Memorandum von Dr. Denis Mukwege an den Präsidenten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Félix Tshisekedi, anlässlich der 'Nationalen Konsultationen'

Bukavu, 7. November 2020 - Memorandum von Dr. Denis Mukwege an den Präsidenten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Félix Tshisekedi, anlässlich der 'Nationalen Konsultationen'

Cliquez ici pour lire en français

Die Probleme der Demokratischen Republik Kongo (DRK) und ihre Lösungen sind seit mehreren Jahren bekannt. Die großen Herausforderungen unseres Landes wurden von vielen Menschen und Organisationen sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene dokumentiert. Was immer gefehlt hat, sind der Wille und der politische Mut der Verantwortlichen auf allen Regierungsebenen, ehrgeizige und wirksame Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um den Wandel voranzutreiben, der angesichts der dramatischen Lage des Landes und der Erwartungen unserer Bevölkerung notwendig ist.

Unserem Land geht es nicht gut. Das Elend der Bevölkerung ist unerträglich. Vor diesem Hintergrund macht eine weitere Konsultation nur dann Sinn, wenn sie endlich die drängenden und drängenden Fragen anpackt, ohne sich in endlosem Palaver und tauben Dialogen, wie sie in der Vergangenheit zu beobachten waren, zu verzetteln.

Mehrere Organisationen und Kontakte, die zu diesen Konsultationen eingeladen wurden, haben einschlägige Vorschläge in verschiedenen Bereichen des politischen, wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und kulturellen Lebens unseres Landes gemacht oder werden dies noch tun.

Um Redundanzen zu vermeiden, werden wir in unserem Beitrag vor allem auf die Notwendigkeit des Kampfes gegen die Straflosigkeit und die Dringlichkeit der Errichtung der Justiz als Hauptpfeiler der Rechtsstaatlichkeit sowie als Hebel für einen echten und dauerhaften Frieden hinweisen, ohne den keine Entwicklung möglich ist.

Von nun an sollten wir die Grundlagen für diesen Wandel schaffen, indem wir einen Bruch mit den Antiwerten, den korrupten Praktiken, dem System, das uns in das derzeitige Chaos geführt hat, und den Männern, die sich in der Vergangenheit bei verschiedenen Verbrechen kompromittiert haben, durchsetzen. Denn mit diesen Personen, die unser Land zerstört haben - die die Wurzel der gegenwärtigen Unsicherheit sind - können wir die Krisen, denen wir gegenüberstehen, nicht lösen und eine bessere Zukunft aufbauen.

Der Kampf gegen die Straflosigkeit in unserem Land erfordert die Umsetzung der Empfehlungen des Berichts der Vereinten Nationen über die schwersten Verstöße gegen die Menschenrechte und das humanitäre Völkerrecht, die zwischen 1993 und 2003 im Gebiet der Demokratischen Republik Kongo begangen wurden. In diesem Bericht werden die kongolesischen Behörden aufgefordert, Instrumente der Übergangsjustiz einzusetzen, um den Weg für Versöhnung und Frieden zu ebnen. Darüber hinaus fordert die Schwere der in unserem Land seit 1990 bis heute begangenen Verbrechen unsere Regierung auf, sich an den Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen zu wenden und den Sicherheitsrat um die Einrichtung eines Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs für die Demokratische Republik Kongo zu ersuchen, um die in- und ausländischen, staatlichen und nichtstaatlichen Urheber dieser Gräueltaten zu verurteilen.

Die Entwicklung unseres Landes wird ohne ehrgeizige, mutige und tiefgreifende institutionelle Reformen, zu denen auch die Reform des Sicherheitssektors (Polizei, Armee, Geheimdienst usw.), der Justiz (Verfassungsgericht usw.) und der CENI gehören sollte, hypothetisch bleiben. Ohne diese Reformen werden wir niemals einen Rechtsstaat haben und die wiederholten Krisen werden das Land unaufhaltsam ins Chaos stürzen.

