丹尼斯-穆克维格博士关于国际正义日的声明

布卡武,2020年7月17日 - 丹尼斯-穆克维格博士关于国际正义日的声明

今天,我们庆祝国际正义日,以纪念《国际刑事法院罗马规约》的通过。我们对所有暴行的受害者、所有寻求正义的人以及所有为捍卫自己的权利和反对有罪不罚现象而斗争的人表示同情。

国际正义日对于在全球冲突中经历过性暴力的幸存者来说意义重大,因为正义对于所有遭受过暴力和虐待的人来说都是至关重要的。事实上,当我们询问性暴力的幸存者他们最大的愿望时,许多人表示他们希望得到正义。

 此外,正义是幸存者治愈创伤和重新融入社区和社会道路上的关键一步,因为它使人们有可能认识到加诸在他们身上的罪恶。它还将这种负担和耻辱从受害者的肩上转移到肇事者的肩上。

 然而,在整个历史上,战时性暴力一直是一种看不见的、被忽视的罪行。它往往被认为是战争中不可避免的附带损害,在国内和国际刑事诉讼中基本没有。长期以来,强奸和其他与冲突有关的性暴力形式的肇事者逍遥法外一直是惯例而不是例外。

 卢旺达和前南斯拉夫的特设国际刑事法庭的规约和判例法在承认强奸和其他形式的性侵犯为战争罪和危害人类罪方面取得了重大进展。特别是,Akayesu 案是国际刑事司法的一个历史性先例,承认强奸可以是种族灭绝罪的一个组成部分。

 1998年7月17日,《国际刑事法院罗马规约》将强奸和其他性暴力行为编纂为影响整个国际社会的最严重罪行的一部分。

 随着幸存者的声音被释放,越来越多的人打破了沉默--这是犯罪者的绝对武器--近几十年来发展起来的规范和制度框架还没有在国际层面上导致许多谴责。它还没有改变对性犯罪仍然普遍存在的有罪不罚的模式。

 尽管关于性暴力和基于性别的暴力的国际刑事判例最近有所发展,包括Ntanganda案(导致国际刑事法院根据性暴力罪行定罪),但很少有幸存者能够诉诸国际刑事司法,国际刑事司法仍然主要集中在犯罪者身上。

 未来的国际和国内立法改革将需要更加关注针对不同性别的调查程序,这将增加强奸指控的频率,并在冲突和和平时期获得更多成功的起诉。 

 这个国际正义日对刚果人民来说也非常有意义。

自20世纪90年代初以来,刚果民主共和国(DRC)一直受到众多地区和内部冲突的困扰。循环往复的暴力造成数百万人死亡,整个社区流离失所,并导致数十万起强奸案。

这些大规模的暴行大多是在普遍的有罪不罚的氛围下发生的:正义被短期的政治协议牺牲在和平的祭坛上,今天,刚果人民既没有和平,也没有正义。

整整10年前,联合国人权事务高级专员办事处发表了《摸底报告 》,记录了1993年3月至2003年6月期间在刚果民主共和国(DRC)境内发生的最严重的侵犯人权和国际人道主义法行为。

这份报告确定了617项战争罪和反人类罪的清单。如果提交给主管法院,《摸底报告》 中记录的一些暴行可以构成种族灭绝罪。

 到目前为止,这份报告中的建议都没有得到落实。由于国际刑事法院只对2002年7月后犯下的罪行拥有管辖权,并且考虑到刚果民主共和国冲突的区域性问题(各种外国军队和反叛团体都进行了干预,也必须承担责任),我们正在利用这个国际正义日敦促刚果当局和国际社会建立一个刚果民主共和国国际法庭和/或混合法庭,该法庭可以管辖1990年代初至今的案件。 

我们还呼吁支持建立真相调查机制、赔偿方案以及对刚果民主共和国的安全和司法部门进行深远的改革。

现在是发掘《摸底报告》并执行其建议的时候了--昨天和今天的受害者有权获得正义,了解真相,获得赔偿,并保证这些大规模的暴行不会再发生。这不应该让任何人无动于衷,必须促使刚果当局和国际社会采取强有力的行动。

因此,我们不仅要向许多最严重罪行的受害者和幸存者表示敬意,为他们寻求正义,而且还要为在非洲大湖区建立持久和平,为一个更有尊严和公正的世界的到来作出贡献。

Denis Mukwege博士

2018年诺贝尔和平奖获得者

相关内容

Initiative Humanitaire AuroraPrix Aurora pour l’éveil de l’humanité

Mesdames et Messieurs, C’est avec une profonde humilité et responsabilité que j’accepte le Prix Aurora pour l’éveil de l’humanité. Cet honneur reconnaît non seulement nos luttes communes, mais amplifie également les voix de ceux qui ont souffert en silence et dont les appels à la justice restent souvent ignorés. Au cœur de mon Congo bien-aimé, […]

Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the International Justice Day

Bukavu July 17, 2020 — Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the International Justice Day

Today we recognize International Justice Day, which commemorates the adoption of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC). Our thoughts are with all the victims of atrocities, all those in who seek justice, and all those who are fighting to defend their rights and against impunity.

