Erklärung von Dr. Mukwege zu den jüngsten Massakern in Ituri und Nord-Kivu - 9/09/2021

Mit Entsetzen haben wir von den jüngsten Tötungen in Nord-Kivu und Ituri erfahren. Während am 27. August 2021 mindestens 19 Zivilisten im Beni-Territorium getötet wurden, wurden am 3. September 2021 mindestens 30 Zivilisten im Irumu-Territorium mit Messern und stumpfen Waffen bei Angriffen massakriert, die Milizionären der Alliierten Demokratischen Kräfte (ADF) zugeschrieben werden. 

Die Menschen in dieser Region leben in Angst und Schrecken. Ihr Alltag ist geprägt von Grausamkeiten, die jede Vorstellungskraft übersteigen und das menschliche Gewissen zutiefst erschüttern: Massaker in großem Stil, Dorfverbrennungen, Plünderungen und Vergewaltigungen, die mit äußerster Gewalt begangen werden. Die Zahl der von dieser bewaffneten Gruppe getöteten Zivilisten hat sich seit 2013 der Zahl von 6.000 angenähert, und das trotz der Präsenz der MONUSCO und der Interventionsbrigade, die zur Unterstützung der Streitkräfte der DRK auf der Grundlage von Kapitel VII der Vereinten Nationen operieren, das alle erforderlichen militärischen Mittel zur Wahrung oder Wiederherstellung des Weltfriedens und der internationalen Sicherheit zulässt.  

Diese tragische und skandalöse Situation ist nicht länger hinnehmbar. Unter anderen Umständen würde die Begehung dieser schwersten Verbrechen die internationale Strafjustiz auf den Plan rufen, aber in einer internationalen Gemeinschaft, in der mit zweierlei Maß gemessen wird, werden diese massenhaften Gräueltaten, die unsere Nation jeden Tag in Trauer versetzen, mit einer Gleichgültigkeit begangen, die unsere tiefste Empörung hervorruft.  

Trotz des Belagerungszustandes in den Kivus und Ituri scheint sich die Sicherheitslage in diesen Provinzen nicht zu verbessern, und die dramatische humanitäre Krise, die die Zivilbevölkerung erleidet, wird zu einer Krise unserer Menschlichkeit. 

Die Lage in dieser Region, die seit Jahrzehnten von bewaffneten Konflikten heimgesucht wird, ist die zweitschlimmste humanitäre Krise der Welt, wenn man die 5,2 Millionen Vertriebenen in der DRK berücksichtigt. Darüber hinaus sind die Konflikte, die unser Land in den letzten 25 Jahren heimgesucht haben, die tödlichsten seit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Angesichts des Scheiterns politischer und sicherheitspolitischer Lösungen sind wir davon überzeugt, dass der Weg zu einem dauerhaften Frieden über die Anwendung aller Mechanismen der Übergangsjustiz führen wird. Wie jedes Volk haben die kongolesischen Opfer von Massengrausamkeiten und die kongolesische Gesellschaft als Ganzes das Recht auf Wahrheit, Gerechtigkeit, Wiedergutmachung und Garantien für die Nichtwiederholung von Grausamkeiten gemäß den Empfehlungen des Mapping-Berichts, der vor fast 11 Jahren vom Büro des Hohen Kommissars der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte veröffentlicht wurde. 

Da die Staats- und Regierungschefs der Welt in Kürze vor der jährlichen Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen sprechen werden, fordern wir den Präsidenten der Republik nachdrücklich auf, echten politischen Willen zu zeigen, um die Bekämpfung der Straflosigkeit und die Anwendung von Übergangsjustiz in den Mittelpunkt der Strategie für den Rückzug der MONUSCO zu stellen. Wir fordern ihn auf, die Vereinten Nationen um Unterstützung zu ersuchen und eine Resolution des Sicherheitsrates zu verabschieden, um unverzüglich ein in das Gemeinsame Menschenrechtsbüro der Vereinten Nationen integriertes Untersuchungsteam einzusetzen, dem auch Experten für forensische Anthropologie angehören, um die zahlreichen Massengräber im Osten des Landes zu exhumieren und Beweise für die in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo begangenen Kriegsverbrechen, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und Verbrechen des Völkermords zu sammeln und zu sichern. 

