Statement von Dr. Denis Mukwege und Louise Arbour, ehemalige Hochkommissarin der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte, zum 10. Jahrestag der Veröffentlichung des Mapping Reports

Bukavu, 1. Oktober 2020 - Erklärung von Dr. Denis Mukwege und Louise Arbour, ehemalige Hochkommissarin der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte, zum 10. Jahrestag der Veröffentlichung des Mapping-Berichts - Ursprünglich auf Französisch in Le Monde veröffentlicht

Seit 25 Jahren befindet sich die Demokratische Republik Kongo (DRK) in einer tiefen politischen und sicherheitspolitischen Krise, die nach wie vor eine ernsthafte Bedrohung für den internationalen Frieden und die Sicherheit darstellt. Kriege, Gewalt und Repressalien haben zu einer der schwersten humanitären Krisen der Neuzeit geführt, die einen hohen Blutzoll fordert: Millionen von Menschen wurden getötet oder vertrieben, Hunderttausende von Frauen vergewaltigt.

Die verschiedenen Versuche, in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo Frieden zu schaffen, haben alle den Keim für neue Konflikte in sich getragen, da kurzfristigen politischen Lösungen Vorrang vor dauerhaften Lösungen eingeräumt wurde. Die Gerechtigkeit wurde auf dem Altar des Friedens geopfert, und in den Sicherheits- und Verteidigungskräften wurde Disziplinlosigkeit aufgebaut, indem diejenigen befördert wurden, die vor nationalen oder internationalen Gerichten hätten zur Rechenschaft gezogen werden müssen. Dies hat katastrophale Folgen für den Schutz der Zivilbevölkerung und untergräbt die Bemühungen um die Schaffung von Rechtsstaatlichkeit.

Dies ist der Grund dafür, dass sich diese Massaker und Vergewaltigungen wiederholen, und erklärt auch weitgehend, warum solche Gräueltaten auch heute noch regelmäßig vorkommen.

Ein aktueller Bericht des Gemeinsamen Büros der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo ist alarmiert über die Verschlechterung der Menschenrechtslage in den Konfliktprovinzen und dokumentiert mehr als 1.300 Todesfälle in der ersten Hälfte dieses Jahres. Das Gebot, für Gerechtigkeit zu sorgen, ist daher eine wesentliche Voraussetzung, um den Kreislauf von Gewalt und Instabilität zu durchbrechen, und eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung, um auf dem Weg zu nachhaltiger Entwicklung und Frieden voranzukommen.


Heute ist der 10. Jahrestag der Veröffentlichung des Mapping-Berichts der Vereinten Nationen über die schwersten Verletzungen der Menschenrechte und des humanitären Völkerrechts, die zwischen 1993 und 2003 auf dem Gebiet der Demokratischen Republik Kongo begangen wurden, einer der dunkelsten Perioden in der modernen Geschichte des Landes. Wir möchten Sie daran erinnern, dass diese sehr detaillierte Bestandsaufnahme - in der 617 gewalttätige Vorfälle aufgelistet sind, die als Kriegsverbrechen, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit oder sogar als Verbrechen des Völkermords eingestuft werden könnten, wenn die Fakten einem zuständigen Gericht zur Kenntnis gebracht würden - nicht unbeantwortet bleiben kann. Zu diesen Verbrechen gehören ein Massaker an Frauen, die lebendig begraben wurden, nachdem sie vergewaltigt und aufgespießt worden waren, an Gemeindemitgliedern, die in Kirchen Zuflucht suchten und stattdessen lebendig verbrannt wurden, und Fälle, in denen Kranke in ihren Krankenhausbetten ermordet wurden.

Wir dürfen nicht vergessen, dass diese von den Vereinten Nationen aufgelisteten Verbrechen unumstößlich sind und keine Immunität geltend gemacht werden kann. Die Schwere dieser Verbrechen sollte das Gewissen der Menschheit erschüttern und darf weder vergessen noch ungesühnt bleiben. Die UN-Experten kamen auch zu dem Schluss, dass die Mittel, die dem kongolesischen Justizsystem zur Verfügung stehen, um der Straflosigkeit dieser internationalen Verbrechen ein Ende zu setzen, "zweifellos unzureichend" sind, und formulierten eine Reihe von Empfehlungen für die kongolesischen Behörden, um das Klima der Straflosigkeit mit Unterstützung der internationalen Gemeinschaft zu durchbrechen.


Diese Empfehlungen untermauern die Notwendigkeit, verschiedene Instrumente der Übergangsjustiz einzusetzen: die Einrichtung eines internationalen Strafgerichtshofs für die Demokratische Republik Kongo und/oder gemischter Spezialkammern innerhalb der kongolesischen Gerichtsbarkeit, die Inanspruchnahme von Mechanismen zur Wahrheitsfindung und Wiedergutmachung und schließlich die Verabschiedung institutioneller Reformen, wie eine ernsthafte Reform des Sicherheits- und Justizsektors und eine Überprüfung von Staatsbediensteten, um sicherzustellen, dass sich Gräueltaten nicht wiederholen.