International Justice Day is meaningful for survivors who have experienced sexual violence in conflicts around the globe, as justice is essential for all those who have been victims of violence and abuse. Indeed, when we ask survivors of sexual violence about their greatest aspirations, many express their desire that to receive justice.

 In addition, justice is a crucial step on the path to healing for survivors and their reintegration into the community and society, because it makes it possible to recognize the evil which has been inflicted upon them. It also transfers that burden and shame from the shoulders of the victims to those of perpetrators.

 Yet wartime sexual violence has been an invisible and overlooked crime throughout history. It is often considered to be inevitable collateral damage from war and is largely absent from both domestic and international criminal prosecutions. For too long, impunity for perpetrators of rape and other conflict-related forms of sexual violence has been the rule rather than the exception.

 The statutes and case law of the ad hoc international criminal tribunals in Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia have led to major advances towards the recognition of rape and other forms of sexual assault as war crimes and crimes against l humanity. In particular, the Akayesu case represents a historic precedent in international criminal justice, recognizing that rape can be a component of the crime of genocide.

 On July 17, 1998, the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court codified rape and other acts of sexual violence as part of the most serious crimes affecting the entire international community.

 As the voices of survivors are freed and more and more break the silence – this absolute weapon of the perpetrators – the normative and institutional framework which has evolved in recent decades has not yet resulted in many condemnations at the international level. It has yet to change the paradigm of impunity which still prevails widely over sexual crimes.

 Despite recent developments in international criminal jurisprudence on sexual and gender-based violence, including the Ntanganda case (which led to an ICC conviction on the basis of crimes of sexual violence), very few survivors have access to international criminal justice, which remains mainly centered on the perpetrators.

 Future legislative reforms, both international and domestic, will need to focus more on gender-specific investigation procedures, which will increase the frequency of rape charges and obtain more successful prosecutions, both in conflict and in peacetime. 

 This International Justice Day is also very meaningful for the Congolese people.

Since the early 1990s, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) has been plagued by a multitude of regional and internal conflicts. Cycles of violence that have caused millions of deaths and displaced entire communities, and resulted in hundreds of thousands of rapes.

These mass atrocities were mostly committed in a climate of generalized impunity: justice was sacrificed on the altar of peace by short-term political agreements and today, the Congolese people have neither peace nor justice.

Exactly 10 years ago, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights published the Mapping Report which documents the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the Democratic Republic Congo (DRC) between March 1993 and June 2003.

This report established an inventory of 617 war crimes and crimes against humanity. If brought before a competent court, some of the atrocities documented in the Mapping Report could constitute the crime of genocide.

 To date, none of the recommendations contained in this report have been implemented. As the ICC only hast jurisdiction for crimes committed after July 2002 and given the regional dimension of the conflict in the DRC (where various foreign armies and rebel groups have intervened and must also be held accountable) we are taking advantage of this International Justice Day to urge the Congolese authorities and the international community to create an International Tribunal for the DRC and/or mixed chambers which can be competent from the early 1990s to the present day. 

We also call for support for the establishment of truth-finding mechanisms, reparation programs and far-reaching reforms of the security and justice sectors in the DRC.

The time has come to unearth the Mapping Report and to implement its recommendations—the victims of yesterday and today have the right to justice, to the truth, to reparation, and to guarantees that these mass atrocities will not be repeated. This should not leave anyone indifferent and must prompt strong action from both the Congolese authorities and the international community.

Thus, we will not only pay tribute to the many victims and survivors of the most serious crimes in their quest for justice, but we will also contribute to the establishment of lasting peace in the African Great Lakes region and to the advent of a more dignified and just world.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

2018 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Related Content

DR Congo: Blinken Visit Tests US Support for Democracy, Rights

Focus on Elections, Repression, Corruption, Rampant Violence in East (Washington, DC) – United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken should publicly promote free and fair elections, respect for human rights, and anti-corruption efforts during his visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo on August 9 and 10, 2022, 17 US and Congolese organizations and experts said today. […]

Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the violent incidents at the MONUSCO offices in Goma

It is with great desolation that I discovered the images of the unfortunate incidents that occurred at various MONUSCO bases in Goma yesterday, Monday, July 25, 2022. Some offices were ransacked and equipment looted. Protesters were violently repressed. This is deplorable. I sympathize with the plight of MONUSCO and the trauma of its staff. I […]