丹尼斯-穆克维格博士在 "全国协商 "之际致刚果民主共和国总统费利克斯-齐塞克迪的备忘录

2020年11月7日,布卡武--丹尼斯-穆克维格博士在 "全国协商 "之际致刚果民主共和国总统费利克斯-齐塞克迪的备忘录

点击这里,阅读法语文章

刚果民主共和国(DRC)的问题及其解决方案几年前就已为人所知。许多人和组织在国内和国际上都记录了我国的巨大挑战。始终缺乏的是各级政府领导人的意愿和政治勇气,以实施雄心勃勃和有效的措施,从而推动国家的戏剧性局势和我国人民的期望所需要的变革。

我们的国家情况不好。人民的苦难是无法忍受的。在这种情况下,另一次协商只有在最终解决紧急和紧迫的问题时才有意义,而不是像过去那样陷入无休止的争吵和聋哑人的对话。

应邀参加这些磋商的一些组织和联系人已经或将在我国政治、经济、社会和文化生活的各个领域提出相关建议。

为了避免重复,我们的贡献将主要坚持打击有罪不罚现象的必要性,以及将司法作为法治的主要支柱和真正的持久和平的杠杆的紧迫性,没有司法就不可能有发展。

从现在开始,我们应该通过强行与反价值观、腐败行为、导致我们陷入目前混乱的制度以及过去在各种犯罪中自我妥协的人决裂,为这种变革奠定法律基础。因为有了这些破坏我们国家的人--那些目前不安全的根源--我们就不能解决我们所面临的危机和建立一个更好的未来。

要在我国打击有罪不罚现象,就必须落实联合国关于1993年至2003年期间在刚果民主共和国境内发生的最严重侵犯人权和国际人道主义法行为的摸底报告中的建议。这份报告敦促刚果当局使用过渡时期司法工具,为和解与和平铺平道路。此外,自1990年至今在我国犯下的罪行的严重性,请我国政府向联合国秘书长伸出援手,要求安全理事会设立刚果民主共和国国际刑事法庭,以审判这些暴行的本国和外国、国家和非国家犯罪者。

如果没有雄心勃勃的、勇敢的和深刻的体制改革,我国的发展仍将是一种假设,这些改革应包括安全部门(警察、军队、情报部门等)、司法(宪法法院等)和全国独立选举委员会的改革。没有这些改革,我们将永远不会有一个法治的国家,而反复的危机将使国家不知疲倦地陷入混乱。

共和国的机构必须非政治化和专业化,以防止政治、经济、社会和种族利益集团继续争论和接管这些机构。

共和国总统先生,我们相信,如果你自己和刚果政府一起走这条路,不仅我们的人民会和你在一起,而且你也会从国际社会的支持中受益。

正如弗兰茨-法农所说,"每一代人都必须在相对不透明的情况下,履行或背叛它"。

共和国总统阁下。

我们首先要向你发起磋商的倡议致敬,目的是建立一个 "国家内部的神圣联盟",并感谢你愿意以这种开放和与民间社会对话的精神加入我们。

从你就任国家元首起,你就表现出结束反价值观的意愿,这些价值观阻碍了巩固法治的努力,破坏了任何可持续社会和经济发展的前景。这些反价值观往往与我国普遍存在的有罪不罚的气氛和困扰我国大多数机构的腐败现象有关。

此外,您还宣布准备为恢复刚果民主共和国东部地区的和平而献出自己的生命,并深知结束暴力循环和冲突是当务之急,我们在潘西医院已经悲痛地目睹了20多年的后果。

虽然20多年来我国接待了联合国最大的维和特派团之一,也签署了许多和平协议,但很明显,近几十年来安全解决方案的尝试和政策系统地未能保护平民和带来和平。这尤其是因为政治协议牺牲了正义,通过混编、拙劣的解除武装、复员和重返社会方案将不守纪律的人纳入我们的国防和安全部队,并让那些应该在国家或国际司法面前为自己的行为负责的人获得晋升。

虽然刚果当局和联合国正在寻求就逐步和有条件地撤出联刚稳定团的战略达成一致,但似乎必须调动一切力量,利用国际社会在刚果民主共和国的存在,最终在通过正义实现持久和平的道路上前进。

正是在这一背景下,我们欢迎你在2020年8月7日的部长会议上的来函,你指示政府将过渡时期的司法问题列入其议程。这份函件为执行联合国关于1993年至2003年期间在刚果民主共和国境内发生的最严重侵犯人权和国际人道主义法行为的摸底报告中的建议铺平了道路,该报告请刚果当局在国际社会的支持下使用过渡时期司法的所有工具。