Es ist unerlässlich, dass die Institutionen der Republik unpolitisch und professionell sind, um zu verhindern, dass politische, wirtschaftliche, soziale und ethnische Interessengruppen sich weiterhin streiten und diese Institutionen übernehmen.

Herr Präsident der Republik, wir sind davon überzeugt, dass, wenn Sie selbst zusammen mit der kongolesischen Regierung diesen Weg einschlagen, nicht nur unser Volk hinter Ihnen stehen wird, sondern Sie auch die Unterstützung der internationalen Gemeinschaft erhalten werden.

Wie Frantz Fanon sagte: "Jede Generation muss sie in relativer Undurchsichtigkeit erfüllen oder in relativer Undurchsichtigkeit verraten".

Ihre Exzellenz, der Präsident der Republik,

Zunächst möchten wir Ihre Initiative begrüßen, Konsultationen mit dem Ziel einzuleiten, eine "heilige Union innerhalb der Nation" zu schaffen, und wir danken Ihnen für Ihre Bereitschaft, sich uns in diesem Geist der Offenheit und des Dialogs mit der Zivilgesellschaft anzuschließen.

Seit Ihrem Amtsantritt als Staatsoberhaupt haben Sie den Willen gezeigt, den Antiwerten ein Ende zu setzen, die die Bemühungen um die Konsolidierung des Rechtsstaates behindern und jede Aussicht auf eine nachhaltige soziale und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung untergraben. Diese Gegenwerte sind häufig mit dem Klima der Straflosigkeit, das in unserem Land weitgehend vorherrscht, und mit der Korruption, die die meisten unserer Institutionen plagt, verbunden.

Darüber hinaus haben Sie erklärt, dass Sie bereit sind, Ihr Leben für die Wiederherstellung des Friedens im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo zu geben, wohl wissend, dass es eine Priorität ist, die Zyklen der Gewalt und der Konflikte zu beenden, deren Folgen wir im Panzi-Krankenhaus seit über 20 Jahren traurig miterleben.

Obwohl unser Land seit mehr als 20 Jahren eine der größten Friedensmissionen der Vereinten Nationen beherbergt und eine Vielzahl von Friedensabkommen unterzeichnet wurde, ist es klar, dass die Versuche, Sicherheitslösungen zu finden, und die Politik der letzten Jahrzehnte systematisch versagt haben, die Zivilbevölkerung zu schützen und Frieden zu schaffen. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass die politischen Vereinbarungen die Gerechtigkeit geopfert haben, indem sie Disziplinlosigkeit in unsere Verteidigungs- und Sicherheitskräfte integriert haben, indem sie Entwaffnungs-, Demobilisierungs- und Wiedereingliederungsprogramme vermischt und verpfuscht haben und indem sie Beförderungen an diejenigen vergeben haben, die sich für ihre Taten vor der nationalen oder internationalen Justiz verantworten sollten.

Während die kongolesischen Behörden und die Vereinten Nationen versuchen, sich auf eine Strategie des schrittweisen und bedingten Rückzugs aus der MONUSCO zu einigen, scheint es unerlässlich, alle Kräfte zu mobilisieren und die Präsenz der internationalen Gemeinschaft in der DRK zu nutzen, um endlich auf dem Weg zu einem dauerhaften Frieden durch Gerechtigkeit voranzukommen.

In diesem Zusammenhang haben wir Ihre Mitteilung auf der Ministerratstagung vom 7. August 2020 begrüßt, in der Sie die Regierung aufforderten, die Frage der Übergangsjustiz auf ihre Tagesordnung zu setzen. Diese Mitteilung ebnet den Weg für die Umsetzung der Empfehlungen des Mapping-Berichts der Vereinten Nationen über die schwersten Verletzungen der Menschenrechte und des humanitären Völkerrechts, die zwischen 1993 und 2003 im Hoheitsgebiet der Demokratischen Republik Kongo begangen wurden, in dem die kongolesischen Behörden aufgefordert werden, mit Unterstützung der internationalen Gemeinschaft alle Instrumente der Übergangsjustiz einzusetzen.

