的代言人。他为真理、正义和人权所做的斗争为他赢得了全球范围内的极大认可和尊重,使他获得了各种奖项,包括诺贝尔和平奖。对他进行威胁,目的是让他闭嘴,这无异于攻击我们的国家,甚至是全人类,"一位抗议者解释说,他是 "愤怒者之路 "运动的成员。

用爱来回应仇恨信息 

刚果民主共和国性暴力幸存者全国运动的妇女们以一种特殊的姿态表达了她们对穆克韦格博士的支持。来自卡武穆、巴吉拉和布卡武的80多辆巴士载着山羊、蔬菜和其他礼物下了车,车上坐满了幸存者,其中一些人曾接受过穆克韦格博士本人的治疗。他们在人群和穆克维格医生面前说:"我们准备为医生献出生命,"然后又说。"幸存者运动的全国协调员塔蒂亚娜-穆卡尼尔说:"我们来告诉他,无论会发生什么,我们都会和他站在一起,因为他帮助我们重新站起来了。

穆克维格博士在感谢那些他认为勇敢的女英雄时,再次宣扬爱与和平。这位修补妇女的人呼吁宽恕,永远不要侮辱任何人,而是要坚持真理:"当你为正义与和平而战时,要学会说真话。不说真话就不可能有正义与和平。即使我们像鸟儿一样被追赶,如果我们在真理中,我们就会留在那里。以爱回应仇恨,以真理回应诽谤,原谅那些冒犯你的人。不要用仇恨回应仇恨,而要用爱回应,"他敦促说。

image3.png


10月1日,联合国绘图报告的周年纪念日见。

穆克维格博士以毫不动摇的决心,呼吁幸存者运动的五百名妇女在2020年10月1日,即联合国摸底报告发表十周年之际再次聚会。穆克维格博士多次呼吁落实报告中提出的建议。他谴责围绕该报告的沉默,以及没有公布列举在刚果民主共和国发生的严重罪行的肇事者的附录。"10月1日,来要求为所有以这种或那种方式被杀害或影响的刚果人伸张正义。让世界知道,刚果民主共和国的妇女不是在要求镇压性的正义,而是要求赔偿性的正义"。 

这是丹尼斯-穆克维格博士自受到威胁和妖魔化运动开始以来首次公开讲话。在国内和世界各地,支持的信息纷至沓来。社会人士、外交官、国家元首甚至政治家都呼吁加强这位已成为全世界打击性暴力的象征的人的安全。 

image4.png

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

In Bukavu, thousands of demonstrators are denouncing the threats against Dr. Mukwege

Thousands of people mobilized in the streets of Bukavu on Thursday, September 3, 2020 to denounce the threats made against Dr. Denis Mukwege and to support his fight against impunity in the face of grave human rights violations that have been committed in the Democratic Republic of Congo for more than two decades.

Residents from all over the city of Bukavu and its surroundings woke up early Thursday, September 3 to respond to the call to march peacefully, an initiative launched by the citizen movement ‘Réveil des Indignés’. Since his tweet denouncing the massacre that took place in Kipupu on July 16 in South Kivu, the Nobel Peace Prize winner and Director of the Panzi Hospital has been the target of serious threats.

More than 500 members of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC began their journey at the Panzi Hospital where they left gifts for Dr. Mukwege; other demonstrators started from the ISP roundabout in Bukavu through Nyawera to the Cabinet of the Governor of South Kivu in Nyamoma. In the crowd were many citizen movements, civil society actors, activists, political actors, survivors of sexual violence as well as other citizens came to support the fight of Dr. Mukwege to say no to impunity and to demand that justice be made against the serious human rights violations committed in the Democratic Republic of Congo, many of which are listed in the UN Mapping Report.

Armed with banners carrying messages of support and demands for protection, demonstrators refused to stand idly by as Dr. Mukwege is targeted with threats and a campaign of demonization domestically and abroad in response to the fight for justice he has been leading. 

For the group Réveil des Indignés and thousands of demonstrators, threatening Dr. Mukwege is only a headlong rush from those who are involved in the atrocities. “Dr. Mukwege has chosen to defend the fundamental rights of the weak. To do this, he has become the voice of all victims of violence. His fight for truth, justice, and human rights has earned him great recognition and respect at the global level to award him various prizes, including the Nobel Peace Prize. To utter threats against him with the aim of silencing him is tantamount to attacking our nation and even all of humanity,” explains a protester, member of the movement Réveil des Indignés.

Respond to hate messages with love 

The women of the National Movement of Survivors of Sexual Violence in the DRC expressed their support for Dr. Mukwege with a special gesture. More than 80 buses from Kavumu, Bagira, and Bukavu filled with survivors, some of whom were treated by Dr. Mukwege himself, disembarked with goats, vegetables, and other gifts. “We are ready to give our lives for the Doctor,” they said in front of the crowd and Dr. Mukwege before adding: “We came to tell him that no matter what will happen, we are standing with him because he helped us get back on our feet,” says Tatiana Mukanire, the National Coordinator of the Survivors’ Movement.

Speaking to thank those he considers courageous heroines, Dr. Mukwege once again preached of love and peace. The man who mends women called to forgive and to never insult anyone, but to stand up for the truth: “When you fight for justice and peace, learn to speak the truth. You cannot have justice and peace without speaking the truth. Even if we are chased like birds, if we are in the truth, we will stay there. Respond to hatred with love, slander with truth, and forgive those who offend you. Do not respond to hatred with hatred but rather with love,” he urged.

image3.png


See you on October 1, the anniversary of the UN Mapping Report

Dr. Mukwege, with unshaken determination, called for the five hundred women of the Survivors’ Movement to gather again on October 1, 2020, marking the 10th anniversary of the publication of the UN Mapping Report. Dr. Mukwege has repeatedly called for the implementation of the recommendations made in the report. He denounced the silence around the report as well as the non-publication of appendices that cite perpetrators of serious crimes that occurred in the DRC. “On October 1, come and demand justice for all the Congolese who have been killed or affected in one way or another. Let the world know that the women of the DRC are not asking for repressive justice, but for reparative justice.” 

This is the first time that Dr. Denis Mukwege has spoken publicly since the beginning of threats and campaign of demonization against him. At home and around the world, messages of support have poured in. Social actors, diplomats, heads of state and even politicians have called for strengthening security around the one who has become the symbol of the fight against sexual violence throughout the world. 

image4.png

Related Content

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]