穆克维格博士就联合国刚果问题专家小组的最新报告发表声明

我们怀着极大的兴趣关注媒体对联合国刚果问题专家组2022年8月4日的最新报告的报道。真相是顽固的,它最终总是会被发现。因此,联合国收集的确凿证据证明,2021年11月至2022年7月期间,卢旺达军队(RDF)在刚果民主共和国(DRC)境内对刚果军队发起攻击,并向M23叛军提供后勤和行动支持。

刚果军队几个月前就知道卢旺达军队与M23恐怖运动的关系,他们已经在刚果领土上收回了军事装备并逮捕了卢旺达士兵。然而,基加利继续其否认政策,甚至在2022年2月8日,卢旺达总统在卢旺达议会为新部长举行的宣誓仪式上发出令人震惊的威胁,要 "不征求任何人的同意 "就部署卢旺达军队,公开表明他对国际法的基本原则的蔑视。

刚果政府、联合国、非洲联盟和刚果(金)的双边和区域伙伴必须吸取卢旺达第十三次侵略战争的这一证据的后果:必须根据联合国安全理事会第1807号和第2293号决议,从政治、外交、经济和军事上立即采取制裁措施,这些决议除其他外,对从事危害刚果民主共和国和平、稳定或安全行为的个人和实体进行制裁。

经过超过25年的反复冲突,导致数百万人死亡、妇女被强奸和流离失所,国际社会不能再被动地接受刚果人民一再遭受邻国的侵略,这些国家直接或通过代理实施大规模暴行,旨在破坏刚果民主共和国东部的稳定,以便在普遍的有罪不罚的氛围中掠夺其矿产和自然资源。

25年来,卢旺达在某些腐败同胞的合谋下,一直是这一巨大的跨国犯罪的主要参与者之一,现在必须停止。 

此外,刚果政府必须紧急改革刚果民主共和国的安全部门,这是确保国家安全和安宁的唯一可持续解决方案。我们不能永远依赖联合国的援助,也不能奉行将国家安全外包给第三方国家的政策。因此,我们必须迅速确定一项适应当前和未来挑战的国防政策,分配必要的手段来实施军事计划法,并动员真正的政治意愿来改革我们的国防部队。此外,我们不能继续接受我们国家军队的某些成员与某些破坏我们国家稳定的民兵组织合作。

最后,世界不能继续对四分之一个多世纪以来在刚果民主共和国发生的暴行视而不见。暴力和有罪不罚的恶性循环必须结束。必须通过并实施一项关于刚果民主共和国过渡时期司法的整体国家战略。与所有人一样,刚果人有权获得正义、真相和赔偿,但也有权保证暴行不再发生。正义是防止冲突再次发生的一个重要工具,但它是在刚果民主共和国建立和平的拼图中缺少的一块。它是在刚果民主共和国和非洲大湖区实现和解与和平共处的先决条件。

解决办法是存在的。我们敦促刚果领导人和刚果的特权伙伴,如联合国、美国和欧盟,为发展刚果丰富的资源的清洁和透明贸易创造条件,并确保人权和国际法的基本原则得到非洲大湖区所有国家的尊重。

-丹尼斯-穆克维格博士

相关内容

Déclaration du Dr. Denis Mukwege sur le récent accord UE-Rwanda sur les minéraux de conflit

Avec le protocole d’accord signé le 19 février entre l’Union Européenne (UE) et le Rwanda pour favoriser le développement de chaînes de valeur « durables » et « résilientes » pour les matières premières, aussi appelées minerais des conflits ou de sang, l’exécutif européen atteint non seulement le paroxysme du cynisme en matière de géostratégie, […]

Statement of Dr. Denis Mukwege on the Recent EU-Rwanda Agreement on Conflict Minerals

With the memorandum of understanding signed on February 19 between the European Union (EU) and Rwanda to promote the development of “sustainable” and “resilient” value chains for raw materials, also known as conflict or blood minerals, the European executive is not only reaching the height of cynicism in terms of geostrategy, but is once again […]

16 Days of Activism at Panzi Foundation

The annual international 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence campaign takes place November 25 to December 10. This year, Panzi will carry out a series of activities around the theme Unite Together: Investing to prevent violence against women and girls. Below you will find ways in which we will participate in this year’s campaign.  […]

Statement by Dr. Mukwege on the latest report of the UN Panel of Experts on the Congo

It was with great interest that we followed the media coverage of the latest report of the United Nations Group of Experts on the Congo on August 4, 2022. The truth is stubborn, it always comes out in the end. Thus, solid evidence collected by the United Nations establishes that between November 2021 and July 2022, the Rwandan army (RDF) launched attacks against the Congolese army on the territory of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and provided logistical and operational support to the M23 rebels.

