Internationaler Tag für die Beseitigung von sexueller Gewalt in Konflikten

Am 19. Juni 2021 sind unsere Gedanken bei allen Opfern einer der verheerendsten Kriegswaffen, der Vergewaltigung und der sexuellen Gewalt als Strategie der Beherrschung und des Terrors in Zeiten des Konflikts. Eine entmenschlichende Waffe, die Familien über mehrere Generationen hinweg terrorisiert und das familiäre und soziale Gefüge völlig zerstört. Wir denken auch an die starken Frauen, die sich überall auf der Welt mutig dazu entschlossen haben, das Schweigen zu brechen, und die für Gerechtigkeit, Wahrheit und Wiedergutmachung kämpfen.

An diesem Internationalen Tag für die Beseitigung sexueller Gewalt in Konflikten gedenken wir dieser Überlebenden im Kosovo, im Irak, in Japan, Kolumbien, der Zentralafrikanischen Republik, Uganda, Äthiopien, Mali, Guinea, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo und anderswo. Wir denken an die Überlebenden und Aktivisten des weltweiten Netzwerks der SEMA-Überlebenden, die jeden Tag ihre Stimme erheben und dabei manchmal ihr Leben riskieren, damit ihre Erfahrungen, die Teil unserer gemeinsamen Menschlichkeit sind, nicht vergessen werden. Damit sich ihre Geschichten nicht wiederholen.

Die entsetzlichen Geschichten all dieser Opfer gehen uns nicht aus dem Kopf. Die Welt kann ihnen nicht länger zuhören und schweigen - wir haben die Pflicht, alles in unserer Macht Stehende zu tun, um der sexuellen Gewalt ein Ende zu setzen, die in jedem Konflikt auf der Welt als Kriegswaffe eingesetzt wird.

Seit fast dreißig Jahren werden in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo jeden Tag Frauen, Mädchen, Männer, Jungen und sogar Babys von bewaffneten Männern sexuell missbraucht, oft mit extremer Gewalt.

Vorrangig geht es darum, diese Opfer zu betreuen, damit sie medizinische, psychosoziale und rechtliche Hilfe sowie Unterstützung bei der sozioökonomischen Wiedereingliederung erhalten. Seit 1999 wurden rund 60 000 Frauen in unseren Strukturen betreut, aber wie viele erreichen uns nicht?

Wie viele überleben ein körperliches Trauma nicht oder begehen Selbstmord? Wie viele wagen es nicht, ihre Meinung zu sagen und tragen die Last der Scham, die sie nicht tragen sollten?

Diese ganzheitliche Betreuung ist wichtig, reicht aber nicht aus - Opfer und Überlebende haben auch ein Recht auf Wahrheit und Wiedergutmachung.

In der Demokratischen Republik Kongo herrscht immer noch eine Kultur der Straflosigkeit, obwohl jeder weiß, dass Bemühungen um Gerechtigkeit und Rechenschaftspflicht die besten Mittel sind, um die Wiederholung dieser abscheulichen Verbrechen zu verhindern.

Wir setzen uns für die Einrichtung von Mechanismen der Übergangsjustiz ein, um die Abwärtsspirale von Gewalt und Straflosigkeit zu durchbrechen. Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit - einschließlich sexueller Gewalt - dauern seit Jahrzehnten an, weil die Täter selten zur Rechenschaft gezogen werden.

Die einzige Möglichkeit für das Land, voranzukommen, besteht darin, sicherzustellen, dass vergangene und gegenwärtige Verbrechen vor Gericht gebracht werden und dass Überlebende und Gemeinschaften individuelle und kollektive Entschädigungen für das erlittene Trauma erhalten. Es ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, dass der Heilungsprozess abgeschlossen wird. Wir müssen über die vergeltende Gerechtigkeit hinausgehen, damit die gesamte Gesellschaft über den Platz der Frauen in der Gesellschaft, ihre wirtschaftliche Stellung, die Erziehung unserer Kinder usw. nachdenken kann.

"Angesichts des Fehlens einer starken und angemessenen Reaktion der internationalen Gemeinschaft plädieren wir für die Verabschiedung einer internationalen Konvention zur Beseitigung sexueller Gewalt als Kriegswaffe. Es ist an der Zeit, eine rote Linie gegen diese Verbrechen zu ziehen, die unsere gemeinsame Menschlichkeit beschämen. Eine rote Linie, die gleichbedeutend mit rechtlichen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Sanktionen wäre."

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Verwandte Inhalte

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict

On June 19, 2021, our thoughts are with all the victims of one of the most devastating weapons of war, rape and sexual violence as a strategy of domination and terror in times of conflict. A dehumanizing weapon which terrorizes families over several generations and which totally destroys the familial and social fabric. We also think of those strong women who, all over the world, have courageously decided to break the silence and who are fighting for justice, truth and for reparations.

On this International Day for the Elimination of Sexual Violence in Conflict, we pay tribute to these survivors in Kosovo, Iraq, Japan, Colombia, Central African Republic, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mali, Guinea, DRC and elsewhere. We think of the survivors and activists of the worldwide network of SEMA survivors who, every day, raise their voices, sometimes risking their lives, so that their experiences, which are part of our common humanity, are not forgotten. So that their stories never repeat themselves.

The appalling tales of all these victims resonate with us. The world can no longer listen to them and remain silent—we have a duty to commit to doing all we can to end sexual violence used as a weapon of war in every conflict across the world.

Every day for nearly thirty years, women, girls, men, boys, and even babies have been sexually assaulted by armed men in the DRC, often with extreme violence.

The priority is to be able to provide care for these victims so that they receive medical, psychosocial, legal assistance, and socio-economic reintegration assistance. Some 60,000 women have been cared for in our structures since 1999, but how many do not reach us?

How many do not survive physical trauma or commit suicide? How many dare not speak up and carry the weight of shame they shouldn’t carry?

This holistic care is essential, but it is not sufficient—victims and survivors also have the right to truth and to reparations.

The culture of impunity still prevails in the DRC, yet everyone knows that efforts for justice and accountability are the best tools to ensure the non-repetition of these heinous crimes.

We advocate for the establishment of transitional justice mechanisms to break the downward spiral of violence and impunity. Crimes against humanity—including sexual violence—have been ongoing for decades because perpetrators are rarely held accountable.

The only way for the country to move forward is to ensure that past and present crimes are brought to justice and that survivors and communities receive individual and collective reparations for the trauma they have suffered. suffered. It is fundamental to complete the healing process. We must go further than retributive justice so that all of society can reflect on the place of women in society, their economic position, the education we give to our children, etc.

“Faced with the absence of a strong and adequate response from the international community, we advocate the adoption of an international convention for the elimination of sexual violence as a weapon of war. The time has come to draw a red line against these crimes which shame our common humanity. A red line which would be synonymous with legal, political and economic sanctions.”

Dr. Denis Mukwege

Related Content

DRC: PRIORITIZE JUSTICE FOR SERIOUS CRIMES

29 April 2021 New Lukonde Government Should Set Transitional Justice Roadmap (Kinshasa) – The Democratic Republic of Congo’s newly appointed government should adopt a clear strategy for holding those suspected of criminal responsibility for grave human rights violations accountable, a coalition of 50 Congolese and international nongovernmental groups said today. President Felix Tshisekedi’s new government, led […]