Déclaration du Dr Denis Mukwege à l'occasion de la Journée internationale de la justice

Bukavu le 17 juillet 2020 - Déclaration du Dr Denis Mukwege à l'occasion de la Journée internationale de la justice

Nous célébrons aujourd'hui la Journée de la justice internationale, qui commémore l'adoption du Statut de Rome de la Cour pénale internationale (CPI). Nos pensées vont à toutes les victimes d'atrocités, à tous ceux qui cherchent à obtenir justice et à tous ceux qui luttent pour défendre leurs droits et contre l'impunité.

La Journée internationale de la justice prend tout son sens pour les survivants qui ont subi des violences sexuelles lors de conflits dans le monde entier, car la justice est essentielle pour tous ceux qui ont été victimes de violences et d'abus. En effet, lorsque nous demandons aux survivants de violences sexuelles quelles sont leurs plus grandes aspirations, beaucoup d'entre eux expriment leur désir de recevoir justice.

 En outre, la justice est une étape cruciale sur le chemin de la guérison des survivants et de leur réintégration dans la communauté et la société, car elle permet de reconnaître le mal qui leur a été infligé. Elle transfère également ce fardeau et cette honte des épaules des victimes à celles des auteurs.

 Pourtant, la violence sexuelle en temps de guerre a été un crime invisible et négligé tout au long de l'histoire. Elle est souvent considérée comme un dommage collatéral inévitable de la guerre et est largement absente des poursuites pénales nationales et internationales. Pendant trop longtemps, l'impunité des auteurs de viols et d'autres formes de violence sexuelle liées aux conflits a été la règle plutôt que l'exception.

 Les statuts et la jurisprudence des tribunaux pénaux internationaux ad hoc au Rwanda et en ex-Yougoslavie ont permis des avancées majeures vers la reconnaissance du viol et d'autres formes d'agression sexuelle comme crimes de guerre et crimes contre l'humanité. En particulier, l'affaire Akayesu représente un précédent historique dans la justice pénale internationale, en reconnaissant que le viol peut être une composante du crime de génocide.

 Le 17 juillet 1998, le Statut de Rome de la Cour pénale internationale a codifié le viol et les autres actes de violence sexuelle comme faisant partie des crimes les plus graves touchant l'ensemble de la communauté internationale.

 Alors que les voix des survivants se libèrent et que de plus en plus de personnes brisent le silence - cette arme absolue des auteurs - le cadre normatif et institutionnel qui a évolué au cours des dernières décennies n'a pas encore donné lieu à de nombreuses condamnations au niveau international. Il n'a pas encore changé le paradigme de l'impunité qui prévaut encore largement sur les crimes sexuels.

 Malgré les récents développements de la jurisprudence pénale internationale en matière de violence sexuelle et sexiste, notamment l'affaire Ntanganda (qui a conduit à une condamnation de la CPI sur la base de crimes de violence sexuelle), très peu de survivants ont accès à la justice pénale internationale, qui reste principalement centrée sur les auteurs.

 Les futures réformes législatives, tant internationales que nationales, devront se concentrer davantage sur les procédures d'enquête sexospécifiques, ce qui permettra d'augmenter la fréquence des accusations de viol et d'obtenir des poursuites plus fructueuses, tant en période de conflit qu'en temps de paix. 

 Cette journée internationale de la justice est également très significative pour le peuple congolais.

Depuis le début des années 1990, la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) est en proie à une multitude de conflits régionaux et internes. Des cycles de violence qui ont causé des millions de morts, déplacé des communautés entières et entraîné des centaines de milliers de viols.

Ces atrocités de masse ont pour la plupart été commises dans un climat d'impunité généralisée : la justice a été sacrifiée sur l'autel de la paix par des accords politiques à court terme et aujourd'hui, le peuple congolais n'a ni paix ni justice.

Il y a exactement 10 ans, le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l'homme publiait le Rapport Mapping qui documente les plus graves violations des droits de l'homme et du droit international humanitaire commises sur le territoire de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) entre mars 1993 et juin 2003.

Ce rapport a établi un inventaire de 617 crimes de guerre et crimes contre l'humanité. Si elles étaient portées devant un tribunal compétent, certaines des atrocités documentées dans le Rapport Mapping pourraient constituer le crime de génocide.

 A ce jour, aucune des recommandations contenues dans ce rapport n'a été mise en œuvre. Étant donné que la CPI n'est compétente que pour les crimes commis après juillet 2002 et compte tenu de la dimension régionale du conflit en RDC (où diverses armées étrangères et groupes rebelles sont intervenus et doivent également répondre de leurs actes), nous profitons de cette Journée de la justice internationale pour demander instamment aux autorités congolaises et à la communauté internationale de créer un Tribunal international pour la RDC et/ou des chambres mixtes qui puissent être compétents du début des années 1990 à aujourd'hui. 

Nous appelons également à soutenir la mise en place de mécanismes de recherche de la vérité, de programmes de réparation et de réformes profondes des secteurs de la sécurité et de la justice en RDC.