Darüber hinaus ist es an der Zeit, dass der Staatschef seine Zusage konkretisiert, eine ganzheitliche nationale Strategie für die Übergangsjustiz zu verabschieden und die Vereinten Nationen ausdrücklich aufzufordern, einen Internationalen Strafgerichtshof für die Demokratische Republik Kongo einzurichten und die Einrichtung spezialisierter gemischter Kammern zu unterstützen, um den Opfern der schwersten Verbrechen Gerechtigkeit widerfahren zu lassen und der Kultur der Straflosigkeit, die die Konflikte in unserem Land seit den 1990er Jahren geschürt hat, ein Ende zu setzen. 

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Friedensnobelpreis 2018

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the recent massacres in Ituri and North Kivu – 9/09/2021

It is with horror that we have learned of the recent killings in North Kivu and Ituri.  While at least 19 civilians were killed on August 27, 2021 in Beni Territory, at least 30 civilians were massacred with knives and blunt weapons on September 3, 2021 in Irumu Territory in attacks attributed to Allied Democratic Forces (ADF) militiamen. 

The people of this region live in fear and horror. Their daily lives have been characterized by atrocities that defy imagination and deeply shock the human conscience: large-scale massacres, village burnings, looting, and rapes committed with extreme violence. The number of civilians killed by this armed group has approached 6,000 since 2013, despite the presence of MONUSCO and the Intervention Brigade, which operate in support of the DRC Armed Forces on the basis of Chapter VII of the United Nations, which authorizes all military means necessary to maintain or restore international peace and security.  

This tragic and scandalous situation is no longer tolerable. Under other skies, the commission of these most serious crimes would mobilize the intervention of international criminal justice, but in an international community where double standards reign, these mass atrocities that plunge our Nation into mourning every day are committed with an indifference that raises our deepest indignation.  

Despite the state of siege in the Kivus and Ituri, the security situation does not seem to be improving in these provinces, and the dramatic humanitarian crisis that the civilian population is enduring is turning into a crisis of our humanity. 

The situation in this region, which has been affected by armed conflict for decades, is the second most serious humanitarian crisis in the world, when one takes into account the 5.2 million displaced persons in the DRC. In addition, the conflicts that have ravaged our country for the past 25 years have been the deadliest since World War II. 

In the face of the failure of political and security solutions, we are convinced that the path to lasting peace will involve the use of all the mechanisms of transitional justice. Indeed, like any people, the Congolese victims of mass atrocities and Congolese society as a whole have the right to truth, justice, reparations and guarantees of non-recurrence of atrocities, in accordance with the recommendations made in the Mapping Report, published almost 11 years ago by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. 

As world leaders will soon address the annual United Nations General Assembly, we urge the President of the Republic to demonstrate real political will to place the fight against impunity and the use of transitional justice at the heart of MONUSCO’s exit strategy. We invite him to seek the assistance of the United Nations and the adoption of a Security Council resolution to put in place without delay a team of investigators integrated into the United Nations Joint Human Rights Office, including experts in forensic anthropology, to exhume the numerous mass graves in the east of the country and to collect and preserve evidence of acts that may constitute war crimes, crimes against humanity and crimes of genocide perpetrated in the DRC. 

In addition, the time has come for the Head of State to make concrete his commitment to adopt a holistic national strategy for transitional justice and to expressly ask the United Nations to establish an International Criminal Court for the DRC and to support the establishment of specialized mixed chambers to bring justice to the victims of the most serious crimes and to put an end to the culture of impunity that has fueled the conflicts in our country since the 1990s. 

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Nobel Peace Prize 2018

Related Content

Panzi Foundation is Saddened to Announce the Passing of Nita Evele

It is with deep and profound sadness that Panzi Foundation announces the unexpected passing of the Chair of its United States Board of Directors, Mrs. Nita Evele. Mrs. Evele was a passionate and dedicated human rights defender and activist who cared deeply about the future of her home country, the Democratic Republic of Congo. “I […]