Das Kongo-Kaffee-Projekt - in Partnerschaft mit Equal Exchange

Ihre morgendliche Tasse Kaffee birgt viel mehr Potenzial, als Ihnen vielleicht bewusst ist.

Kaffee ist eines der beliebtesten Getränke der Welt, doch der meiste Kaffee stammt nicht aus ethischen Quellen. Leider spiegeln die globalen Märkte immer noch das koloniale Erbe des Kaffees wider. Verarbeiter und Händler stecken den Großteil der Gewinne der Kaffeeindustrie ein, ohne die Bauern für ihre Arbeit fair zu bezahlen. Die Menschen, die die Kaffeebohnen für Ihr morgendliches Gebräu angebaut haben, erhalten wahrscheinlich nur einen kleinen Teil des Verkaufspreises.

Kaffeefelder in Bulenga, Demokratische Republik Kongo, wo sich die Kooperative SOPACDI befindet.
Kaffeefelder in Bulenga, Demokratische Republik Kongo, wo sich die Kooperative SOPACDI befindet.

Ein Kaffeebauer in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo zu sein, ist nicht einfach.

Die Kaffeeindustrie in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo wuchs von den 1970er bis 1990er Jahren erheblich. Doch bis 2010 hatten politische Instabilität und Konflikte die Kaffeeproduktion auf weniger als ein Zehntel dessen reduziert, was sie zwanzig Jahre zuvor gewesen war, und die Bauern hatten Schwierigkeiten, ihr Produkt zu einem fairen Preis auf den Markt zu bringen. Während und nach den kongolesischen Kriegen hinderten der Konflikt sowie Strafzölle die Bauern daran, ihre Kaffeebohnen zu exportieren. Stattdessen entscheiden sich viele Bauern dafür, ihre Kaffeebohnen in Ruanda zu einem günstigeren Preis zu verkaufen. Instabilität, Gewalt und sogar die COVID-19-Pandemie haben die Volatilität des Kaffeeanbaus erhöht. Die Bauern können vom Kaffeeanbau oft nicht leben, und die niedrigen Preise, die ihnen von Zwischenhändlern gezahlt werden, führen zu Arbeits- und Umweltverstößen.

Glücklicherweise können wir ein Teil der Lösung sein. 

Equal Exchange wurde nach dem Prinzip gegründet, dass Lebensmittel auf ehrliche und faire Weise gehandelt werden können und Bauern und Verbraucher miteinander verbinden. Anstatt Kaffee und andere Produkte über Zwischenhändler zu kaufen, kaufen sie direkt von Bauernkooperativen und anderen demokratischen Erzeugerorganisationen. Das bedeutet, dass die Landwirte ein Mitspracherecht bei ihren Geschäften haben und mehr vom Gewinn mit nach Hause nehmen. Equal Exchange baut ein demokratisches Lebensmittelsystem auf, indem es Lebensmittel beschafft, die authentisch fair gehandelt sind.

Equal Exchange bietet einen kongolesischen Kaffee an: den Congo Coffee Project Kaffee. Er wird von den Bauern der SOPACDI angebaut, einer multiethnischen und mehrsprachigen Kooperative in der Nähe von Bulenga in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo mit mehr als 11.736 Bauern-Mitgliedern. Die SOPACDI-Bauern erhalten einen fairen Preis für ihre Bohnen und sind durch die demokratische Struktur der Kooperative an kollektiven Entscheidungen beteiligt. Gemeinsam entscheiden sie, wie sie die erhaltenen Fair-Trade-Prämien zum Nutzen ihrer Gemeinschaft einsetzen. Und zusätzlich zur Zahlung von Fair-Trade-Preisen spendet Equal Exchange für jedes verkaufte Pfund Kaffee 1 US-Dollar an die Panzi Foundation.

Eine inspirierende Mischung ostafrikanischer Kaffees, die weich und ausgewogen ist, mit reicher Schokolade, süßer Vanille, braunen Gewürzen und einem Hauch von frischen Beeren.
Eine inspirierende Mischung ostafrikanischer Kaffees, die weich und ausgewogen ist, mit reicher Schokolade, süßer Vanille, braunen Gewürzen und einem Hauch von frischen Beeren.

Im Laufe einer neunjährigen Partnerschaft hat das Congo Coffee Project mehr als 100.000 $ für die Panzi Foundation gesammelt. Diese Spenden fließen in die Kapazitätserweiterung von Panzis One Stop Center in Bulenga sowie in die Verbesserung des Zugangs der Gemeinde zu sauberem Wasser. Das One Stop Center soll Überlebenden von sexueller Gewalt die ganzheitliche Betreuung von Panzi bieten, die medizinische Versorgung, psychosoziale Unterstützung, Rechtshilfe und sozioökonomische Unterstützung umfasst.