Le temps est venu d'exhumer le Rapport Mapping et de mettre en œuvre ses recommandations. Les victimes d'hier et d'aujourd'hui ont droit à la justice, à la vérité, à des réparations et à des garanties que ces atrocités de masse ne se reproduiront plus. Cela ne doit laisser personne indifférent et doit susciter des actions fortes tant de la part des autorités congolaises que de la communauté internationale.

Ainsi, nous rendrons non seulement hommage aux nombreuses victimes et survivants des crimes les plus graves dans leur quête de justice, mais nous contribuerons également à l'établissement d'une paix durable dans la région des Grands Lacs africains et à l'avènement d'un monde plus digne et plus juste.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Lauréat du prix Nobel de la paix 2018

Contenu similaire

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the International Justice Day

Bukavu July 17, 2020 — Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the International Justice Day

Today we recognize International Justice Day, which commemorates the adoption of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC). Our thoughts are with all the victims of atrocities, all those in who seek justice, and all those who are fighting to defend their rights and against impunity.

International Justice Day is meaningful for survivors who have experienced sexual violence in conflicts around the globe, as justice is essential for all those who have been victims of violence and abuse. Indeed, when we ask survivors of sexual violence about their greatest aspirations, many express their desire that to receive justice.

 In addition, justice is a crucial step on the path to healing for survivors and their reintegration into the community and society, because it makes it possible to recognize the evil which has been inflicted upon them. It also transfers that burden and shame from the shoulders of the victims to those of perpetrators.

 Yet wartime sexual violence has been an invisible and overlooked crime throughout history. It is often considered to be inevitable collateral damage from war and is largely absent from both domestic and international criminal prosecutions. For too long, impunity for perpetrators of rape and other conflict-related forms of sexual violence has been the rule rather than the exception.

 The statutes and case law of the ad hoc international criminal tribunals in Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia have led to major advances towards the recognition of rape and other forms of sexual assault as war crimes and crimes against l humanity. In particular, the Akayesu case represents a historic precedent in international criminal justice, recognizing that rape can be a component of the crime of genocide.

 On July 17, 1998, the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court codified rape and other acts of sexual violence as part of the most serious crimes affecting the entire international community.

 As the voices of survivors are freed and more and more break the silence – this absolute weapon of the perpetrators – the normative and institutional framework which has evolved in recent decades has not yet resulted in many condemnations at the international level. It has yet to change the paradigm of impunity which still prevails widely over sexual crimes.

 Despite recent developments in international criminal jurisprudence on sexual and gender-based violence, including the Ntanganda case (which led to an ICC conviction on the basis of crimes of sexual violence), very few survivors have access to international criminal justice, which remains mainly centered on the perpetrators.

 Future legislative reforms, both international and domestic, will need to focus more on gender-specific investigation procedures, which will increase the frequency of rape charges and obtain more successful prosecutions, both in conflict and in peacetime. 

 This International Justice Day is also very meaningful for the Congolese people.

Since the early 1990s, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) has been plagued by a multitude of regional and internal conflicts. Cycles of violence that have caused millions of deaths and displaced entire communities, and resulted in hundreds of thousands of rapes.

These mass atrocities were mostly committed in a climate of generalized impunity: justice was sacrificed on the altar of peace by short-term political agreements and today, the Congolese people have neither peace nor justice.

Exactly 10 years ago, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights published the Mapping Report which documents the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the Democratic Republic Congo (DRC) between March 1993 and June 2003.

This report established an inventory of 617 war crimes and crimes against humanity. If brought before a competent court, some of the atrocities documented in the Mapping Report could constitute the crime of genocide.

 To date, none of the recommendations contained in this report have been implemented. As the ICC only hast jurisdiction for crimes committed after July 2002 and given the regional dimension of the conflict in the DRC (where various foreign armies and rebel groups have intervened and must also be held accountable) we are taking advantage of this International Justice Day to urge the Congolese authorities and the international community to create an International Tribunal for the DRC and/or mixed chambers which can be competent from the early 1990s to the present day. 

We also call for support for the establishment of truth-finding mechanisms, reparation programs and far-reaching reforms of the security and justice sectors in the DRC.

The time has come to unearth the Mapping Report and to implement its recommendations—the victims of yesterday and today have the right to justice, to the truth, to reparation, and to guarantees that these mass atrocities will not be repeated. This should not leave anyone indifferent and must prompt strong action from both the Congolese authorities and the international community.

Thus, we will not only pay tribute to the many victims and survivors of the most serious crimes in their quest for justice, but we will also contribute to the establishment of lasting peace in the African Great Lakes region and to the advent of a more dignified and just world.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

2018 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Related Content

DR Congo: Blinken Visit Tests US Support for Democracy, Rights

Focus on Elections, Repression, Corruption, Rampant Violence in East (Washington, DC) – United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken should publicly promote free and fair elections, respect for human rights, and anti-corruption efforts during his visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo on August 9 and 10, 2022, 17 US and Congolese organizations and experts said today. […]

Statement by Dr. Denis Mukwege on the violent incidents at the MONUSCO offices in Goma

It is with great desolation that I discovered the images of the unfortunate incidents that occurred at various MONUSCO bases in Goma yesterday, Monday, July 25, 2022. Some offices were ransacked and equipment looted. Protesters were violently repressed. This is deplorable. I sympathize with the plight of MONUSCO and the trauma of its staff. I […]