In diesem Sinne hat der Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen in seinem Bericht vom 21. September 2020 über die Demokratische Republik Kongo die Annahme einer nationalen Strategie für die Übergangsjustiz angeregt, die es ermöglichen würde, die Straflosigkeit zu bekämpfen und den Opfern der schwersten Verbrechen Gerechtigkeit widerfahren zu lassen.

Die Bekundung Ihres politischen Willens und die Ermahnung des Generalsekretärs sind Teil einer breiten Bewegung der kongolesischen Zivilgesellschaft und der Bürgerbewegungen, die am 10. Jahrestag der Veröffentlichung des Mapping-Berichts am 1. Oktober 2020 zu Tausenden friedlich demonstrierten, um ein Ende der Straflosigkeit und die Einrichtung eines Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs für die Demokratische Republik Kongo und/oder gemischter Sonderkammern innerhalb des kongolesischen Justizsystems zu fordern.

Darüber hinaus haben in jüngster Zeit auch verschiedene religiöse Gemeinschaften, darunter die Kirche Christi im Kongo und die Nationale Bischofskonferenz des Kongo (katholische Kirche), sowie europäische, kanadische und amerikanische Diplomaten auf die Notwendigkeit der Einrichtung von Strafverfolgungsmechanismen und einer internationalen oder internationalisierten Gerichtsbarkeit hingewiesen, um die Unabhängigkeit und Unparteilichkeit der Justiz bei Verbrechen in der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart zu gewährleisten.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass das Klima der Straffreiheit, das die Täter schwerster Verbrechen genießen, zu einem großen Teil erklärt, warum die Instabilität und die schweren Verstöße gegen die Menschenrechte und das humanitäre Völkerrecht in vielen Provinzen des Landes bis heute anhalten.

Aus diesem Grund sind wir der Ansicht, dass es für die Zukunft der Nation von vorrangiger Bedeutung ist, einen starken politischen Willen zur Entwicklung einer nationalen Strategie für die Übergangsjustiz zu mobilisieren und diese mit Unterstützung der internationalen Gemeinschaft so bald wie möglich umzusetzen.

Diese Strategie sollte gerichtliche und außergerichtliche Mechanismen umfassen, die die Gesellschaft in die Lage versetzen, das schwere Erbe der Massenverbrechen aufzuarbeiten und den Opfern ihr Recht auf Gerechtigkeit, Wahrheit, Wiedergutmachung und die Garantie, dass sich die Verbrechen nicht wiederholen, zu garantieren. Aber auch eine tiefgreifende Reform des Sicherheitssektors und die Ausgrenzung von Staatsbediensteten, die in schwerwiegende Verletzungen der Menschenrechte und des humanitären Völkerrechts sowie in korrupte Aktivitäten im großen Stil verwickelt waren.

Schließlich fordern wir Sie auf, den Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen offiziell zu ersuchen, die Einrichtung eines Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs und spezialisierter gemischter Kammern in der DRK zu unterstützen.

Herr Präsident,

Es ist an der Zeit, unsere Würde wiederherzustellen, die Wahrheit auszusprechen, unseren Millionen von Toten und den Überlebenden Gerechtigkeit widerfahren zu lassen, aber auch zu verhindern, dass sich die Missbräuche, die Verletzungen der Menschenrechte und des humanitären Rechts, die auf unserem Territorium von staatlichen, nichtstaatlichen, kongolesischen und ausländischen Akteuren begangen wurden, nicht wiederholen.

