Communiqué de presse de la Fondation Panzi concernant le "Qatargate" et l'ONG "Fight Impunity".

Alors que des allégations de corruption touchent des membres du Parlement européen et de l'Association contre l'impunité et pour la justice transitionnelle (Fight Impunity), la Fondation Panzi souhaite partager cette déclaration afin de clarifier notre relation avec ces institutions.

Le Dr Denis Mukwege, président de la Fondation Panzi et lauréat du prix Sakharov 2014 pour la liberté de pensée, décerné par le Parlement européen, a été régulièrement invité aux activités initiées par la sous-commission des droits de l'homme (DROI) et par des élus de tous les groupes politiques.

C'est dans ce contexte que nous estimons qu'il est très regrettable qu'une noble cause, à savoir la lutte contre l'impunité, soit ternie par une affaire de corruption.

Les activités de la Fondation Panzi liées à la lutte contre l'impunité pour les crimes commis en République démocratique du Congo (RDC) n'ont jamais reçu de soutien financier de l'ONG Fight Impunity ; notre président n'a pas non plus participé à aucune de ses réunions. Dans le cadre de nos efforts de plaidoyer pour l'adoption et la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie nationale holistique de justice transitionnelle en RDC, le Dr. Mukwege a participé virtuellement à deux événements co-organisés par le Parlement européen et Fight Impunity.

Nous attendons avec impatience que la justice belge fasse la lumière et demande des comptes aux responsables. En outre, nous espérons que le travail du Parlement européen en matière de promotion et de protection des droits de l'homme dans le monde ne sera pas suspendu ou entravé par ce scandale de corruption.

Contenu similaire

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Panzi Foundation press release in relation to “Qatargate” and the NGO “Fight Impunity”

As allegations of corruption plague members of the European Parliament and the Association Against Impunity and for Transitional Justice (Fight Impunity), the Panzi Foundation would like to share this statement to clarify our relationship with these institutions.

Dr. Denis Mukwege, President of the Panzi Foundation and recipient of the 2014 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, awarded by the European Parliament, has been regularly invited to activities initiated by the Subcommittee on Human Rights (DROI) and by elected officials from all political groups.

It is in this context that we feel it is very unfortunate that a noble cause, namely the fight against impunity, is tarnished by a case of corruption.

The activities of the Panzi Foundation related to the fight against impunity for crimes committed in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) have never received financial support from the NGO Fight Impunity; nor has our President participated in any of its meetings. As part of our advocacy efforts for the adoption and implementation of a holistic national transitional justice strategy in the DRC, Dr. Mukwege has participated virtually in two events co-organized by the European Parliament and Fight Impunity.

We look forward to the Belgian justice system shedding light and holding those responsible to account. Furthermore, we hope that the work of the European Parliament in promoting and protecting human rights around the world is not suspended or hindered by this scandal of corruption.

Related Content

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]