The Rwandan army’s involvement with the M23 terrorist movement has been known for months by the Congolese army, which has already recovered military equipment and arrested Rwandan soldiers on Congolese territory. Yet Kigali continues its policy of denial, even as the Rwandan president made shocking threats to deploy Rwandan troops “without asking anyone’s permission” on February 8, 2022, during a swearing-in ceremony for new ministers in the Rwandan parliament, openly showing his contempt for the basic principles of international law.

The Congolese government, the United Nations, the African Union and the DRC’s bilateral and regional partners must draw the consequences of this evidence of Rwanda’s umpteenth war of aggression: sanctions must be taken without further delay, both politically, diplomatically, economically, and militarily in accordance with UN Security Council Resolutions 1807 and 2293, which sanction, among other things, individuals and entities that engage in acts that jeopardize the peace, stability or security of the Democratic Republic of Congo.

After more than a quarter of a century of repeated conflict that has resulted in millions of deaths, women raped and displaced persons, the community of states can no longer passively accept that the Congolese population suffer repeated aggression from neighboring countries committing directly or by proxy mass atrocities aimed at destabilizing the eastern DRC in order to plunder its mineral and natural resources in a climate of generalized impunity.

This great transnational crime in which Rwanda has been one of the main actors for 25 years with the complicity of certain corrupt compatriots must stop now. 

Furthermore, the Congolese government must urgently reform the security sector in the DRC, the only sustainable solution to securing and pacifying the country. We cannot rely forever on the assistance of the United Nations, nor can we pursue a policy of outsourcing our national security to third-party states. Thus, we must rapidly define a defense policy adapted to the challenges of the present and the future, allocate the necessary means to implement the military programming law and mobilize a real political will to reform our defense forces. Furthermore, we cannot continue to accept that certain elements of our national army collaborate with certain militias that destabilize our country.

Finally, the world cannot continue to turn a blind eye to the atrocities committed in the DRC for over a quarter of a century. The vicious cycle of violence and impunity must end. A holistic national strategy for transitional justice in the DRC must be adopted and implemented. Like all people, the Congolese have a right to justice, truth, and reparations, but also to guarantees that atrocities will not be repeated. Justice is an essential tool to prevent the recurrence of conflicts, but it is the missing piece of the puzzle to establish peace in the DRC. It is a prerequisite for reconciliation and peaceful coexistence in the DRC and the African Great Lakes region.

The solutions exist. We urge Congolese leaders and the DRC’s privileged partners such as the United Nations, the United States, and the European Union to create the conditions for the development of a clean and transparent trade in the resources that abound in the DRC and to ensure that human rights and basic principles of international law are respected by all states in the African Great Lakes region.

-Dr. Denis Mukwege

Related Content

Lancement du projet TUMAINI, Santé et droits des femmes, des adolescentes et des enfants, un partenariat entre la Fondation Panzi et l’Université de Montréal.

Ce 2 septembre à Bukavu, a eu lieu la cérémonie de lancement du projet TUMAINI, Santé et droits des femmes, des adolescentes et des enfants, permettant le démarrage d’un projet de partenariat entre la Fondation Panzi et l’Université de Montréal. Mis en œuvre par la Fondation Panzi avec l’Unité de santé internationale et l’Observatoire Hygeia […]

Launch of the TUMAINI project, Health and rights of women, adolescents and children, a partnership between Panzi Foundation and the University of Montreal.

On September 2, in Bukavu, the launch ceremony of the TUMAINI project, Health and Rights of Women, Adolescents and Children, took place, allowing the start of a partnership project between Panzi Foundation and the University of Montreal. Implemented by Panzi Foundation with the International Health Unit and the Hygeia Observatory of the University of Montreal, […]

DR Congo: Blinken Visit Tests US Support for Democracy, Rights

Focus on Elections, Repression, Corruption, Rampant Violence in East (Washington, DC) – United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken should publicly promote free and fair elections, respect for human rights, and anti-corruption efforts during his visit to the Democratic Republic of Congo on August 9 and 10, 2022, 17 US and Congolese organizations and experts said today. […]