本着同样的精神,联合国秘书长在其2020年9月21日关于刚果民主共和国的报告中鼓励通过一项国家过渡时期司法战略,这将使打击有罪不罚现象和为最严重罪行的受害者伸张正义成为可能。

你所表达的政治意愿和秘书长的劝告是刚果民间社会和公民运动的广泛呼声的一部分,他们在2020年10月1日《摸底报告》发表10周年之际举行了成千上万的和平示威,要求结束有罪不罚现象,并在刚果司法系统内设立刚果民主共和国国际刑事法院和/或混合特别法庭。

此外,各宗教教派,包括刚果基督教会和刚果全国主教会议(天主教会),以及欧洲、加拿大和美国的外交官最近也坚持认为需要建立起诉机制和国际或国际化的判决,以保证对过去和现在的罪行进行独立和公正的司法。

我们相信,最严重罪行的肇事者所享有的有罪不罚的氛围在很大程度上解释了为什么该国许多省份的不稳定和严重侵犯人权和国际人道主义法的行为至今仍在继续。

因此,我们认为,调动强大的政治意愿,制定国家过渡时期司法战略,并在国际社会的支持下尽快实施,是国家未来的一个优先事项。

这一战略应包括司法和非司法机制,使社会能够纠正其大规模犯罪的沉重遗产,并保证受害者获得正义、真相、赔偿和保证不再犯罪的权利。但是,也要对安全部门进行深刻的改革,将那些与严重侵犯人权和国际人道主义法以及大规模腐败活动有牵连的国家工作人员排挤出去。

最后,我们敦促你向联合国秘书长提出正式请求,支持在刚果民主共和国建立一个国际法庭和专门的混合法庭。

总统先生。

现在是时候恢复我们的尊严,说出真相,为我们的数百万死者和幸存者伸张正义,同时也要防止国家、非国家、刚果和外国行为者在我们的领土上滥用、侵犯人权和人道主义法律的行为不再发生。

提前感谢您为开展过渡时期司法进程所采取的措施,我们最希望的是,这将使结束有罪不罚现象和巩固刚果民主共和国的和平成为可能。共和国总统先生阁下,我们请您接受我们崇高的敬意。

Denis Mukwege博士

诺贝尔和平奖获得者

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Memorandum from Dr. Denis Mukwege to President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Félix Tshisekedi, on the occasion of ‘National Consultations’

Bukavu, November 7, 2020Memorandum from Dr. Denis Mukwege to President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Félix Tshisekedi, on the occasion of ‘National Consultations’

Cliquez ici pour lire en français

The problems of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and their solutions have been known for several years. The great challenges of our country have been documented by many people and organizations, both nationally and internationally. What has always been lacking is the will and political courage of leaders at all levels of governance to implement ambitious and effective measures in order to drive the change necessitated by the country’s dramatic situation and the expectations of our population.

Our country is not doing well. The misery of the population is unbearable. In this context, yet another consultation only makes sense if it finally tackles the urgent and pressing issues without getting bogged down in endless palaver and deaf dialogues that have been observed in the past.

Several organizations and contacts invited to these consultations have made or will make relevant proposals in various fields of the political, economic, social, and cultural life of our nation.

In order to avoid redundancies, our contribution will mainly insist on the imperative to fight against impunity and the urgency of erecting justice as a major pillar of the rule of law as well as a lever of real and lasting peace, without which no development is possible.

From now on, we should law the foundations for this change by imposing a break with anti-values, corrupt practices, the system that has led us to the current chaos, and the men who have compromised themselves in various crimes in the past. Because with those individuals who destroyed our country — those at the root of the current insecurity — we cannot solve the crises we face and build a better future.

The fight against impunity in our country will require the application of the recommendations of the United Nations Mapping Report on the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the DRC between 1993 and 2003. This report urges the Congolese authorities to use instruments of transitional justice to pave the way for reconciliation and peace. In addition, the gravity of the crimes committed in our country, since 1990 until today, invites our government to reach out to the Secretary General of the United Nations and to ask the Security Council for the establishment of an International Criminal Tribunal for the DRC in order to judge the national and foreign, state and non-state perpetrators of these atrocities.

The development of our country will remain hypothetical without ambitious, courageous, and profound institutional reforms which should include the reform of the security sectors (police, army, intelligence, etc.), justice (Constitutional Court, etc.), and the CENI. Without these reforms, we will never be in a state of law and the repeated crises will plunge the country tirelessly into chaos.

It is essential that the institutions of the Republic be apolitical and professional in order to prevent political, economic, social, and ethnic interest groups from continuing to dispute and to take over these institutions.

Mr. President of the Republic, we are convinced that if you yourself, along with the Congolese Government, take this path, not only our people will be with you, but also you will benefit from the support of the international community.

As Frantz Fanon said, “Each generation must, in a relative opacity, fulfill or betray it, in relative opacity”.