Wir danken Ihnen im Voraus für die Maßnahmen, die Sie zur Durchführung des Prozesses der Übergangsjustiz ergreifen werden, von dem wir uns mehr als alles andere erhoffen, dass er die Beendigung der Straflosigkeit und die Konsolidierung des Friedens in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo ermöglicht. Wir bitten Sie, Ihre Exzellenz, Herr Präsident der Republik, unsere Hochachtung zu erweisen.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Friedensnobelpreisträgerin

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Memorandum from Dr. Denis Mukwege to President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Félix Tshisekedi, on the occasion of ‘National Consultations’

Bukavu, November 7, 2020Memorandum from Dr. Denis Mukwege to President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Félix Tshisekedi, on the occasion of ‘National Consultations’

Cliquez ici pour lire en français

The problems of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and their solutions have been known for several years. The great challenges of our country have been documented by many people and organizations, both nationally and internationally. What has always been lacking is the will and political courage of leaders at all levels of governance to implement ambitious and effective measures in order to drive the change necessitated by the country’s dramatic situation and the expectations of our population.

Our country is not doing well. The misery of the population is unbearable. In this context, yet another consultation only makes sense if it finally tackles the urgent and pressing issues without getting bogged down in endless palaver and deaf dialogues that have been observed in the past.

Several organizations and contacts invited to these consultations have made or will make relevant proposals in various fields of the political, economic, social, and cultural life of our nation.

In order to avoid redundancies, our contribution will mainly insist on the imperative to fight against impunity and the urgency of erecting justice as a major pillar of the rule of law as well as a lever of real and lasting peace, without which no development is possible.

From now on, we should law the foundations for this change by imposing a break with anti-values, corrupt practices, the system that has led us to the current chaos, and the men who have compromised themselves in various crimes in the past. Because with those individuals who destroyed our country — those at the root of the current insecurity — we cannot solve the crises we face and build a better future.

The fight against impunity in our country will require the application of the recommendations of the United Nations Mapping Report on the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the DRC between 1993 and 2003. This report urges the Congolese authorities to use instruments of transitional justice to pave the way for reconciliation and peace. In addition, the gravity of the crimes committed in our country, since 1990 until today, invites our government to reach out to the Secretary General of the United Nations and to ask the Security Council for the establishment of an International Criminal Tribunal for the DRC in order to judge the national and foreign, state and non-state perpetrators of these atrocities.

The development of our country will remain hypothetical without ambitious, courageous, and profound institutional reforms which should include the reform of the security sectors (police, army, intelligence, etc.), justice (Constitutional Court, etc.), and the CENI. Without these reforms, we will never be in a state of law and the repeated crises will plunge the country tirelessly into chaos.

It is essential that the institutions of the Republic be apolitical and professional in order to prevent political, economic, social, and ethnic interest groups from continuing to dispute and to take over these institutions.

Mr. President of the Republic, we are convinced that if you yourself, along with the Congolese Government, take this path, not only our people will be with you, but also you will benefit from the support of the international community.

As Frantz Fanon said, “Each generation must, in a relative opacity, fulfill or betray it, in relative opacity”.

Your Excellency the President of the Republic,

We would first like to salute your initiative to launch consultations with the purpose of creating a “sacred union within the Nation”, and thank you for your willingness to join us in this spirit of openness and dialogue with civil society.

From your inauguration as head of state, you have shown the will to put an end to anti-values, which hamper efforts to consolidate the rule of law and undermine any prospect of sustainable social and economic development. These anti-values are often associated with the climate of impunity which largely prevails in our country and with the corruption which plagues the majority of our institutions.

In addition, you have declared that you are ready to give your life to restore peace to the east of the DRC, well aware that it is a priority to end the cycles of violence and the conflicts of which we have sadly witnessed the consequences for over 20 years at Panzi Hospital.

