Erklärung von Dr. Mukwege zum Internationalen Tag für die Beseitigung von Gewalt gegen Frauen: 25. November 2021

Anlässlich des Internationalen Tages zur Beseitigung von Gewalt gegen Frauen würdigen wir die Widerstandsfähigkeit und Stärke von Frauen, die trotz aller Diskriminierung, allen Missbrauchs und aller Gewalt, denen sie ausgesetzt sind, ihre Familien und viele lebenswichtige Bereiche von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft auf ihren Schultern tragen.

Gewalt gegen Frauen gehört zu den schwersten Menschenrechtsverletzungen und ist weltweit, in allen Gesellschaften und in allen sozialen Schichten verbreitet. Sie findet in der Familie, in der Schule, am Arbeitsplatz, auf der Straße und zunehmend auch im Internet statt. Diese Gewalt, die sowohl im öffentlichen als auch im privaten Bereich viele Formen annimmt, ist vermeidbar und muss jetzt aufhören. Wenn wir die großen Herausforderungen, vor denen die Menschheit steht, bewältigen wollen, darunter die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung und die Schaffung von Frieden in Ländern, die sich aus Konflikten befreien wollen, müssen wir die Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen beseitigen und dieser wahrhaft globalen Pandemie ein Ende setzen.

Die Hauptursache für geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt ist die Ungleichheit zwischen Frauen und Männern in unseren patriarchalischen Gesellschaften. Das beste Mittel, um sie zu verhindern und zu beseitigen, ist Bildung. Diese muss schon in jungen Jahren beginnen und das ganze Leben hindurch fortgesetzt werden, um das Paradigma von Herrschaft und Unterwerfung zu ändern und zu harmonischer Komplementarität und gegenseitigem Respekt im Interesse aller zu gelangen. Zu diesem Zweck streben wir an, dass Jungen und Männer sich von der toxischen Männlichkeit lösen und sich eine positive Männlichkeit zu eigen machen. Dieser dringend benötigte Wandel wird nicht nur durch die Erziehung von Eltern und Lehrern zu Hause oder in der Schule herbeigeführt, sondern auch durch die Änderung sozialer Normen, die von bestimmten traditionellen und religiösen Führern vermittelt und weitergegeben werden, da traditionelle und religiöse Werte oft eine Quelle der Gewalt für Frauen und Mädchen waren und sind.

Es ist nicht nur wichtig, die gesellschaftlichen Normen zu ändern, sondern auch dringend erforderlich, alle Gesetze, die eine Diskriminierung aufgrund des Geschlechts darstellen, zu beseitigen oder zu reformieren. Das Recht muss ein Instrument für den Fortschritt der Gesellschaft als Ganzes und für den gleichberechtigten Schutz aller sein. Daher ist es unerlässlich, Gesetze, die Frauen diskriminieren, abzuschaffen und einen echten politischen Willen zur Verabschiedung und Umsetzung fortschrittlicher Gesetze zu den Menschenrechten der Frauen zu mobilisieren.

Um geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt zu bekämpfen, müssen die Präventionsbemühungen mit der Betreuung der Opfer und der strafrechtlichen Verfolgung der Straftäter einhergehen. Die Behörden, die nicht in der Lage waren, die Opfer rechtzeitig zu schützen, haben die Pflicht, eine zugängliche und qualitativ hochwertige Betreuung zu gewährleisten, einschließlich psychologischer Unterstützung, medizinischer Behandlung, sozioökonomischer Dienste und Rechtshilfe. Diese ganzheitliche Betreuung muss als Menschenrecht auf Rehabilitierung angesehen werden, und wir fordern alle beteiligten Akteure an vorderster Front, einschließlich der Polizei, auf, eine respektvolle und nicht stigmatisierende Haltung gegenüber den Opfern einzunehmen, da die Scham und die Schuld auf die Schultern der Täter übertragen werden müssen, wo sie hingehören.

Es ist an der Zeit, der Kultur der Straflosigkeit bei Gewalt gegen Frauen ein Ende zu setzen. Wir sind ermutigt durch die Befreiung der Stimmen der Überlebenden und durch die weltweiten Frauenbewegungen, die nicht nur eine wichtige Rolle dabei spielen, die Aufmerksamkeit auf das Ausmaß und die Schwere des Phänomens der sexuellen Übergriffe und Belästigungen in unseren Gesellschaften zu lenken, sondern auch die Opfer zu ermutigen, sich Gehör zu verschaffen und ihre Rechte auf Gerechtigkeit, Wahrheit und Wiedergutmachung einzufordern. Diese Dynamik ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, denn um die Geißel der Gewalt gegen Frauen zu bekämpfen, muss man das Schweigen brechen, das die ultimative Waffe der Angreifer ist. Wir begrüßen daher den Mut der Frauen, die das Schweigen brechen und sich entschließen, Anzeige zu erstatten, aber wir fordern auch die Zeugen von Gewalt auf, zu handeln und die Gewalt anzuzeigen, wenn sie vor ihren Augen geschieht.

An diesem Tag rufen wir weltweit dazu auf, die Beseitigung der Gewalt gegen Frauen zu einer Priorität auf internationaler Ebene zu machen. Dieses Gebot ist umso dringlicher im Zusammenhang mit der Krise der COVID-19, die die Ungleichheiten verschärft und zu einer Zunahme der Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen geführt hat.

