启动TUMAINI项目,即妇女、青少年和儿童的健康和权利,这是磐基基金会和蒙特利尔大学的合作项目。

9月2日,在布卡武举行了TUMAINI项目(妇女、青少年和儿童的健康与权利)的启动仪式,使得潘子基金会和蒙特利尔大学之间的合作项目得以开始。由潘奇基金会与蒙特利尔大学的国际卫生单位卫生观察站共同实施,TUMAINI项目将支持基金会和潘奇医院的活动,直至2027年。

该项目源于丹尼斯-穆克维格博士的愿景,并利用蒙特利尔大学的专业知识,将在南基伍省的四个卫生区和布隆迪的三个省加强对性暴力幸存者的服务和Panzi基金会的能力。

在加拿大的资助下,TUMAINI项目调动了蒙特利尔大学的几个院系,并得到了加拿大无国界律师组织和全球战略的支持,覆盖了2,745,741名受益人。

在南基伍省省长和加拿大大使阁下的欢迎下,启动仪式在Panzi基金会举行,诺贝尔和平奖得主Denis Mukwege博士、蒙特利尔大学副校长Valérie Amiraux教授、国际卫生组主任兼TUMAINI项目主任Karina-Dubois Nguyen女士以及该项目科学主任兼Hygeia观察站主任Marie Hatem教授出席了启动仪式。

TUMAINI是一段人文相遇、承诺和合作历史的高潮。2017年,穆克维格博士在攀枝花遇到了玛丽-哈特姆教授,为注定要蓬勃发展的合作奠定了基础。2019年,穆克维格博士获得了加拿大蒙特利尔大学的名誉博士学位。同年,攀枝花基金会与蒙特利尔大学国际卫生组和Hygeia观察站合作,响应加拿大全球事务局的资助提议,最终在2021年获得资助:这是TUMAINI项目的开始,也是为项目覆盖地区的人口,特别是妇女、少女和儿童建立一个充满希望和更公正的未来的希望。

TUMAINI项目有三个组成部分:改善医疗服务的提供和管理,提高医疗服务的可及性,以及促进基于研究的医疗政策、法律框架和服务。除了支持打击暴力和幸存者的康复外,该项目还将利用业务研究,科学地确定穆克维格博士、医院和潘子基金会开发的整体模式的可持续性。

本项目旨在传播从Panzi基金会的工作中获得的知识,除了研究结果之外,还回顾了蒙特利尔大学、其国际卫生单位和Hygeia观察站的承诺。它再次强调了Panzi基金会工作的基本性质,在一个不公正和暴力已经持续了30多年,希望正在消失的环境中。TUMAINI项目采用创新、可持续的方法设计,并由一群高素质的合作伙伴实施,很可能有助于改变现状,为受益人群重新点燃希望之火。

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Launch of the TUMAINI project, Health and rights of women, adolescents and children, a partnership between Panzi Foundation and the University of Montreal.

On September 2, in Bukavu, the launch ceremony of the TUMAINI project, Health and Rights of Women, Adolescents and Children, took place, allowing the start of a partnership project between Panzi Foundation and the University of Montreal. Implemented by Panzi Foundation with the International Health Unit and the Hygeia Observatory of the University of Montreal, the TUMAINI project will support the activities of the Foundation and Panzi Hospital until 2027.

Born of the vision of Dr. Denis Mukwege and drawing on the expertise of the University of Montreal, this project will strengthen services for survivors of sexual violence and the capacity of Panzi Foundation in four health zones in South Kivu and three provinces in Burundi.

Funded by Canada, the TUMAINI project mobilizes several faculties of the University of Montreal and is supported by Lawyers Without Borders Canada and Global Strategies, to cover a beneficiary population of 2,745,741 people.

Welcomed by the Governor of the province of South Kivu and His Excellency the Ambassador of Canada, the launch ceremony took place at Panzi Foundation under the leadership of Dr. Denis Mukwege, Nobel Peace Prize winner, Professor Valérie Amiraux, Vice-Rector of the University of Montreal, Ms. Karina-Dubois Nguyen, Director of the International Health Unit and Director of the TUMAINI project, and Professor Marie Hatem, Scientific Director of the project and Director of the Hygeia Observatory.

TUMAINI is the culmination of a history of humanistic encounters, commitment and cooperation. In 2017, Dr. Mukwege met Professor Marie Hatem in Panzi and laid the foundation for a collaboration that is destined to flourish. In 2019, Dr. Mukwege received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Montreal in Canada. That same year, Panzi Foundation partnered with the International Health Unit of the University of Montreal and the Hygeia Observatory to respond to an offer of funding from Global Affairs Canada, which was finally obtained in 2021: this is the beginning of the TUMAINI project and the hope of building a promising and more just future for the populations in the areas covered by the project, particularly for women, adolescent girls and children.

The TUMAINI project has three components: improving the delivery and management of health services, improving the accessibility of health services, and promoting research-based health care policies, legal frameworks, and services. In addition to supporting the fight against violence and the rehabilitation of survivors, the project will use operational research to scientifically determine the sustainability of the holistic model developed by Dr. Mukwege, the hospital, and Panzi Foundation.

With the ambition of transmitting the knowledge derived from the work of Panzi Foundation, this project also recalls the commitment of the University of Montreal, its International Health Unit and the Hygeia Observatory, beyond the research results. It underscores once again the fundamental nature of the work of Panzi Foundation, in a context where injustice and violence have been perpetrated for over 30 years and where hope is running out. Designed with innovative, sustainable approaches and implemented by a group of highly qualified partners, the TUMAINI project may well contribute to the change that will rekindle the flame of hope for the beneficiary populations.

Related Content

Lancement du projet TUMAINI, Santé et droits des femmes, des adolescentes et des enfants, un partenariat entre la Fondation Panzi et l’Université de Montréal.

Ce 2 septembre à Bukavu, a eu lieu la cérémonie de lancement du projet TUMAINI, Santé et droits des femmes, des adolescentes et des enfants, permettant le démarrage d’un projet de partenariat entre la Fondation Panzi et l’Université de Montréal. Mis en œuvre par la Fondation Panzi avec l’Unité de santé internationale et l’Observatoire Hygeia […]

DR Congo: Blinken Visit Tests US Support for Democracy, Rights

Focus on Elections, Repression, Corruption, Rampant Violence in East (Washington, DC) – United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken should publicly promote free and fair elections, respect for human rights, and anti-corruption efforts during his visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo on August 9 and 10, 2022, 17 US and Congolese organizations and experts said today. […]