While our country has hosted one of the largest United Nations peacekeeping missions for over 20 years, as well as a multitude of peace agreements being signed, it is clear that attempts at security solutions and the policies of recent decades have systematically failed to protect civilians and bring peace. This is particularly because of the fact that the political agreements have sacrificed justice by integrating indiscipline into our defense and security forces through the process of mixing, botched disarmament, demobilization and reintegration programs and by granting promotions to those who should answer for their acts before national or international justice.

While Congolese authorities and the United Nations are seeking to agree on a strategy of gradual and conditional withdrawal from MONUSCO, it seems essential to mobilize all energies and to take advantage of the presence of the international community in the DRC to finally move forward on the path to lasting peace through justice.

It is in this context that we welcomed your communication at the Council of Ministers on August 7, 2020 where you instructed the government to put the transitional justice issue on its agenda. This communication paves the way for the implementation of the recommendations of the United Nations Mapping Report on the most serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law committed on the territory of the DRC between 1993 and 2003, which invites Congolese authorities to use all the tools of transitional justice with the support of the international community.

In the same spirit, the Secretary General of the United Nations encouraged the adoption of a national transitional justice strategy in his report on September 21, 2020 on the DRC, which would make it possible to fight against impunity and to render justice to the victims of the most serious crimes.

The expression of your political will and the Secretary General’s exhortation are part of a very broad outpouring of Congolese civil society and citizens’ movements which demonstrated peacefully by the thousands on the 10th anniversary of the publication of the Mapping Report on October 1, 2020 to demand the end of impunity and the establishment of an International Criminal Court for the DRC and/or mixed specialized Chambers within the Congolese judicial system.

In addition, various religious denominations, including the Church of Christ in Congo and the National Episcopal Conference of Congo (Catholic Church), as well as European, Canadian, and American diplomats have also recently insisted on the need to establish prosecution mechanisms and international or internationalized judgement for the purpose of guaranteeing independence and impartiality in the administration of justice for crimes of the past and present.

We are convinced that the climate of impunity enjoyed by the perpetrators of the most serious crimes largely explains why the instability and serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law continue to this day in many provinces of the country.

This is the reason why we therefore believe that it is a priority for the future of the Nation to mobilize a strong political will to develop a national transitional justice strategy and to implement it as soon as possible, with the support of the international community.

This strategy should include judicial and non-judicial mechanisms that enable society to remedy its heavy legacy of mass crimes and to guarantee victims their right to justice, truth, reparations, and the guarantees of non-recurrence of crimes. But also, a profound reform of the security sector and the sidelining of State agents who have been implicated in serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law and in corrupt activities at large scale.

Finally, we urge you to make an official request to the Secretary General of the United Nations to support the establishment of an International Tribunal and specialized mixed chambers in the DRC.

Mister President,

The time has come to restore our dignity, to speak the truth, to speak the truth, to do justice to our millions of dead and to the survivors, but also to prevent the non-recurrence of the abuses, violations of human rights and humanitarian law committed on our territory by state, non-state, Congolese, and foreign actors.

Thank you in advance for the steps you will take to carry out the transitional justice process which, we hope more than anything, will make it possible to end impunity and consolidate peace in the DRC. We ask you to accept, your Excellency Mr. President of the Republic, our distinguished consideration.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Related Content

DRC: PRIORITIZE JUSTICE FOR SERIOUS CRIMES

29 April 2021 New Lukonde Government Should Set Transitional Justice Roadmap (Kinshasa) – The Democratic Republic of Congo’s newly appointed government should adopt a clear strategy for holding those suspected of criminal responsibility for grave human rights violations accountable, a coalition of 50 Congolese and international nongovernmental groups said today. President Felix Tshisekedi’s new government, led […]

Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala

Bukavu, January 5, 2021 — Statement from Dr. Mukwege following the indictment of Roger Lumbala Cliquez ici pour lire en français We salute the commitment of the National Anti-Terrorist Prosecutor’s Office in Paris for having initiated this first indictment pronounced in the framework of a judicial procedure opened on the basis of the UN Mapping […]