So begrüßen wir die Führungsrolle des Vereinigten Königreichs, das seinen G7-Vorsitz nutzte, um ehrgeizige Verpflichtungen wie die Festlegung einer roten Linie gegen den Einsatz von Vergewaltigung und sexueller Gewalt als Mittel der Kriegsführung, die Erhöhung der Zahl junger Mädchen, die Zugang zur Schule haben, und eine stärkere Vertretung von Frauen im öffentlichen Leben zu unterstützen. Wir unterstützen auch die Initiative Frankreichs und Mexikos, die in diesem Jahr gemeinsam mit UN Women das "Generation Equality Forum" organisiert haben. Bei dieser Gelegenheit wurde ein globaler Beschleunigungsplan für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter ins Leben gerufen, mehr als 40 Milliarden Dollar wurden mobilisiert und eine Reihe von internationalen Verpflichtungen zu so unterschiedlichen Themen wie sexuelle und reproduktive Gesundheit und Rechte von Frauen und die Verteidigung von Menschenrechtsverteidigerinnen eingegangen.

Gemeinsam, Männer und Frauen, können und müssen wir eine Zukunft aufbauen, die frei von Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen ist, damit sie ihr Potenzial zum Wohle der gesamten Gesellschaft voll ausschöpfen und eine gerechtere, gleichberechtigtere und menschenwürdigere Welt aufbauen können, in der Frauen und Mädchen frei von Angst und Gewalt leben können - in Zeiten des Konflikts wie auch des Friedens.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women: November 25, 2021

On the occasion of the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, we pay tribute to the resilience and strength of women who, despite all the discrimination, abuse, and violence to which they are subjected, continue to carry their families and many vital sectors of the economy and society on their shoulders.

Violence against women is one of the most serious violations of human rights and is widespread throughout the world, in all societies and in all social classes. It takes place within families, at school, at work, in the street and increasingly online. This violence, which takes many forms in both the public and private spheres, is preventable and must stop now. If we are to meet the major challenges facing humanity, including the Sustainable Development Goals and the establishment of peace in countries aspiring to emerge from conflict, we must eliminate violence against women and girls and put an end to this truly global pandemic.

The main origin of gender-based violence is the inequality between women and men in our patriarchal societies. The best tool to prevent and eliminate it is education. This must begin at an early age and continue throughout life in order to change the paradigm of domination and submission and move towards harmonious complementarity and mutual respect, in the interest of all. To this end, we aspire for boys and men to break free of toxic masculinity and embrace a positive masculinity. This much-needed change will not only come from the education provided by parents and teachers, at home or in school, but will also come from the modification of social norms conveyed and transmitted by certain traditional and religious leaders, as traditional and religious values have often been and remain a source of violence for women and girls.

While it is crucial to change social norms, it is also urgent to eliminate or reform all legislation that discriminates on the basis of gender. The law must be a tool for the advancement of society as a whole and for the protection of everyone on an equal basis, and it is therefore imperative to remove laws that discriminate against women and to mobilize real political will to adopt and implement progressive laws on women’s human rights.

To combat gender-based violence, prevention efforts must be accompanied by the care of victims and the prosecution of perpetrators. Indeed, public authorities that have not been able to protect victims in time have a duty to provide accessible and quality care, including psychological support, medical treatment, socio-economic services and legal assistance. This holistic care must be considered as a human right to rehabilitation, and we call on all frontline actors involved, including the police, to adopt a respectful and non-stigmatizing attitude towards the victims, as the shame and blame must be transferred to the shoulders of the perpetrators where it belongs.

The time has come to put an end to the culture of impunity for violence against women. We are encouraged by the liberation of survivors’ voices and by the global women’s movements that play an important role not only in drawing attention to the extent and gravity of the phenomenon of sexual assault and harassment in our societies, but also in encouraging victims to make their voices heard and to claim their rights to justice, truth, and reparation. This dynamic is fundamental because in order to fight against the scourge of violence against women, it is necessary to break the silence, which is the ultimate weapon of aggressors. Thus, we salute the courage of women who break the silence and decide to file a complaint, but we also urge witnesses of violence to act and to denounce it when it occurs before their eyes.

On this day, we are launching a global call to make the elimination of violence against women a priority at the international level. This imperative is all the more urgent in the context of the crisis of the COVID-19, which has exacerbated inequalities and led to an increase in violence against women and girls.

Thus, we salute the leadership of the United Kingdom, which took advantage of its presidency of the G7 to endorse ambitious commitments such as the establishment of a red line against the use of rape and sexual violence as a method of warfare, an increase in the number of young girls with access to schooling, and greater representation of women in public life. We also support the initiative of France and Mexico, which, together with UN Women, organized the “Generation Equality Forum” this year. On this occasion, a Global Acceleration Plan for Gender Equality was launched, more than 40 billion dollars was mobilized, and a series of international commitments were made on subjects as varied as women’s sexual and reproductive health and rights and the defense of women human rights defenders.

Together, men and women, we can and must build a future free of violence against women and girls to realize their full potential for the benefit of society as a whole and to build a more just, equal, and dignified world, where women and girls will live free from fear and violence —in times of conflict as well as peace.

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Related Content

Panzi Foundation Named Recipient of Nicholas Kristof’s 2021 Holiday Impact Prize

WASHINGTON, DC —November 24, 2021— Panzi Foundation today announced that the non-profit has been selected as a recipient of the 2021 Holiday Impact Prize, an annual gift guide by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and former New York Times columnist Nicholas Kristof and supported by Focusing Philanthropy. Panzi was founded in 1999 by Dr. Denis Mukwege, […]

Panzi Foundation is Saddened to Announce the Passing of Nita Evele

It is with deep and profound sadness that Panzi Foundation announces the unexpected passing of the Chair of its United States Board of Directors, Mrs. Nita Evele. Mrs. Evele was a passionate and dedicated human rights defender and activist who cared deeply about the future of her home country, the Democratic Republic of Congo. “I […]