声明。丹尼斯-穆克维格博士赞同全球见证组织和大赦国际关于冲突矿产的报告

刚果(金)布卡武)潘奇医院创始人兼医务主任、美国潘奇基金会创始人兼主席丹尼斯-穆克维格博士为全球见证组织和大赦国际今天发布的报告撰写了前言,"......。挖掘透明性."该报告审查和分析了100家公司根据2010年多德-弗兰克法案(第1502条)提交的文件,该法案被称为冲突矿物法。

美国潘氏基金会今天代表穆克韦格博士发表了以下声明,以支持该报告。

 "尽管战争已经正式结束,但暴力仍在继续。我国的大片地区仍然被反叛团体控制,他们利用性暴力作为武器。每周都有更多因强奸而身心受创的妇女和女孩来到我在刚果民主共和国东部的家乡布卡武创建的Panzi医院。作为一名外科医生,我的职责是治愈和修复她们的身体和灵魂。每天,我和我的员工都目睹了性暴力所造成的破坏。它侵犯了身体,往往摧毁了生命。

"这场冲突远远超出了刚果的边界。矿产资源的交易为这种暴行提供了部分资金,并使其火上浇油。其中一些矿物--如黄金、锡和钶钽铁矿--来自于有实施这些攻击历史的武装团体控制的矿区。妇女是主要的劳动力,也是主要的照顾者。通过强奸,武装团体对她们实施控制,同时破坏她们的身体,并试图剥夺她们的人性。 

"如果我们想限制破坏稳定的暴力行为的肇事者所造成的损害,清理成千上万的合法矿工所依赖的矿物贸易是至关重要的。这并不是一项容易的任务。 

"这些法律必须得到执行。那些在刚果犯罪的人必须被绳之以法。必须做更多工作来支持在矿区工作的普通男女的生活。负责任的公司应继续从刚果和其他没有武装团体的高风险地区的矿场采购。我们需要一个无冲突的矿物贸易,将这些资源的利益带给刚果人民。

其中一个最有力的办法是迫使公司照亮他们的供应链,看看谁在每个环节上受益,然后报告他们发现的情况。试图不看就解决这个问题,就像我试图闭着眼睛操作一样"。

### 

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement: Dr. Denis Mukwege Endorses Report on Conflict Minerals by Global Witness and Amnesty International

(BUKAVU, DRC) Dr. Denis Mukwege, Founder and Medical Director of the Panzi Hospital, and Founder and President of the Panzi Foundation USA, authored the foreword for the report released today by Global Witness and Amnesty International “Digging for Transparency.” The report examines and analyzes filings submitted by 100 companies under the 2010 Dodd Frank Act (Section 1502) known as the conflict minerals law.

The Panzi Foundation USA, released the following statement today on behalf of Dr. Mukwege, in support of the report:

 “Violence continues despite the war’s official end. Huge areas of my country remain controlled by rebel groups who use sexual violence as a weapon. More women and girls, physically and psychologically scarred by rape arrive weekly at Panzi, a hospital I founded in my hometown of Bukavu in Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo. As a surgeon, my role is to heal and repair their bodies and souls. Every day, my staff and I witness the devastation sexual violence spreads. It violates the body and often destroys lives.

“This conflict spreads far beyond Congo’s borders. The brutality is partly funded, and fuelled, by the trade in mineral resources. Some of these minerals – such as gold, tin, and coltan – come from mines controlled by armed groups with a history of carrying out these attacks. Women are the primary labor force and the primary caregivers. Through rape, the armed groups exert control over them while destroying their bodies and trying to rob them of their humanity. 

“Cleaning up the minerals trade, on which thousands of legitimate miners depend, is vital if we want to limit the damage done by the perpetrators of the destabilizing violence. It is not an easy task. 

“These laws must be enforced. Those guilty of crimes in Congo must be brought to justice. More must be done to support the lives of ordinary men and women who work in the mines. Responsible companies should continue to source from mines in Congo and other high-risk areas that are free from armed groups. We need a conflict-free minerals trade that brings benefits from these resources to the people of Congo.

One of the most powerful is to compel companies to shine a light on their supply chains to see who is benefiting at each step and then report on what they find. To try to solve this problem without looking would be like me trying to operate with my eyes closed.”

### 

Related Content

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]