Your Excellency the President of the Republic,

We would first like to salute your initiative to launch consultations with the purpose of creating a “sacred union within the Nation”, and thank you for your willingness to join us in this spirit of openness and dialogue with civil society.

From your inauguration as head of state, you have shown the will to put an end to anti-values, which hamper efforts to consolidate the rule of law and undermine any prospect of sustainable social and economic development. These anti-values are often associated with the climate of impunity which largely prevails in our country and with the corruption which plagues the majority of our institutions.

In addition, you have declared that you are ready to give your life to restore peace to the east of the DRC, well aware that it is a priority to end the cycles of violence and the conflicts of which we have sadly witnessed the consequences for over 20 years at Panzi Hospital.

While our country has hosted one of the largest United Nations peacekeeping missions for over 20 years, as well as a multitude of peace agreements being signed, it is clear that attempts at security solutions and the policies of recent decades have systematically failed to protect civilians and bring peace. This is particularly because of the fact that the political agreements have sacrificed justice by integrating indiscipline into our defense and security forces through the process of mixing, botched disarmament, demobilization and reintegration programs and by granting promotions to those who should answer for their acts before national or international justice.

While Congolese authorities and the United Nations are seeking to agree on a strategy of gradual and conditional withdrawal from MONUSCO, it seems essential to mobilize all energies and to take advantage of the presence of the international community in the DRC to finally move forward on the path to lasting peace through justice.

It is in this context that we welcomed your communication at the Council of Ministers on August 7, 2020 where you instructed the government to put the transitional justice issue on its agenda. This communication paves the way for the implementation of the recommendations of the United Nations Mapping Report on the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed on the territory of the DRC between 1993 and 2003, which invites Congolese authorities to use all the tools of transitional justice with the support of the international community.

In the same spirit, the Secretary General of the United Nations encouraged the adoption of a national transitional justice strategy in his report on September 21, 2020 on the DRC, which would make it possible to fight against impunity and to render justice to the victims of the most serious crimes.

The expression of your political will and the Secretary General’s exhortation are part of a very broad outpouring of Congolese civil society and citizens’ movements which demonstrated peacefully by the thousands on the 10th anniversary of the publication of the Mapping Report on October 1, 2020 to demand the end of impunity and the establishment of an International Criminal Court for the DRC and/or mixed specialized Chambers within the Congolese judicial system.

In addition, various religious denominations, including the Church of Christ in Congo and the National Episcopal Conference of Congo (Catholic Church), as well as European, Canadian, and American diplomats have also recently insisted on the need to establish prosecution mechanisms and international or internationalized judgement for the purpose of guaranteeing independence and impartiality in the administration of justice for crimes of the past and present.

We are convinced that the climate of impunity enjoyed by the perpetrators of the most serious crimes largely explains why the instability and serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law continue to this day in many provinces of the country.

This is the reason why we therefore believe that it is a priority for the future of the Nation to mobilize a strong political will to develop a national transitional justice strategy and to implement it as soon as possible, with the support of the international community.

This strategy should include judicial and non-judicial mechanisms that enable society to remedy its heavy legacy of mass crimes and to guarantee victims their right to justice, truth, reparations, and the guarantees of non-recurrence of crimes. But also, a profound reform of the security sector and the sidelining of State agents who have been implicated in serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law and in corrupt activities at large scale.

Finally, we urge you to make an official request to the Secretary General of the United Nations to support the establishment of an International Tribunal and specialized mixed chambers in the DRC.

Mister President,

The time has come to restore our dignity, to speak the truth, to speak the truth, to do justice to our millions of dead and to the survivors, but also to prevent the non-recurrence of the abuses, violations of human rights and humanitarian law committed on our territory by state, non-state, Congolese, and foreign actors.

Thank you in advance for the steps you will take to carry out the transitional justice process which, we hope more than anything, will make it possible to end impunity and consolidate peace in the DRC. We ask you to accept, your Excellency Mr. President of the Republic, our distinguished consideration.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Related Content

DRC: PRIORITIZE JUSTICE FOR SERIOUS CRIMES

29 April 2021 New Lukonde Government Should Set Transitional Justice Roadmap (Kinshasa) – The Democratic Republic of Congo’s newly appointed government should adopt a clear strategy for holding those suspected of criminal responsibility for grave human rights violations accountable, a coalition of 50 Congolese and international nongovernmental groups said today. President Felix Tshisekedi’s new government, led […]

Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala

Bukavu, January 5, 2021 — Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala Cliquez ici pour lire en français We salute the commitment of the National Anti-Terrorist Prosecutor’s Office in Paris for having initiated this first indictment pronounced in the framework of a judicial procedure opened on the basis of the UN Mapping […]