穆克维格博士就最近在伊图里和北基伍发生的大屠杀发表声明 - 9/09/2021

我们惊恐地获悉最近在北基伍和伊图里发生的屠杀事件。 2021年8月27日在贝尼县至少有19名平民被杀,而2021年9月3日在伊鲁穆县至少有30名平民被刀子和钝器屠杀,这些攻击是民主同盟军民兵所为。 

这个地区的人民生活在恐惧和恐怖之中。他们日常生活的特点是发生了难以想象的暴行,深深震撼了人类的良知:大规模屠杀、烧毁村庄、抢劫和以极端暴力方式实施的强奸。自2013年以来,被这一武装团体杀害的平民人数已接近6000人,尽管有联刚稳定团和干预旅的存在,他们根据联合国第七章授权采取一切必要的军事手段来维持或恢复国际和平与安全,支持刚果民主共和国武装部队。  

这种悲惨和可耻的情况再也不能容忍了。在其他情况下,犯下这些最严重的罪行会引起国际刑事司法的干预,但在一个双重标准盛行的国际社会中,这些使我国每天陷入悲痛的大规模暴行却被漠视,引起了我们最深切的愤慨。  

尽管南北基伍和伊图里处于围困状态,但这些省份的安全局势似乎并没有改善,平民百姓正在忍受的戏剧性人道主义危机正在变成我们的人性危机。 

这个地区几十年来一直受到武装冲突的影响,如果考虑到刚果民主共和国的520万流离失所者,该地区的局势是世界上第二严重的人道主义危机。此外,过去25年蹂躏我国的冲突是第二次世界大战以来死亡人数最多的一次。

面对政治和安全解决方案的失败,我们相信,通往持久和平的道路将涉及使用所有过渡时期司法机制。事实上,与任何人民一样,大规模暴行的刚果受害者和整个刚果社会都有权根据联合国人权事务高级专员办事处近11年前发表的《摸底报告》中的建议,了解真相、伸张正义、获得赔偿和保证暴行不再发生。 

由于世界领导人即将在一年一度的联合国大会上发言,我们敦促共和国总统表现出真正的政治意愿,将打击有罪不罚现象和利用过渡时期司法作为联刚稳定团撤离战略的核心。我们请他寻求联合国的援助,并通过一项安全理事会决议,毫不拖延地建立一个纳入联合国联合人权办公室的调查小组,包括法医人类学专家,以挖掘该国东部的众多万人坑,并收集和保存可能构成战争罪、危害人类罪和在刚果民主共和国犯下的灭绝种族罪的行为证据。 

此外,现在是时候了,国家元首应具体承诺通过一项过渡时期司法的整体国家战略,并明确要求联合国为刚果民主共和国设立国际刑事法院,并支持设立专门的混合法庭,为最严重罪行的受害者伸张正义,结束自1990年代以来助长我国冲突的有罪不罚文化。 

Denis Mukwege博士

2018年诺贝尔和平奖

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the recent massacres in Ituri and North Kivu – 9/09/2021

It is with horror that we have learned of the recent killings in North Kivu and Ituri.  While at least 19 civilians were killed on August 27, 2021 in Beni Territory, at least 30 civilians were massacred with knives and blunt weapons on September 3, 2021 in Irumu Territory in attacks attributed to Allied Democratic Forces (ADF) militiamen. 

The people of this region live in fear and horror. Their daily lives have been characterized by atrocities that defy imagination and deeply shock the human conscience: large-scale massacres, village burnings, looting, and rapes committed with extreme violence. The number of civilians killed by this armed group has approached 6,000 since 2013, despite the presence of MONUSCO and the Intervention Brigade, which operate in support of the DRC Armed Forces on the basis of Chapter VII of the United Nations, which authorizes all military means necessary to maintain or restore international peace and security.  

This tragic and scandalous situation is no longer tolerable. Under other skies, the commission of these most serious crimes would mobilize the intervention of international criminal justice, but in an international community where double standards reign, these mass atrocities that plunge our Nation into mourning every day are committed with an indifference that raises our deepest indignation.  

Despite the state of siege in the Kivus and Ituri, the security situation does not seem to be improving in these provinces, and the dramatic humanitarian crisis that the civilian population is enduring is turning into a crisis of our humanity. 

The situation in this region, which has been affected by armed conflict for decades, is the second most serious humanitarian crisis in the world, when one takes into account the 5.2 million displaced persons in the DRC. In addition, the conflicts that have ravaged our country for the past 25 years have been the deadliest since World War II. 

In the face of the failure of political and security solutions, we are convinced that the path to lasting peace will involve the use of all the mechanisms of transitional justice. Indeed, like any people, the Congolese victims of mass atrocities and Congolese society as a whole have the right to truth, justice, reparations and guarantees of non-recurrence of atrocities, in accordance with the recommendations made in the Mapping Report, published almost 11 years ago by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. 

As world leaders will soon address the annual United Nations General Assembly, we urge the President of the Republic to demonstrate real political will to place the fight against impunity and the use of transitional justice at the heart of MONUSCO’s exit strategy. We invite him to seek the assistance of the United Nations and the adoption of a Security Council resolution to put in place without delay a team of investigators integrated into the United Nations Joint Human Rights Office, including experts in forensic anthropology, to exhume the numerous mass graves in the east of the country and to collect and preserve evidence of acts that may constitute war crimes, crimes against humanity and crimes of genocide perpetrated in the DRC. 

In addition, the time has come for the Head of State to make concrete his commitment to adopt a holistic national strategy for transitional justice and to expressly ask the United Nations to establish an International Criminal Court for the DRC and to support the establishment of specialized mixed chambers to bring justice to the victims of the most serious crimes and to put an end to the culture of impunity that has fueled the conflicts in our country since the 1990s. 

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Nobel Peace Prize 2018

Related Content

Panzi Foundation is Saddened to Announce the Passing of Nita Evele

It is with deep and profound sadness that Panzi Foundation announces the unexpected passing of the Chair of its United States Board of Directors, Mrs. Nita Evele. Mrs. Evele was a passionate and dedicated human rights defender and activist who cared deeply about the future of her home country, the Democratic Republic of Congo. “I […]