Wir bedauern, dass bis heute keine Initiative zur Umsetzung dieser Empfehlungen ergriffen wurde, was angesichts der Schwere und des Ausmaßes der begangenen Verbrechen besonders schockierend ist. Wir begrüßen die Zusage von Präsident Tshisekedi - einem Politiker, der mit den Verbrechen der Vergangenheit nichts zu tun hat -, die Straflosigkeit zu bekämpfen. Wir ermutigen ihn, Mechanismen der Übergangsjustiz zu fördern, damit die Opfer der schwersten Verbrechen, die seit Anfang der 1990er Jahre begangen wurden, endlich ihr Recht auf Gerechtigkeit, Wahrheit, Wiedergutmachung und die Garantie der Nichtwiederholung wahrnehmen können.

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement from Dr. Denis Mukwege and Louise Arbour, former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, on the 10th Anniversary of the Publication of the Mapping Report

Bukavu, October 1, 2020 Statement from Dr. Denis Mukwege and Louise Arbour, former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, on the 10th Anniversary of the Publication of the Mapping Report — Originally Published in French in Le Monde

For 25 years, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) has been plunged into a deep political and security crisis, which still constitutes a serious threat to international peace and security. Wars combined with cycles of violence and reprisals have resulted in one of the most serious humanitarian crises of modern times, with a heavy human toll: millions of victims have been killed or displaced, and hundreds of thousands of women have been raped.

Various attempts to establish peace in the DRC have all carried with them the seeds of new conflicts by prioritizing short-term political fixes over durable solutions. Justice has been sacrificed on the altar of peace and indiscipline has been built into the security and defense forces by granting promotions to those who should have been held accountable before national or international courts. This has resulted in disastrous consequences for the protection of civilians and undermined efforts to establish a rule of law.

The perpetrators and instigators of the most serious crimes continue to enjoy impunity, This is the reason these massacres and rapes have recurred, and also largely explains why such atrocities occur regularly even now.

A recent report by the United Nations Joint Office for Human Rights in the DRC is alarmed by the deterioration of the human rights situation in the provinces in conflict, and has documented more than 1,300 deaths during the first half of this year. The imperative to provide justice is therefore an essential prerequisite for breaking the cycle of violence and instability, and is a sine qua non for moving forward on a path of sustainable development and peace.


Today marks the 10th anniversary of the publication of the United Nations Mapping Report on the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed on the territory of the DRC between 1993 and 2003, one of the darkest periods in the country’s modern history. We would like to remind you that this very detailed inventory—which listed 617 violent incidents that could be qualified as war crimes, crimes against humanity, or even the crime of genocide if the facts were brought to the attention of a competent court—cannot remain unanswered. These crimes include a massacre of women buried alive after having been raped and impaled, of congregants who sought refuge in churches and instead were burned alive, and cases in which sick patients were murdered in their hospital beds.

Let us remember, these crimes listed by the United Nations are imprescriptible, and no immunity can be invoked. The severity of these crimes should shock the conscience of humanity, and can neither be forgotten nor go unpunished. UN experts also concluded that the means at the disposal of the Congolese judicial system to put an end to the impunity of these international crimes are “undoubtedly insufficient” and formulated a series of recommendations for Congolese authorities to break the climate of impunity with the support of the international community.


These recommendations support the need to use various tools of transitional justice: establishment of an international criminal court for the DRC and / or mixed specialized chambers within Congolese jurisdictions, recourse to mechanisms for establishing the truth and reparation programs, and finally, adoption of institutional reforms, such as a serious reform of the security and justice sectors and a vetting of public servants to ensure the non-recurrence of atrocities.

We deplore that no initiative has been taken to date to implement these recommendations, which is particularly shocking given the gravity and scale of the crimes committed. We welcome the commitment of President Tshisekedi—a politician unrelated to the crimes of the past—to fight impunity. We encourage him to promote transitional justice mechanisms so that the victims of the most serious crimes committed since the beginning of the 1990s see their rights to justice, truth, reparations, and guarantees of non-repetition finally respected.

Related Content

DRC: PRIORITIZE JUSTICE FOR SERIOUS CRIMES

29 April 2021 New Lukonde Government Should Set Transitional Justice Roadmap (Kinshasa) – The Democratic Republic of Congo’s newly appointed government should adopt a clear strategy for holding those suspected of criminal responsibility for grave human rights violations accountable, a coalition of 50 Congolese and international nongovernmental groups said today. President Felix Tshisekedi’s new government, led […]

Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala

Bukavu, January 5, 2021 — Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala Cliquez ici pour lire en français We salute the commitment of the National Anti-Terrorist Prosecutor’s Office in Paris for having initiated this first indictment pronounced in the framework of a judicial procedure opened on the basis of the UN Mapping […]