Wenn Sie sicher sein wollen, dass Ihr Kaffeekauf lokale Bauern und ihre Gemeinschaft unterstützt, sollten Sie eine Tüte Congo Coffee Project Kaffee kaufen, um kongolesische Bauern und die Panzi Foundation zu unterstützen. Wenn Kaffee nicht Ihr Ding ist, können Sie auch die Auswahl an Schokoladen und Tees von Equal Exchange ausprobieren, die ebenfalls eine ethischere Lieferkette unterstützen.

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

The Congo Coffee Project – in Partnership with Equal Exchange

Your morning cup of coffee holds a lot more potential than you might realize.

Coffee is one of the most popular beverages in the world, yet most coffee isn’t ethically sourced. Unfortunately, the global markets still echo coffee’s colonial legacy. Processors and distributors pocket the majority of the profits of the coffee industry without paying farmers fairly for their labor. The people who grew the coffee beans for your morning brew will likely only receive a small fraction of the retail price.

Coffee fields in Bulenga, Democratic Republic of Congo where the SOPACDI cooperative is located.
Coffee fields in Bulenga, Democratic Republic of Congo where the SOPACDI cooperative is located.

Being a coffee farmer in the DRC hasn’t been easy.

The coffee industry in the DRC grew significantly from the 1970s to 1990s. But by 2010, political instability and conflict had slashed coffee production to less than a tenth of what it had been twenty years earlier, and farmers had difficulty bringing their product to market for a fair price. During and after the Congolese wars, conflict as well as punitive export taxes prevented farmers from exporting their coffee beans in the DRC. Instead, many farmers choose to sell their coffee beans in Rwanda for a cheaper price. Instability, violence, and even the COVID-19 pandemic have all increased the volatility of coffee farming. Farmers often can’t make a living growing coffee, and the low prices they’re paid by middlemen drive labor and environmental abuses.

Fortunately, we can be a part of the solution. 

Equal Exchange was founded on the principle that food can be traded in an honest and fair way, connecting farmers and consumers. Instead of buying coffee and other products through middlemen, they purchase directly from farmer cooperatives and other democratic producer organizations. That means farmers have a decision-making stake in their businesses and take home more of the profits. Equal Exchange is building a democratic food system by sourcing food that is authentically fair trade.

Equal Exchange offers a Congolese coffee: the Congo Coffee Project coffee. It’s grown by the farmers of SOPACDI, a multi-ethnic and multi-lingual cooperative located near Bulenga, DRC with more than 11,736 farmer-members. SOPACDI farmers receive a fair price for their beans and participate in collective decision-making through the cooperative’s democratic structure. Together, they decide how to use the fair trade premiums they receive to benefit their community. And in addition to paying fair trade prices, Equal Exchange donates $1 to the Panzi Foundation for every pound of coffee sold.

An inspirational blend of East African Coffees that is smooth and balanced, with rich chocolate, sweet vanilla, brown spices and a hint of fresh berry.
An inspirational blend of East African Coffees that is smooth and balanced, with rich chocolate, sweet vanilla, brown spices and a hint of fresh berry.

Over the course of a nine year partnership, the Congo Coffee Project has raised more than $100,000 for the Panzi Foundation. These donations go towards increasing the capacity of Panzi’s One Stop Center in Bulenga as well as improving community access to clean water. The One Stop Center is designed to provide survivors of sexual violence with Panzi’s holistic care, which includes medical care, psycho-social support, legal assistance, and socio-economic support.

If you want to have confidence that your coffee purchase is supporting local farmers and their community, consider buying a bag of Congo Coffee Project coffee to support Congolese farmers and the Panzi Foundation. If coffee isn’t your thing, you can also check out Equal Exchange’s selection of chocolates and teas, which also support a more ethical supply chain.

Related Content

Staff Highlight: Dr. Becas Nfundiko

This month, we are featuring Dr. Becas Nfundiko, Panzi Hospital’s Medical Director of Staff. Dr. Nfundiko, who now supervises all of hospital’s medical staff, has been with Panzi Hospital since it’s opening in 1999. We are very excited to be able to interview Dr. Nfundiko to ask him about his work, his inspirations, and what […]

Panzi Foundation Named Recipient of Nicholas Kristof’s 2021 Holiday Impact Prize

WASHINGTON, DC —November 24, 2021— Panzi Foundation today announced that the non-profit has been selected as a recipient of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, an annual gift guide by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof and supported by Focusing Philanthropy. Panzi was founded in 1999 by Dr. Denis Mukwege, […]